Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

This is my thought and hope as well.
We need to be urgent.
Keeping one eye on picks we need to keep for walker ect, but if there’s a chance we can bring in a Humphrey/butters or any gun player that suits our needs, then I’m hitting that button now! This trade period.
IMO… This year is the only chance we have to get Butters.

Port will match any FA bid and force a trade, we will have no currency with Cody Walker

And he's dropped the ball there. Melbourne can't get pick 8 for Trac because he has us getting pick 8. And what's that shit about us giving up Curnow and our JSOS compo and only getting 3 firsts back? That deals not working at all.
Not all firsts are created equal, Pommys suggestion was 3 inside the top 10 (maybe)

I was told (two seperate sources) last night that Humphrey remains some chance of heading this way.

Simple arithmetic is they can’t trade for Petracca and have enough points for their two top ten (maybe five) academy picks and at least three other good options. Something has to give.

Uwland, Patterson, Addinsall, Coulson, Murray odds on to be taken, add Hudson, Collin’s, Nancarrow, Harris, Turner and Melb F/S Kalani White as possibilities.
FWIW Port Adelaide think Humphrey and Rogers are still both very gettable.

Gotta say I absolutely despise the Geelong fans

I get we are a rabble but geez they are up and about for a side that got embarrassed on GF day only 2 weeks ago

Would hate Curnow to go there. Sydney only
Nah, you looking at it the wrong way.
As long as the flogs stump up a good trade then it’s good for Charlie to go there.
Smith and Charlie will bring out the worst in each other, Smith is a flog of the highest order, Charlie being around him will bring out the stupid in him. Would love to see it implode at an atomic level 😉

I was told (two seperate sources) last night that Humphrey remains some chance of heading this way.

Simple arithmetic is they can’t trade for Petracca and have enough points for their two top ten (maybe five) academy picks and at least three other good options. Something has to give.

Uwland, Patterson, Addinsall, Coulson, Murray odds on to be taken, add Hudson, Collin’s, Nancarrow, Harris, Turner and Melb F/S Kalani White as possibilities.
Makes sense he’d be available if dees are asking for 7 and 8. They’re going to need more top picks for points

The only thing with Humphrey is it was reported he's met with three clubs and none of them Carlton. Unless we've been able to keep it private and other team's haven't ofc but seems unlikely as it's probably Bailey's manager leaking the meetings

I still can't see Charlie running around in Red and white ... it's hoops or he's staying.
If we end up keeping Charlie I'm not ruling out that Voss turns it around .. Charlie kicks Goals and punters jump back on board the Charlie wagon.

I'll go with whatever the Footy Gods decide for us and the Charlie fella... ?

Is that your first Blumour?

I have wondered when I might stumble into one

Forget the Cats. Sydney wouldn't be blowing up their list without some form of assurance from Carlton. Telling contracted players to look elsewhere 4 days before the trade window closes? There would be an agreed expected outcome and Sydney are going all out to achieve it.
The Cats had their shot and they came up short.
I thought the same, when the Ainsworth trade went through. Not sure we needed to use a 2026 R2, but then I thought, we have some sort of in-principle agreement with Sydney to cover it.

This is why, I can’t help think that where wanting as many first rounders as possible, so we can go hard at a quality player
It’s a balancing act. We need an extra first rounder in 2026 to cater for Cody Walker, non negotiable.

The TDK compo and Sydney pick would go a massive way to paying for Humphrey. Sydney have academy picks this year and next to cater for, so the playing field becomes clouded. They likely would prefer to give the two first rounders and players. Looking somewhat possible that Buller and Rowbottom equals a first rounder from Collingwood, except the Magpies don’t have a 2025 first rounder. I don’t think the Swans definitely need a first rounder this year for matching academy picks, second rounders likely suffice.

May be overkill, but could a Charlie trade be as simple as Sydney first this year and next and Collingwood first 2026. Becomes possible surplus for Cody, but if he went one or two we would need a top six pick to match the lion’s share of required points. Carlton, Sydney and Collingwood firsts guve us the scope to trade a pair of them to the pointy end of the draft.

If we have the picks to trade for Humphrey, we have less need to include Hayward in a trade from Sydney. I don’t think we need to add Ainsworth, Hayward and Humphrey in one off season. We have Moir, Kemp and O’Keeffe developing as forward “pieces” and despite popular opinion Williams, Frankie and Motlop add enough to the forward mix. (Cotts and Fog still options - Elijah, White and Young not gone yet either)

Forget the Cats. Sydney wouldn't be blowing up their list without some form of assurance from Carlton. Telling contracted players to look elsewhere 4 days before the trade window closes? There would be an agreed expected outcome and Sydney are going all out to achieve it.
The Cats had their shot and they came up short.
IMO cats would have to throw in a miers or Holmes to probably get over the top of a swans deal now. Obviously if the swannies deal is going to be substantial starter

Is that your first Blumour?

I have wondered when I might stumble into one
Not sure I would claim a chance as a BLUEMOUR, close though. (I get annoyed with some tenuous offerings)

The Moe rumblings surely put us in the mix for BH. Melbourne will be pushing for him in the Trac trade(if prepared to release him) but I would like to think Humphrey is smart enough to avoid them.

I'm all for second chances. Even third chances.

But I suspect that what has happened here is that Elijah was given a "last warning" and then transgressed again.

You can't then give him another chance. It undermines the lesson.

"Last chance, screw up again and you're out!"
"Oh OK...just one more you cheeky rascal, but this time we mean it!"

Once you prove the threat to be hollow, it no longer holds any weight. If nobody else wants him, I'd consider a VFL contract and if he stays squeaky clean for 12 months then maybe a rookie lifeline for 2027. But right now, if the ultimatum was set then for his sake and ours we should abide by it. Support doesn't always mean giving more chances, sometimes it's about consistency and consequences to help the person learn.
Let’s hope Carlton & Elijah can get their shit together.

From the outside, it feels to me that for far too long, Carlton has lacked great officials with acumen with a sixth sense. Seems to be run by departmental intellectuals. They might know what to say but not know what to do. Both off field & on field. Let’s hope GW & Davis is one positive step forward.

There would be no better place for Elijah next year than Carlton & with his brother. Both Carlton & Elijah must get better going forward.

Let’s hope Carlton & Elijah can get their shit together.

From the outside, it feels to me that for far too long, Carlton has lacked great officials with acumen with a sixth sense. Seems to be run by departmental intellectuals. They might know what to say but not know what to do. Both off field & on field. Let’s hope GW & Davis is one positive step forward.

There would be no better place for Elijah next year than Carlton & with his brother. Both Carlton & Elijah must get better going forward.
I think every Carlton aligned individual would like to see Elijah retained. He is a prodigious talent. The officials have a responsibility which finally is being taken as seriously as it should be. If that sense of responsibility compels them to cut EH the so be it, and I will support their decision

FWIW Port Adelaide think Humphrey and Rogers are still both very gettable.
Media: We hear Bailey Humphrey is a potential trade target.

Gold Coast: Humphrey is contracted and is categorically not up for trade.

Port: We reckon Humphrey is gettable.

Media: We hear Zak Butters is a potential trade target.

Also Port: How many times do we need to tell you all that Zak Butters is contracted so is categorically not up for trade!1!!

Ahhh, never change Trade Week (tm)