List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - Top 10 Candidates

Which 2 Players Do You Want With Our 2 Round 1 Picks?

He's not at all like McLuggage.
I could absolutely see Robey playing wing for a good few years the way McCluggage has. Good turn of speed, powerful in the hips, good size and capable of midfield bursts....McLuggage also handy above his head in a contest. So if playing a wing role that Robey may have to do early days I see them as similar.

Just take the two best available now imo , risky relying on next years draft then waiting to see where another club finishes again For the future first .

Depends, I'm not that excited about it, but if the club loves Grlj for example and think they can get him whilst sliding back then it would make sense to get something else as well.

You've named two extraordinarily different types of mids there.....
starting to wonder who they are posting about? is it still Sharpe, lol?

the thing is one has to factor in age and we are trying to develop a squad for premierships and other synergies

player is this type or that type is a little less relevant as long as the quality is there to a degree as well as other aspects.

the point is a club only goes to the well so often. when you are there the emphasis naturally is on quality because it is harder to get quality in other drafts with later picks because other teams are not mugs and Melbourne could be shooting low, Bombers shooting low, as well as Tassie coming in

We're now at 200 pages..........

No change in my thoughts from the early days of this thread - get the best two players available at our picks (with a preference on skill and speed).
this is why I am not prepared to compromise on Cumming at 3 or 4 assuming Robey, or Duusrma gone to West Coast

the thing is, and I am assuming here, Gold Coast want cheaper draft compo for their academies and I assume they want CDT as rucks harder to get even with academies.

lets assume this is correct and assume for CDT to get to us say West Coast pick Duursma and Robey so Sharpe still on the board. Now for mine the Gold Coast compo stays the same whether 3 or 4 because assuming they want CDT(Gold Coast want we assume CDT and cheaper academy cost) we get Cumming at 3 for sure, everything agreed beforehand and CDT then to GC at 4 for their picks plus they get the lessor compo fall out for academies plus CDT so we get the same picks.(Gold Coast compo cost slide past 3 and 4 for the moment, assuming missed 1 and2)

now in this scenario Sharpe gets to Essendon. Well if Essendon do not want Sharpe for whatever reason we could trade futures or we could trade one of the picks we got from GC and some combo or they do a trade with another club. West Coast might even do a trade with Essendon, who knows.

the other thing is if Sharpe gets to Essendon, Gold Coast will want Sharpe to go before their academies to make their academies cheaper. So gc giving us picks to use, from the CDT pick beforehand, with Essendon for Sharpe suits them as their academy cost drops. Essendon will not trade out for the sake of it. They will want something, fair enough to and obviously to do this they do not have a total hard on for Sharpe

Got to say eagle-u come across a a good bloke who's contributions are welcome here-very fair.

Cheers mate. At the end of the day we’re all here because we love talking footy. Both our clubs are going through a similar phase after some good times. Good to get different perspectives even if you don’t agree with it and it goes both ways 👍

Robey hype real - yes & no.

Yes, he is a genuinely good forward and has shown a lot in the midfield. Big strong, fairly skilled, seems to have a great attitude and physicality. So he looks like a bigger less skilled Dusty type - not Dusty quality but stylistically as a big bodied forward/mid.

No, he has few runs on the board and might just have had a fantastic patch in juniors.

Very high risk, but very high return.
Not so sure the risk is that high. There will and have been plenty of picks around 4 that have gone on to have good careers without being stars. But as you say, the return could be very high. Looks to me a gamble worth taking.

Sharp seems to have a few more strings to his bow than being purely inside. He's sound defensively. He also is reasonably talented without being elite in terms of line breaking run, opening up play with his vision and poise (like Lalor to an extent), bringing others into the game and seems to be more of an average speed than slow.

He's a risk taker with dare.

He isn't a rolls royce, but there is a tad of class about him. Perhaps more of a Lexus lol

The combine testing will be interesting.

Whether he becomes A Grade is another question. But I have the same questions over Robey, Cumming and others.

If it were me, at this stage I'd be picking Sharp and Robey at 3 and 4, or if we trade pick 4, take 1 of the 2 and then maybe Grlj later on.

Sharp, Robey and Greeves will be interesting to see here. Same with their 20m sprint times.

Sharp and Greeves most important is 2km time trial to see if they can get from contest to contest. You aren’t drafting either for their speed. Robey definitely, not sure if he’s testing though with his fractured clavicle.

Yes 100%.

I reckon he won't get past pick 5, academy picks and the like not included.
I really think Sharp is not getting past pick-4. If he does then Essendon will be doing cartwheels, as he's exactly what they need. The only reason we'd bypass him is if we decide Robey is better, and thus have an over supply of 'big bodied' clearance mids...which is a possibility.