Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

2 points that I have noticed in this thread the last week that I find fascinating.

1. The love for Lord. It seems he is in most people's best 23. With an influx of new talent, Jagga coming back, are you sure he fits in so easily? There may be a path to his spot in the 23, but I think a lot of people will be disappointed come round 1. He showed some promise this year, but I think it's a case of what you want to happen rather than the practical side of team balance.

Mind you, there shouldn't be a free pass to any new recruit, but we know that generally when you trade for new players, they play regardless of their pre-season.

2. The thought that Khamis is a lock at CHB. Do we even know if he is playing as a defender? Be careful to give the keys to a guy with little experience and who is severely undersized. CHB will either be Young or maybe a mature aged player we pick as a rookie or late in the draft (if we go that path). Personally, I assumed Khamis would either play forward or be more of a medium defender (Haynes type).

Any Khamis fans out there that can put together a case for him to be our next CHB?
I can't see Khamis at CHB. He can run and jump at it, but struggles with the body work in one on ones. Similar to Leek Aleer in that respect. I think playing him forward is our best bet.

Charlie clearly wants Geelong. This will only happen if we get some of their best young talent O’Sullivan / Humphries / miers (though I’m less strong on miers). That conversation seems to have started.

The Swans make more sense for us, they have the assets. The Collingwood F1 could be so much fun.

My gut says it will be Geelong as that’s where CC wants to go, but when it comes to it, I don’t think Mackie will do the deal as he is a hard hard hard bugger and has proven repeatedly that he refuses to pay a fair price in these things

Maybe. We'd probably have said the same about TDK a year ago.

If we were talking Cripps, you might have a point...

Butters is their best player, TDK far from that for us...

Carlton not matching 1.7M for TDK is smart.

Port not matching 2M for Butters is stupid.

They will 100% have planned for this, they're not walking away with 1 band 1 compo pick for losing their best player.

In hindsight, we should've traded TDK last year.

Only way I can see Humphrey going is 2 x 1st rounders (10/11) to replace what gcs may use in Petracca trade. Maybe have to give more as well.

Similar currency would get pick 2 or 3

So what is the better option?
2 x 1sts + change for Humphrey? Or pick 2/3 + save on $?

I think it's interesting how well the club has navigated this scenario so far.

Charlie leaving, which isn't guaranteed, but seems likely, is a real turning point.

We could plummet down the ladder as players lose faith, coach fails and list falls apart.

Or it could galvanized the list and give new license to the leadership.

As far as I can tell the club is doing everything right about selling the club to possible inclusions and being firm but professional in our dealings.

You really sense that the club is being run properly for the first time in a long time

I was initially disappointed when i heard Charlie wanted out, but now I reckon its the best thing, good timing of course depends on what the trade involves, but its a perfect opportunity for a mini reset, hope it happens
Same sounds like we’re going through the 5 stages of grief, Esk.

We’ve made it through the initial shock/denial, anger, depression and now working through the bargaining stage and finally acceptance.

I sometimes lapse into the anger stage then bounce up again after reading posts like yours.

I’m looking forward to the 6th stage - telling Geelong they can well and truly GAGF… :D

I suspect we'll be trading a couple of players for picks.

We need the points. Gov, Acres, Binns, Fogarty... sides like WC and North might want to send a 3rd rounder back.

If the Charlie deal goes as follows:

Curnow + F3 + 27F2
#11 + F1(Swans) + F1(Pies) + Hayward

Then the ideal scenarios are:

1. 10 + 11
    GCS: Humphrey

2. 10 + 11
    North/Demons: F1 + #46/#42

3. 10 + 11
    Ess: 6 + 21

(1) - Obviously gets us a player that fits perfectly. The most ideal outcome.
(2) - A very high pick in next year's draft. Can be used for trade capital for a gun player or take it to the draft to match Cody. It will then cause our top pick next year to only get pushed back a few spots so we still draft a gun (likely better than any pick we get this year)
(3) - Move up before a Dean bid and fully cover any costs for said bid with 21 + 22

My take on a potential Charlie trade. It is very much incumbent of Geelong and Sydney to satisfy with an offer we simply can't refuse.
I was very happy that Chris Davies came out and immediately rejected Geelong's offer of 3 first rounders by rightly saying they'll all be in the 20s. People need to stop getting excited by the offer a "1st round pick". Some of them are not genuine first rounders.
Simarly, Sydney's offer (as speculated by media and some here) of 2 first rounders and a decent player whehter that be Hayward or someone else. Their 2 first rounders do nothing for me too. Pick 11 this year will blow out to mid to late teens in a weak and shallow draft. Put Charlie in that forward line and a better run with injuries, first rounder next year will likely be in the 20s too.
If either club want to offer first rounders as part of the deal. They must to better. Sydney can take their pick 11 this and find something else and trade up with either Eagles, Tiggers or Dons. They then offer that pick to us. No interest in pick 11 which will be closer to pick 18. Same with next year's first. I know future picks are somewhat speculative, but there would be 7 or so teams you can already sa are unlikely to play finals next year. They can do a trade with one of those teams and give us that pick as a 2026 first rounder. If that team happens to surpass all expectations, so be it. I'll cop that. I am not prepared to take the 2 first rounders Sydney are currently offering though and I have no desire to take 11 this year and then attempting to trade up ourselves with TDK compo. Sydney can use their pick 11 and trade up for us. It is on them to get a deal done if they truly want Charlie. Same with Geelong.

As for other comments asking what would we be prepared to offer if the shoe was on the other foot. It doesn't matter what we'd be prepared to offer as the other club would be holding the whip hand as we do in this case. Therefore, they dictate what they want and we then decide how badly we want that player. Odds on if the shoe were on the other foot, they'd be demanding Sam Walsh and some. Or Jagga Smith, a bloke we traded up for and regarded as the best player in a very strong draft and potentially more. We must do the same.

Charlie is contracted to us for 4 more years. Despite on field input and as much as we hate it, footy is very much a money making business. Charlie is our most marketable player. Merch sales and even our junior members are called "Charlie's crew". They need to pay way overs for him If they aren't prepared to do the above, back to the original. Gulden or Max Holmes depending on the club. It's that simple really.

Also, I don't believe Charlie will totally sook it up if we kept him. Yes he is unhappy and yes he has sooked it up at times. Tell me one key forward in the history of the game who hasn't sooked it up at some point (Dunstall aside). He may have issues with Voss and the gameplan, but with new assistants, I'm confident the game plan will change. Furthermore, Charlie is a professional athlete. Despite his laid back persona, he'd take pride in his personal performance. I also believe he still has a genuine love and affection for his teammates and wouldn't want to let them down.

In short, another club pays way overs and what they're both offering is short of the mark, or Charlie stays.

No. Suns would rightly ask for a lot more for Humphrey.

Curnow for Sydney 2025 R1 and 2 x 2026 Round 1's. (Sydney/Collingwood?) which I suspect is the deal.

Carlton consider offering 10-11 to Gold Coast for Humphrey and 18. Values Humphrey at between pick 6 and 7.
Gold Coast give 8 and 10 for Petracca instead the 7 and 8 they apparently requested. GC take 7 and 11 to draft for academy picks.
Carlton use 18 and JSOS pick for Dean, Ison and possible JSOS pick slide to include Khamis.

Otherwise Carlton deal 10-11 to trade up.
Carlton retain 3 x 2026 first round selections to negotiate for Walker.

Same sounds like we’re going through the 5 stages of grief, Esk.

We’ve made it through the initial shock/denial, anger, depression and now working through the bargaining stage and finally acceptance.

I sometimes lapse into the anger stage then bounce up again after reading posts like yours.

I’m looking forward to the 6th stage - telling Geelong they can well and truly GAGF… :D
Stage 6: For the win. I hope it sets a precedent for all future dealings with scabby Geelong.