Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Did you think Chol, Ginnivan and D”Ambrosio were taking the Hawks up the ladder?

All these players have to be is, serviceable AFL players, better than any player in the best 22 or better than the ones available in the 2s
Great post. Chol and D’Ambrosio excellent role players. Ginni has long been undersold, and has become a prominent player. We have ‘stars’ and a couple of developing stars.

If we remove the malcontents and add some solid ‘depth’ and/or role players we will solidify the group and rise as the kids mature.

Port need future first round picks as much as us for their father son next year. Apparently top 3 pick like Cody. Charlie to Sydney, Warner to WCE, Butters and F1WCE to Blues, F1Blues and F1 Sydney to Port..
Cochrane? Still Needs AFL confirmation of NGA status. (Not enough games for FS). Think they'd be keen to draft him even if not NGA eligible

The stats are the stats. Thats what they say. Carlton win a higher % of games when Harry plays by himself. Carlton win the least % of games when Charlie plays by himself. Together Carlton only win 42% of our games. This isnt solely a small sample size. These are the numbers since they both made their debuts for the club.

At face value, the stats say Carlton are better off playing without Charlie. If you want to look into the variables of each outcome, be my guest. :thumbsu:
You don't need to explain what you're trying to say. It's clear. It's just poor analysis.

Cats can't be any chance for Charles, won't be willing to give anything up, don't have the picks and don't really need him with Neale coming on.

Swans probably have the most to offer, and would strongly benefit from getting him - in comparison to the Cats and Suns.

Pick 9 + Swan's 2026 first rounder + Dattoli, Bice or both? I like Campbell, but imagine he'll stay put as a NSW fella.
Yeah nah one of Gulden or Blakey have to be part of deal
Blakey and pick 9 for Charlie or don't bother asking

So we're back to considering the Swans as the best club to land Charlie...

Forget about Gulden... not gonna happen! Neither is Warner, Heeney, Blakey etc.

We def need an F1 from somewhere out of this deal imo, there's just no denying that now...

Swans 1st is going to be #11 or possibly #12... not #9...

#11 + F1 + Dattolli + Florent
for
Charlie + F3

That's only an "ok" deal imo...

But it opens up doors for us this year... or even next. That's probably as good as we're gonna get offered and if we don't accept that, Charlie remains.

Let's say it happens:

#10 + #11 for a F1 from somebody might be a good option... perhaps North will bite? Or maybe the Demons?

I also REALLY like the idea of swapping our 2027 1st with *'s 2026 1st... they want Bewick, we want Cody... makes perfect sense to help each other out here.

Think we should really focus on stock piling 1st rounders for next year... this year we have Dean + Ison in our sights... let's keep it at that.

These players coming in will do... Khamis + Chesser + Florent + Dattolli + Jiath + Reidy

We'll need to get rid of some players too to bring these ones in.

Khamis, Chesser should be worth a 3rd rounder each.

Florent is a token player added to the Charlie deal, probably worth a 3rd/4th

Dattolli is a quality youngster also part of the aforementioned Charlie deal

Jiath will be the tricky one... I think our F2 with a 3rd coming back our way works best

Reidy for pick #62

Then we need to think about what picks we can bring in this year to satisfy these trades...

Lij, Acres, Gov, Binns, Fogarty should all be on the table. Get whatever picks we can from them so we can bring the ones in that we're after as well as get some points to pay for Dean and Ison.

End result:

OUT - Lij, Acres, Gov, Binns, Fogarty, Charlie, #10, 2027 1st, F2, F3, #62

IN - Chesser, Jiath, Khamis, Reidy, Dattolli, Florent, F1 (North/Melb), F1 (*), F1 (Swans)

It sucks to lose Charlie without bringing in someone with immediate huge upside, but those four 2026 1st round picks (including our own) will be massive going forward. We can secure Cody easily and bring in some more generational talent from next year's draft.

There seems to be a pretty concerted media campaign to get supporters used to the idea that Curnow is leaving and to move everyone past 'it would have to be a kings ransom' territory, and it is beyond just click bait

The obvious is that Curnow wants out, as reported, but if so, the club could shut that down instantly.

There is a very worried part of me that suspects that the club is responsible, that it is trying to clear cap space and essentially bring about a rebuild, and so they are already preparing to take two picks in the 20s from Geelong and be about there business.

Suffice to say, I do not trust the club at all at this point, particularly in list management after they have botched our list so badly over the past 3 years (and botched our draft hand with the disastrous trade last year).

To see the current changes is testament to how dire our situation is.

Out: TDK, Silvagni, Hollands (likely), Docherty, Curnow (possible)

In: Khamis, Chesser, Reidy and a draft picks?

We are staring a likely bottom 4 finish, potentially bottom 2, if that goes ahead. Those ins are scraping the barrel and it doesn't seem like there is a plan A or a plan B to try and compete.

Honestly, the last couple of years feels a lot like 2012-14 all over again - watching the club make appalling decisions in real time, to the extent that it felt like Malthouse and co were part of a deliberate plot to destroy the list.

But the main point is: we cannot allow the club to trade Curnow for anything less than a king's ransom. The only reason to even consider it is for a haul of 5-6 players and picks that allow us to completely reshape the team. Anything less than that and we have no reason to even pick up the phone. And if the club does consider it we honestly need to consider a board challenge to intervene. I genuinely think the mismanagement is that bad right now

Can I ask why are you so concerned about bottom 4 or bottom 2 next year?

We're not making finals with the outs we have so why the huge preference on finishing say 12th? What does that actually do for us?

I'd argue it is FAR worse to be stuck in that > bottom 4 & < top 8 bracket... it's essentially no man's land and it's where * have been for the better part of the last 20 years.

This probably shouldn’t need pointing out but…the Cats are heavy favs in a GF? They’d have to lose by 10-12 goals on Saturday to even think about trading decent players for Charlie.
I guess we will find out Saturday but I think those odds are too heavily stacked in their favour

Don’t expect a repeat lions vs cats game from a couple of weeks ago

Taking the temperature on other boards.

Swans reckon someone unexpected will be put up. Florent is being pushed out.

Suns don't want to give up anyone

Cats think it might happen, but have no clue how.

Reckon it's the Swans

Warner brothers to WCE will un lock the trade imo. Won’t be Heeney, Gulden or Blakey who are local academy players so something has to give.

Blues get 2 + another first + Chesser. Other swaps to guarantee Dean.

Maybe even pick 1 which can be sold as a win to the members. Do a deal with WCE where we don’t take Sharp.

Hard to see how else we “win” when no A graders will want to come this offseason.

The five stages of grief: Charlie Curnow edition:

1.) Denial: Charlie = Fake News!

2.) Anger: He’s a conditional, lazy campaigner and his manager is a flog!

3.) Bargaining: Walter, Humphrey, Rowell and 2 first rounders or we keep him!

4.) Depression: He’s going to end up at Geelong isn’t he?

5.) Acceptance: Finnbar Maley has some great VFL highlights - kid could be anything!

We’re about to hit stage 4.

Sydney board rumour (unsourced) is they offered Florent + Logan McDonald + F2 which we knocked back.

They think that it's crazy that we would knock it back.

I would say that the difference between Charlie Curnow and Logan McDonald is far greater than Oli Florent and a pick that can't help us get Cody

A couple of times I've written this. % of game wins is as follows. Harry by himself, Carlton have won 46% of those games. Harry and Charlie playing together, Carlton have won 42% of those games. Charlie by himself, Carlton have won on 38% of those games.

world forum GIF

Sydney board rumour (unsourced) is they offered Florent + Logan McDonald + F2 which we knocked back.

They think that it's crazy that we would knock it back.

I would say that the difference between Charlie Curnow and Logan McDonald is far greater than Oli Florent and a pick that can't help us get Cody
Why would we accept anything in September?

Has anyone checked with Freo. re. Charlie??

Asking for a friend!

2+2=36
Essendon fans seem to think Sean Darcy is coming....

Grain of salt but I could see this (Jackson to full time ruck), Darcy to Essendon, picks and a player to us.

Essendon already have two picks in the top 10, plus draper compo, plus if merret is out a bigger hand.

2+2=36
Essendon fans seem to think Sean Darcy is coming....

Grain of salt but I could see this (Jackson to full time ruck), Darcy to Essendon, picks and a player to us.

Essendon already have two picks in the top 10, plus draper compo, plus if merret is out a bigger hand.

Poor things need to believe in something