Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Just a springboard for thoughts. Not personal.😊
I'm largely avoiding this thread.
Reading we will get Florent. and that N.Melb coach kinda tipped me to post today I think.

No point when I'm so out of step with most who post in the thread.
All good mate, certainly didnt take it personally. Dare i say....it will get better, stick fat haha

I'm referring to what Cal Twomey said yesterday.

1. West Coast were originally denied their request for a draft selection
2. That it was invented and is the price West Coast will pay for Starcevich
Signed off by former Brisbane Lions CEO Greg Swann..........how convenient

Judging our results over the last 30 years we have been light on for very good players.
Can’t have enough of them imo.

It's not about amassing the most talent. It's about building the best team.

Building balance across positions, balance across age & salary, players that suit the coach's gameplan and the modern game.

I actually think focusing on talent first has been our biggest failure.

BaLove your post Goreds. 100%. We need flogs. Not druggie, criminal flogs but footy arrogant flogs.
How many flogs does it take to change a lightbulb - one to hold the bulb & another to apply the ink…

La Lakers Nba GIF

What's screwed is that when West Coast initially reached out for an assistance package they were told no to draft picks.

The second that they're linked with Starcevich the AFL gives them pick 19 as long as they trade it to Brisbane.

I wonder who pulled that trick?

I wasn't quite right here.

What actually happened was that West Coast asked for the assistant package to include no downgrading of their compensation for Oscar Allen free agency move if they got Starcevich via free agency

AFL said no.

aFL have instead created pick 19 as part of the assistance package with the purpose of being traded to Brisbane for Starcevich.

Either way the AFL has created this pick 19 for Brisbane out of thin air while Brisbane will now go ahead and sign Oscar Allen and Draper in free agency.

Campbell, Hayward and pick/s for me would be something I’d stamp Curnows papers for. Would have to sweeten it back a little picks wise with some swapping. Then Florent in a seperate deal. Would bite at that happily. Won’t happen though.

Campbell, Hayward and Florent aren't depth players either wth lol. All three meet a need for us. They would all make us better and be best 23.

Feel like we need one or two on the list, no? Obviously prefer to not have too many but we're lacking a Ginnivan/Papley/Rayner type that will ruffle feathers and get under the opponent's skin.

We really do need more mongrel and a flog forward too.

We lack forwards who are cocksure of themselves and who will back themselves in without dropping their head. Been years since we've had one, even Charlie is prone to dropping his head which is where these multi behind games come from.

Totally agree...

We need to keep bringing in good citizens and model human beings.

Under no circumstances do we bring in any player that might rub the opposition players or their supporters the wrong way (clearly that includes Paps as all opposition supporters think he's a flog).

We can't afford to be controversial and bring in anyone that might ruin our squeaky-clean list of model AFL players...

I do have one question though, how is that going for us???
He is an overrated turd.

TA

Riley Beveridge saying we are now out of the Sam Flanders race.

We put a price of about $650-700k on him. We were out the second St Kilda went to 900k and doubly out when Essendon decided to match or better that.

He is an overrated turd.

TA

27 goals in 14 games.

Rushed back for a final completely underdone and is one of two Crows to kick multiple goals

Yeah, overrated