Andrew Hastie

Andrew Hastie attention whoring before he tries to roll Ley.

When will the LNP learn?

They can probably only remember the last successful moderate to right leadership rolling being Abbott over Turnbull and it brought them an almost election win then a big election win, without taking into account the differences in environment.

When will the LNP learn?
he's been earmarked by the right as their man for yonks. it's only a matter of time. let's face it the reactionaries are starved of choice. the upside is he's fine when unchallenged. not so good in a challenging debate.

younger abbott

****en coward wouldn't step up after the election though, had to make the point of bringing down ley
mean-girl shit

So much for all that “mateship” crap, he couldn’t even wait 3 months before undermining his own team mate

On here, we already have our own opinions on Andrew Hastie.

In real life, he's more electable than Dutton but doesn't have his advantage of being from Queensland. Why would eastern states voters turn to another Tony Abbott style leader from out west? We have compulsory voting and preferential systems of counting, a Trump-style candidate therefore simply cannot win.

However, the party will convince themselves he's a better shot than Sussan Ley, especially given her abysmal recent poilling numbers. They will ignore that the substantial majority of the voting population believes in action on climate change and if his leadership depends on the Libs stepping back from net zero, this is a difficult sell to the voters.

The only way therefore a Hastie-led Liberal Party gets back into government would be through sheer incompetence from Albo and his government convincing voters that two terms is enough.

If he gets the job, I hope every interview and press conference he does has questions pressing him on why he thinks the Earth is only 6500 years old.

This is probably a goose that's going to run on common sense and he needs to be pressed on his biblical fantasies.

In real life, he's more electable than Dutton but doesn't have his advantage of being from Queensland.

Dutton as leader caused the LNP to lose 5 seats and 5% of their primary vote in Queensland.

Hastie represents the area around Mandurah, which is best described as WA’s bogan retirement home. Very little non white migrant, not highly educated and also a lot of rural areas in the Peel region.

It’s not the demographic of the type of seat (middle ring suburban, educated, multicultural) that the LNP needs to win back power

Dutton as leader caused the LNP to lose 5 seats and 5% of their primary vote in Queensland.

Hastie represents the area around Mandurah, which is best described as WA’s bogan retirement home. Very little non white migrant, not highly educated and also a lot of rural areas in the Peel region.

It’s not the demographic of the type of seat (middle ring suburban, educated, multicultural) that the LNP needs to win back power

Would have lost more if Dutton was from WA.

I know what Mandurah is, it is absolutely no surprise that he retained his seat on a healthy margin in the last election.

I agree with you that Hastie is not what the Libs need to claw back seats, much less win government.

--------

They have really taken from the election that they need to go even further right.

However I think he underestimates the average Australian's views on bible thumping in politics. We aren't quite as rabid as the yanks with the religiosity.

G032V3CbgAEBXk5

The only way therefore a Hastie-led Liberal Party gets back into government would be through sheer incompetence from Albo and his government convincing voters that two terms is enough.
I think he's doing the wrong thing in flogging the global warming skeptic horse.

It's easier and more effective to attack people from other countries with the help of Rupert and Gina and a slack ABC following them around putting their every hateful word in the spotlight.

--------

They have really taken from the election that they need to go even further right.

However I think he underestimates the average Australian's views on bible thumping in politics. We aren't quite as rabid as the yanks with the religiosity.

G032V3CbgAEBXk5
This reminds me of Dom Perrotets conservative spring or right wing spring (whatever the **** he called it) celebratory post almost a decade ago.

When will the LNP learn?
They aren't cognisant of what exists outside of what Gina Rinehart says is reality. They are going through the death throes of the disintegration of their putrid party.

I don't mind, do you?

Might as well start this thread as it’s inevitable he’s going to roll Sussan, seemingly now sooner rather than later, whilst also begging to take the Libs further towards One Nation:

The most astonishing thing I find about all of this is the constant reference to western culture being under attack as if we are a stronghold for the Anglo-Celtic diaspora and a European outpost. We have a nearly 50/50 split between those with an Anglo-Celtic background and those that are not.

We are a very diverse country and the more the LNP/One Nation supremacists peddle the White Australia hegemony line, the more they alienate the electorate.

--------

G032V3CbgAEBXk5
I simply do not understand the radical conservative view that people expressing western liberalism are somehow against western values.

They are essentially saying, Yes, you are allowed to live free, but not like that.

The most astonishing thing I find about all of this is the constant reference to western culture being under attack as if we are a stronghold for the Anglo-Celtic diaspora and a European outpost. We have a nearly 50/50 split between those with an Anglo-Celtic background and those that are not.

We are a very diverse country and the more the LNP/One Nation supremacists peddle the White Australia hegemony line, the more they alienate the electorate.
In the past, circa Howard era, the liberal dog whistling was very successful. Migrants are generally very socially and fiscally conservative, often from authoritative and outright racist cultures that put our own to shame. Many of the areas that voted no to gay marriage, had a high immigrant population.

In the past, this marriage of racist dog whistling for the white anglo majority, married well with conservative immigrants because they never thought that they were the targets. Anecdotally, I still remember the time a Sri Lankan cabbie I drove with railed against assylum seekers without any prompting.

But the more modern and extreme rhetoric from the liberals specifically calls out Chineese and Indians in particular, as well as the steady Islamaphobic rhetoric and constant references to African Gangs, which is all combining to shatter that illusion for so many. IMO, The liberals losing majority support of these conservative immigrants has gone to show how far off the deep end they are right now, and I am so relieved its not working for them.

I simply do not understand the radical conservative view that people expressing western liberalism are somehow against western values.

They are essentially saying, Yes, you are allowed to live free, but not like that.
What are western values? Because we're hearing so much about some really ill defined idea and to me it seems like the a right wing attempt to highjack the idea, define the concept themselves and take ownership of it as the "defenders".

--------

G032V3CbgAEBXk5

Ha! Raphael was a philandering sex addict who rooted women left, right and centre without marrying or partaking in “family values”. He would’ve mocked holier than thou nerds like Hastie in his lifetime.

Morrison was far more discrete about his religiosity in his career and ambition for PM. In a way Abbott was too. Maybe it’s the advent of social media but Hastie seems far more willing to publish pro religious sentiment under his own name.

But with the moderates having been expunged from Liberal branches and evangelicals in some of them comprising the entire voting base it’s no wonder he’s decided he needs to amp up the religion talk to get the support of the branches.

It’s a vast majority Anglo Celtic nation to them. Look at their member base, their media allies, their donors. I’d be surprised if they realised non Caucasian Australians are allowed to vote at times.

Also the “Anglo Celtic nation” - up until the 60s Anglo British Protestants treated Celtic Irish Catholics as traitors and unwanted scum, loyal to the Pope not the Crown.

In 1996, when Howard came to power and Hanson came to prominence, the Asian population was 4-5%. Now it’s closer to 20%. And they vote, mostly in marginal seats.

Andrew Hastie