Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Liam Jones 1 year contract anyone?:eek::eek:
You worded your question wrong.

It should be.... "Would you prefer Jones to partner Weiters for a year over Young?"

That'll get you a positive response. :cool:

Come with me on this one Stamos, I think the right response at this juncture is '**** the members'. Do what is right and only right by a list build stand point and nothing more.

Sure, if they're doing the right thing.

But how would selling our contracted superstar key forward for unders be doing the right thing?

Is there some evidence our club and medical team have been negligent with him perhaps? Maybe Charlie and his management are willing to go nuclear if so.
I have no knowledge of the situation just spitballing.
How did he get injured in the first place? Even if they amputated his leg hard to blame the club for Charlies health issues!

You want a fella at the club that was approaching other teams mid season? 😂

Goes against what I have been saying about Charlie but I would say that's going to become more of a common practice. I'm not that comfortable with it but concede that's the power of player managers and the new era we're living in where players value the individual over team. Also highlights the weakened position clubs now have with their contracted players that this behaviour can go on.

That said, in terms of the player coming back and performing after they've looked over the fence:
Didn't stop Dusty when he toured GWS and almost signed with North Melbourne in 2013/2014.
Didn't stop Rowell when he met with all of Collingwood, Dogs and Geelong this time last year.
I've got no doubt Crippa even had a couple of very serious discussions with Adam Simpson in early 2021 also.

Acknowledge it is particularly disappointing when a player is approaching opposition clubs mid-contract however. (The NFL in fact outlaw this and slap huge fines & draft penalties on teams talking to oppo players that are in contract).

Liam Jones delisted, I'd seriously look at him for 1 year as backup for Weitering and Haynes.

I have zero inside knowledge, just throwing it out there: has Charlie been less focused mentally/less driven, since his brother left the club? Ed was such a warrior and I’d imagine drove standards on the track, and you’d hear that Charlie loved to compete/play with him. Would, Ed pull Charlie into line?

100% for a year. Weiters really rated him and loved playing with him. Young is a long way off it IMHO. Could add stability/ a little depth, at least for a year, while Dean develops and HOF rehabs.
It makes sense we should be in charge of recruiting Benny!

I don't want to armchair psychologist the situation.

But Charlie was, for a long time, a side story. Injured and talented.

There's some pressure, but it's not a lot.

Them he exploded, 2x Coleman.

Now he's a star, recognized regularly, media attention.

I think he hates that, I think it really interferes with his ability to enjoy playing.

I think that negativity then bleeds into his performances and his presence at the club.

I think that if he gets out of Melbourne he will be able to play for another 6 years. If he stays, I think it's not impossible he retires

I have zero inside knowledge, just throwing it out there: has Charlie been less focused mentally/less driven, since his brother left the club? Ed was such a warrior and I’d imagine drove standards on the track, and you’d hear that Charlie loved to compete/play with him. Would, Ed pull Charlie into line?

You could DEFINTELY come to this conclusion. Charlie's standards have almost certainly dropped since Ed departed the club.

2 things on Jones.

1: His kamikaze style is becoming less effective with age, closing speed isn’t what is was etc.

2: He has/had a serious grudge against Carlton for “hanging him out to dry” re the COVID jab. Was very public in his early days back at the dogs about his feelings.

I’d rather us look in another direction for cheap depth, maybe a Charlie Dean or similar

I don't want to armchair psychologist the situation.

But Charlie was, for a long time, a side story. Injured and talented.

There's some pressure, but it's not a lot.

Them he exploded, 2x Coleman.

Now he's a star, recognized regularly, media attention.

I think he hates that, I think it really interferes with his ability to enjoy playing.

I think that negativity then bleeds into his performances and his presence at the club.

I think that if he gets out of Melbourne he will be able to play for another 6 years. If he stays, I think it's not impossible he retires

With the greatest respect, I call BS on the whole 'needs to get out of the Melbourne footy bubble'. That's a cop out mate.
Charlie loves the attention and is building his personal brand that feeds off it.

I detest this whole Bailey Smith style attitude of "Oh i'm just so misunderstood and wish the media would leave me alone" only to be the greatest attention seeker in the history of the game.

Laughable.

Goes against what I have been saying about Charlie but I would say that's going to become more of a common practice. I'm not that comfortable with it but concede that's the power of player managers and the new era we're living in where players value the individual over team. Also highlights the weakened position clubs now have with their contracted players that this behaviour can go on.

That said, in terms of the player coming back and performing after they've looked over the fence:
Didn't stop Dusty when he toured GWS and almost signed with North Melbourne in 2013/2014.
Didn't stop Rowell when he met with all of Collingwood, Dogs and Geelong this time last year.
I've got no doubt Crippa even had a couple of very serious discussions with Adam Simpson in early 2021 also.

Acknowledge it is particularly disappointing when a player is approaching opposition clubs mid-contract however. (The NFL in fact outlaw this and slap huge fines & draft penalties on teams talking to oppo players that are in contract).

For me there is a big difference between assessing your options with less than a year/18 months to go on a deal, versus approaching another club with 4 years left to go on your contract.

All of this coincidentally happening in a year where the club and player have underperformed and the player has already received the bulk of his contract up front in previous seasons.

I will never have an issue with a player looking to earn more money or playing (working) in a space that they consider best for them. That’s life. But it does leave a sour taste in the mouth when he does it after such a year, especially when the club has done so much for him through his injuries. One of those not even being football related.

I will be happy with whatever happens as long as Carlton does what’s best for Carlton. Other clubs have bent over in the past but we simply can’t. It is said every year but this trade period is the most important one in a while.

This is what I've been saying about Humper since the start. He's put in a lot of work to get settled on the Gold Coast. He was unsettled early, homesick and didn't really fit in (I had more than 1 source tell me he really didn't fit in with the group and was often alone), but he really wanted to make it work so despite the struggle he persevered and found his way to being comfortable and a key part of the group.

Now it's paid off, he's happy and results are showing on field, why would he leave? I never saw him as a viable option solely because of that reason. From club and players perspective, a kid putting in that effort to be part of the group instead of pulling the homesick go home card, there's no way you can up and trade them/request a trade.

I think this year's early lack of success set the team back mentally and some of the team didnt want to fight it out. Reckon Charlie was definitely one of those