Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

If you don't like Voss that's fine, I hardly think he's a superstar coach either.

I just think, and have thought from well before the decision to retain Voss, that this list is more to blame than the coaches.

The conditional attitudes from many of our players during what should have been our 'window' was simply pathetic. And those attitudes long predated Voss.

Scapegoating the coach once again by giving him the sack and retaining the pea hearted players imo is the worst thing we could have done and I'm glad we went the opposite way.
110%, this playing group can’t be trusted and they just folded whenever pressure became too much.
That has not just been evident with Voss, we should have been playing finals from 2020 onwards but continuously shit the bed.

Having a sook because injury riddled mates were moved on, others replaced with draftees is case point number 1 for overpaid and entitled individuals who failed to look in the mirror and give any thought to the reasons being the person looking back at them.

Voss may not survive 2026, but at least the club finally put a spotlight on the playing group.

McGovern hasn't been offered a contract - he was asked to shop himself around, honestly I don't think he has any takers. Desperately wants to stay but the club isn't forthcoming. It's purely a waiting game for him but doesn't like his chances. Very upset.

Lij said he is hoping he will get to stay, but also wasn't very confident.

There was an article a few weeks ago saying there were 3 clubs interested in him... can't recall which ones though.

But can he change his ways?
Round 1 next year will be a huge indication I feel.

Richmond will be up and about and confident they will roll us again. What sort of performance will we put out?

Will we roll over like this year or come out breathing fire? I feel that game will go a long way to showing us if there has been a shift in attitude or not.

110%, this playing group can’t be trusted and they just folded whenever pressure became too much.
That has not just been evident with Voss, we should have been playing finals from 2020 onwards but continuously shit the bed.

Having a sook because injury riddled mates were moved on, others replaced with draftees is case point number 1 for overpaid and entitled individuals who failed to look in the mirror and give any thought to the reasons being the person looking back at them.

Voss may not survive 2026, but at least the club finally put a spotlight on the playing group.
Spot on.

I think Voss will get the sack end of 2026 mind you, I just think its far more valuable to keep him and send a message to the pea hearts on the list that we aren't going to tolerate the crap they've dished up.

Shafting Gov on his contract is a perfect example of a more ruthless approach. We all know McGovern is at least AFL quality depth and at his best a valuable player... But to show up fat year after year, clearly not approach things as professionally as he could with rehab and recovery etc... Off you go mate.

Sounds like JSOS and Doch were two of the major sooks of the group... Don't let the door hit you on the way out!

If by some miracle we have a good 2026 then good for Vossy, in the meantime I'm more than happy for GW and Priestly to use him as a pawn to try and reset the culture at the joint.

It's not Vossy's fault that Austin and Agresta gutted the list the last 2 years which is the primary reason the players have become disillusioned.

Instead of building on a preliminary finals base they've torn it to shreds.
But those same players that remained and were supposed to carry us failed to live up to any standards to propel further forward.

Then broken by the cash splurge..

McGovern hasn't been offered a contract - he was asked to shop himself around, honestly I don't think he has any takers. Desperately wants to stay but the club isn't forthcoming. It's purely a waiting game for him but doesn't like his chances. Very upset.

In my opinion, He has to be one of the most frustrating players to support, talented, highly skilled, but is so conditional on his performances. Should have been sent back to the VFL so many times to improve his game and gain confidence but for some reason was considered untouchable.

I've had enough of these sort of players, players who rest on the skillset rather than push themselves to get the best of themselves on a weekly basis.

Bits and pieces

Lij well and truly burnt bridges internally, even if no takers there is a chance he goes.

Davies, already made a few sit up a bit straighter. Will hold everyone to account, question, probe and call out things out. If he sees something, he will fix it. Lloyd was very supportive and was the ultimate collaborator, but not decisive.

Fraser, given a license to change forward structure and strategy. Like this move. Hansen in the back half will give us more of the same and Clarkes role is very much stoppage focussed and not ball movement or transition oriented. Skipworth as reported has been a big target.

Huge focus on building out depth so if a Charlie to swans deal happens expect players and picks.

GW made a number of redundancies (4 I think), will have a new sports physiologist and there will be a new role reporting to GW focussed on Data, Tech and analytics.
Hope more leaks about the use of data etc. We've been horrible on analytics and creating advantages with tech etc. other teams have been adopting faster and more effectively. might be the best bit of news since Wright was appointed

But can he change his ways?
Evidence to date is “No”.
Tactically inept & unable to identify natural talent & leverage that talent for the good of the team.

I’m just hoping that the coaching staff changes creates a better dynamic & game plan.
If that happens, it’s not Voss being “better” it’s him taking a back seat to others with better ideas.

Hope more leaks about the use of data etc. We've been horrible on analytics and creating advantages with tech etc. other teams have been adopting faster and more effectively. might be the best bit of news since Wright was appointed

lol off-topic but I remember that AFL Coaches Doco - called "The Chosen Few" or something? Just after mick came to us.

anyway clarko & scott did these big segments about how much they love 'coding' - getting the game film and coding all the data or whatever.

cuts to mick and he's sitting there arms crossed 'coding? why would i need any of that stuff? i dont need to re-watch games or take stats, i see it with my own eyes'.

i knew we were in strife after seeing that.

Why the disenchantment within the playing group?
  • failed to add good senior players during trade period and decided to get youth instead (knee didn’t help)
  • Senior players knew the club wasn’t all in to win in 2025
  • Outdated contested ball game plan was obvious to all, brutal, tiring and injuring players
  • Weird Voss behaviors on game day multiple times during the year.
  • Once out of contention the discontent and lack of connection was obvious on the field and leadership group wasn’t able to mend this (& didn’t set a great example at times)

Also the focus on depth is BS we need better top 22 players who can kick straight under pressure. Durdin is our only elite level kick by position. Without shifting Curnow this cannot be addressed in the short term and hence the depth spin is needed to avoid being seen to be treading water

In my opinion, He has to be one of the most frustrating players to support, talented, highly skilled, but is so conditional on his performances. Should have been sent back to the VFL so many times to improve his game and gain confidence but for some reason was considered untouchable.

I've had enough of these sort of players, players who rest on the skillset rather than push themselves to get the best of themselves on a weekly basis.
Agreed. If he brought his best footy every week I think he's got All Australian potential.
But too many instances of ducking his head or having a brain fade that just undermines everything a coach would be trying to reinforce. When players see no consequences for players putting in regular sub par efforts it erodes trust and creates bitterness when the same old players are the first dropped or given lesser roles despite doing everything they can to follow team instructions.

Evidence to date is “No”.
Tactically inept & unable to identify natural talent & leverage that talent for the good of the team.

I’m just hoping that the coaching staff changes creates a better dynamic & game plan.
If that happens, it’s not Voss being “better” it’s him taking a back seat to others with better ideas.
Sadly, I agree.

Was chatting with Isaac Smith last year at a lunch we were talking about coaches and stuff. Asked him about Clarkson, was he reslly the master coach. Said he was great at backing the squad in but he said that team could have coached itself given the temperament of its leadership group and all putting the team before the individual.
Look at Clarkson's results with a young north list. A coach can lead a horse to water but it takes ownership as a playing group to drive standards.

To think this is just a Voss issue when they had an 80% win loss rate for that period of 2023/24 is lunacy.
For the first time the blow torch is put on the playing group. The responses have been telling. Sacking Lloyd and getting rid of Cook will have a far bigger impact than if they just took the easy route and killed another coach and gave the playing group yet another out.
Clarkson virtually invented modern footy, so there is that. Might struggle to do the same at Norf

It’s very comfortable at the club, the club has supported the players and the families well from afar (crèche) with changing dynamics of young men to settled / family life at the top.

Mitch needs to fair dinkum out on the park (obv training off it). Reckon he’s a forward backup if CC leaves.

Hopefully Lij has asked what he needs to do but unfortunately he may already know the answer..
Agreed. If he brought his best footy every week I think he's got All Australian potential.
But too many instances of ducking his head or having a brain fade that just undermines everything a coach would be trying to reinforce. When players see no consequences for players putting in regular sub par efforts it erodes trust and creates bitterness when the same old players are the first dropped or given lesser roles despite doing everything they can to follow team instructions.
Was surprised where he was in the BnF ladder board when it popped up (round 10 or something).

The disparity between the brothers on the attack of the footy is glaring. Imbed that Mitch.

You’d think if Humphrey nominated us, it would unlock the Curnow deal.

Suns > Pick 8 (Syd) & Pick 10 (Blues)
Swans > Curnow & Pick 36 (Blues)
Blues > Humphrey, Haywood, Florent & F1 (Swans), Pick 17 (Suns)

We’d have to move on some more players for points and to bring in Khamis, Chesser & Reidy.