- #5,203

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Hello - I come in peace etc.
I shared this hypothetical on our board, was interested in your thoughts.
Just spit balling and trying to gauge perceived value.
Disclaimer of course that I am aware you aren't keen to trade Charlie and that he is a ****ing gun.
Give
WC - Pick 1 or 2* + Haw R1 + Chesser (if he's Carlton bound, if not, Haw R3)
GC - Walter + Pick 7
Carlton - Curnow + Acres (a friend for Owies!)
Get
WC - Walter + Pick 7 + Acres
GC - Curnow
Carlton - Pick 1 or 2* + Haw R1 + Chesser (or Haw R3)
Who says no?
Walter to WCE as a WA boy and a known Eagles nuffie - someone our fans have always had an eye on.
The Pick 1 or 2 depends who Carlton are keen on - and ideally it syncs with who WCE are keen on - say Carlton want Dursmaa and WCE are into Sharpe (or whoever, I am no draft expert).
GC motivated to sell the Pick 7 obviously but Carlton don't want something in that range due to the Harry Dean bids. I get that the Hawthorn R1 might be a sticking point - might require a bit more to make that part work.
Thoughts?
Again, not trying to incite a riot, just ideas.
No cash here mate, no cashNick Haynes wasn’t young.
Given the way we have run senior players into the ground over the last two years chasing wins I simply don’t agree at all.
Are you telling me going into 2024 the club thought it wasn’t good enough to win a flag?
Yep 2 yearsWhat have we got, 2yrs?
App is showing BK top-5 moments but no story.
Well yeah it’s clear they ****ed up the cap.No cash here mate, no cash
That’s why I’m flipping perplexed with Docs comments
They thought they were a huge shot at the flag in both 24 and 25, they had the players already to get us there but there literally was 2 bits of fk all left.
Whether it was a deliberate strategy or not I got no idea, but you have to start thinking about the future at some stage and pre 2024 we were making trades and using our collateral to make them happen ie Saad, Cerra etc etc
Right now, it will be about strengthening that group of youngsters with more younguns…save the cash and probably look to get a free agent or two next year.
Thats why I’d prefer Charlie goes firstly and to the Goldy, they have some nice pieces that can strengthen the next generation coming through who will hopefully drive the culture not sook it up.
I reckon we're so inconsistent it would be hard to have a clear and coherent recruiting strategy. Halfway through 2023 they were probably preparing for a mini-rebuild.Nick Haynes wasn’t young.
Given the way we have run senior players into the ground over the last two years chasing wins I simply don’t agree at all.
Are you telling me going into 2024 the club thought it wasn’t good enough to win a flag?
I don't feel like any of our departments have aligned at the same timeI reckon we're so inconsistent it would be hard to have a clear and coherent recruiting strategy. Halfway through 2023 they were probably preparing for a mini-rebuild.
I reckon we're so inconsistent it would be hard to have a clear and coherent recruiting strategy. Halfway through 2023 they were probably preparing for a mini-rebuild.
Lij?What or who are we trading for the chess set?
I’m thinking wing for a wing. Acres. Would be irresponsible sending Lij to the West Coke Eagles.Lij?
Apologies posted a draft profile for Campbell Chester from rookie me central and forgot to link instead.
![]()
Campbell Chesser Draft Profile
central.rookieme.com
A reasonable pick up runs both ways can kick, concerned about the tackling and durability aspect.
First time doling the linking thing, hope it works and is acceptable to the mods.

I think the Jury might be out on this CB. The look on Hardwick’s face is priceless…
A gambit evenOur list is screaming out for some athletic players. Can see the logic in taking the punt on Chesser.
I’m not saying Walter will be like Kennedy, because I genuinely wouldn’t know.Josh Kennedy was in our best 22 when that trade went down. We lost that trade. Kennedy won a flag with the Eagles and Judd didn't win one with us.
Little bit of an exaggeration happening here:Yep, made a preliminary in 2023, since then over the past 2 years have lost (or potentially losing):
- Jack Martin
- Caleb Marchbank
- David Cuningham
- Matt Kennedy
- Matt Owies
- Paddy Dow
- Zac Fisher
- Tom DeKoning
- Jack Silvagni
- Sam Docherty
- Orazio Fantasia
- Elijah Hollands (?)
- Mitch McGovern (?)
- Charlie Curnow (?)
- Jesse Motlop (?)
* that's not including delistings and retirements like Ed, LOB, Plowman, Carroll, Philp, Honey, Cincotta etc
And the 'mature' players we've brought in during that period:
- Elijah Hollands (likely gone)
- Orazio Fantasia (gone)
- Francis Evans
- Nick Haynes
- Flynn Young
That's a hell of a lot of talent that's gone over the past 2 years, and mostly replaced by kids. Which is why our slide since 2023 isn't surprising.
And which is why our new CEO has stated that we need to bring in more good players, and why we would be reluctant to trade Charlie for more draft picks....unless they were used to bring in an A-grade talent. Which is highly unlikely.
Whether Austin has done a good job or not is a matter of opinion - but one thing we know is that with Wright on board, there's no better person to assess his performance - as well as the whole list management team.
Yes, we need depth but we also need players that can be relied upon to play a role week in, week out. Which was my point. Do we need to/should we stump up massive salary & early picks given the glaring holes in our side?we absolutely need depth. The right kind.
But Graham Wright is on record as saying we need more top line talent.
Reality is we actually don’t have that much a grade talent anymore and that matters. If Curnow goes, TDK gone and with Cripps heading into his 30s, we are starting to get bare there.
Not advocating throwing the kitchen sink at Butters. But we absolutely do need to be trying to bring in more a grade talents.
And so it begins....Apologies posted a draft profile for Campbell Chester from rookie me central and forgot to link instead.
![]()
Campbell Chesser Draft Profile
central.rookieme.com
A reasonable pick up runs both ways can kick, concerned about the tackling and durability aspect.
First time doling the linking thing, hope it works and is acceptable to the mods.
The coach is the biggest one.Further to this, much more than the list build, we botched the coaching, development, direction etc.
We completely wasted 3 prime years of our rebuild (2019-2021), so that we hit contention 2-3 years after we should have.
And that's not to mention the completely wasted 24 and 25 when we still should have been in contention.
So Saad for example, instead of being at his prime and a crucial part in a contending team, had a single year when that aligned, and then fell significantly away.
Said back in April or May this would be a smart acquisition. Suspected/hoped Chesser would get to Carlton.Guess the Chesser haters will have to back in the recruiting team now. Looks set to become a Blue
From memory we put ourselves in a position of choosing between Bolton or Barker...The coach is the biggest one.
Bolton and Teague were such bad misses.
Just have to look at Mitchell with Hawthorn. He comes in and sets standards and a style he wants and wasn’t afraid to make tough calls. Players bought in. Younger players have developed and players want to come and play for him.
Didn't Nick Haynes get a 1 year deal???As of today after Kemp re-signed for 2 more years …
3. Jesse Motlop
11. Mitch McGovern
26. Nick Haynes
34. Rob Monahan (International Rookie Cat B)
38. Will White (Pre-Season SSP Rookie 2025) ?
41. Matt Duffy (International Rookie Cat B) ?
44. Francis Evans (Pre-Season SSP Rookie 2025) ?
45. Flynn Young (MSD Rookie 2025) ?
Apparently a couple above have also re-signed according to the AFL website but there has been nothing official from the Club.