List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - Top 10 Candidates

Which 2 Players Do You Want With Our 2 Round 1 Picks?

Even with Vlas probably retiring in the next couple, the only reason we would be into Taylor is if Banks is going to Tassie for an early pick in 2027.....or we want to shift Brown to a wing.....or both.

Can't see how we fit Miller (198cm) Balta (194cm) Gibcus (196cm) Trainor (195cm) Brown(193cm) Banks (187cm) and Taylor (191cm+) into 6 positions and still be short a lockdown small defender. It's bloody tall too.

Like WC got with Harley?

Teams will ask for the world from port and Adelaide then just decide nah we’d rather Dougie at the end of day.
WC had no choice but to keep Harley at whatever cost.Otherwise they might as well close the door.
What if Port offer say pick 8 + 9(Butters compo) & F1?

All the talk from where/whom? Random draft watchers or big footy phantoms or media?
We showed last year we don’t let out that kind of information, I mean nobody had us taking Hotton and Faull where they fell in the draft.
Cal Twomey plus others in the industry.

Nothings ever certain with draft talk, not even from Cal, but when someone like Cal and a few others say something, I think it pays to take some notice.

Teams split picks or trade up all the time.

There's a price for every pick. This "don't split picks" by people is stupid. If west Coast offered up their F1 and Hawthorns 1st for pick 4 we wouldn't take it? Or both their Future 1sts?

Sliding 3-4 spots back could buy as another first round pick, probably giving us players who address better areas.

West coast would never offer us their future 1st. Your examples are ridiculous.

All the talk from where/whom? Random draft watchers or big footy phantoms or media?
We showed last year we don’t let out that kind of information, I mean nobody had us taking Hotton and Faull where they fell in the draft.
Grock had us taking Faull as our main forward from what he had heard way back in June / July, maybe even earlier.

Before any of us even really gave him a second thought.

WC had no choice but to keep Harley at whatever cost.Otherwise they might as well close the door.
What if Port offer say pick 8 + 9(Butters compo) & F1?

Dees offered 6, 11 and F1
Norf offered 2, 15 and 17

We offered 9, 16, 28 and CCJ for JHF, crows offered 6, their f1 and dees f1 for JHF.

Nope won’t be taking that port offer.

Given the current hype surrounding Robey I can see a situation where the Eagles go with a combination of Duursma & Robey at 1 & 2 as the 2 best available talents, which would definitely throw the cat among the pigeons when it comes to who we draft or whether we take 1 and then look to slide back and acquire more draft capital in either this draft or a combination of this year and next year.

So I guess the question for the Sulley fans is if a situation like that was to unfold what is your fall back position that you'd be happy with?

Who would you then want us to take at 3 & 4?

Would you be open to the scenario where we take pick 3 and then trade back and/or out?

Given the current hype surrounding Robey I can see a situation where the Eagles go with a combination of Duursma & Robey at 1 & 2 as the 2 best available talents, which would definitely throw the cat among the pigeons when it comes to who we draft or whether we take 1 and then look to slide back and acquire more draft capital in either this draft or a combination of this year and next year.

So I guess the question for the Sulley fans is if a situation like that was to unfold what is your fall back position that you'd be happy with?

Would you be open to the scenario where we take pick 3 and then trade back and/or out?
Jon Richardson GIF

Sharp / Cumming

Is this before they've vented their frustration and hospitalised Morro or after when they can think clearly again?

Angry Office GIF

Just what it sounded like from Tiges71
Yeah Tigs has said for a while that noise hasn’t gone away.

Shopping around might be a bit strong, but the noise is more managers doing what they are meant to do and asking questions of other clubs on their clients

Tigs view has always been though hopper will be with us next year, but he just passes on what keeps getting heard.

This seems more like a manager just doing their job than anything else.

Yeah Tigs has said for a while that noise hasn’t gone away.

Shopping around might be a bit strong, but the noise is more managers doing what they are meant to do and asking questions of other clubs on their clients

Tigs view has always been though hopper will be with us next year, but he just passes on what keeps getting heard.

This seems more like a manager just doing their job than anything else.

It's probably exactly what happened with Ridley, Pertracca, Merrett etc. this off season, except those ones have been made public through various circumstances, whilst many others just go unreported (which I would assume this Hopper one falls into).

I mean, it's only now that's being reported that Merrett met with Buckley at Collingwood.

Sharp projects as a top end mid - JGTI was pick 53. I don't see Sharp as a Cotchin quality player, but similar in how he plays the game. Great leadership as well. The other major thing for me is that he would be a great foil for Lalor and Smillie. Sharp's one wood is insane pressure and ball distribution. The other 2 OK, there but you really want them getting the next ball from the contests as much as possible. Fantastic combo.

Saying all that I reckon Sharp would be worth about pick 10 in last year's draft. And I would have Hotton well before him. ... We did so well having our down year and trade out in 2024.

That we have TT, Hopper and Prestia is irrelevant to our picks. Prestia is gone next year. 3 to 5 years and TT and Hopper are getting too old. And maybe Hopper goes this year anyway (we'll see if it happens)

Re other types of players (Grilj etc) we should split the pick and trade down if we go that way. (If we can get a F1 and still get someone good this year then sounds great.) But anyway, we can draft/trade/FA in outside types much more easily than good mids or talls.

The core issue for me is the longer term one of having a top end midfield for a long stint contending. If our KPFs take about 3 years to be fully AFL ready then around 2028/29 we should be competitive in a big way. That's when you want to have a long term midfield that can stand up to the best. It doesn't matter if we look weird for a few years while it all sorts itself out. What matters is that around 2028 we have a fully rounded squad with talent where it matters, a great attitude and then a very large window opens for a decade.
Yeah I get if people don't like Sharp cause he's not a good fit but it's weird to invalidate him as a top prospect after being the best champs player and best player in seniors. I agree it doesn't matter too much that he doesn't have great synergy with TT and Hopper, and the mid mix should be better next year regardless with more time to Lalor, Hotton and Campbell. Plus if we do finish 17th again we can potentially pick up Walker who's a better transitional mid than anyone we'd be eyeing this year.

People keep assuming split the pick means four for pick ten and twelve

Far more likely to be a slide situation like the pick that ended up being McCauliffe where we go four for six and a pick in the twenties (this year or next year) and then if we still have multiple players we like available we slide again and accumulate more picks

Also this boards obsession with players being able to play on the wing is bizarre
And its always the players with the worst attributes too, like Balta and Brown are two of our worst endurance runners

nope, Sharpe and Cummikngs and chase others later in the draft.

becomes even simpler for me. Essendon be happy to get CDT anyway

what might happen is Gold Coast get St Kilda pick for Flanders which might end up 7 and 8 maybe .

they then trade 7 and 8 to West Coast for 2 so they get CDT.

that way WC have 1, 7, 8. One would suspect WC could trade 7 and/or 8 for whatever depending on what they are chasing and CFC compo for de koning also on the table

Yeah I get if people don't like Sharp cause he's not a good fit but it's weird to invalidate him as a top prospect after being the best champs player and best player in seniors. I agree it doesn't matter too much that he doesn't have great synergy with TT and Hopper, and the mid mix should be better next year regardless with more time to Lalor, Hotton and Campbell. Plus if we do finish 17th again we can potentially pick up Walker who's a better transitional mid than anyone we'd be eyeing this year.

It'll be interesting to see where he falls. Reckon he will be a damn good player for whoever gets him.

If we do go Robey (Blair type) and Taylor I guess the Bombers will take him. :huh: