Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Charlie spends every moment he is not obliged to be in Melbourne down in the Torquay area.

Family, surfing, mates are very very very important to him.

Sydney would mean he seems much less of his family than he does now.

I get the sense his preference for Geelong was followed by daylight, and then Sydney/GCS.

Is there a scenario where (assuming Geelong don't come up with a satisfactory offer for Carlton), once he realises his only non-Carlton option is in Sydney ,far away from family, that he gets cold feet on the whole thing and ends up staying at Carlton?
Hope not

Charlie is/was a marque player at the Blues who will be our next marque player moving forward?
Personally I think we need to move away from this as a club.

The "messiah" marketing dates back so far now and it's gotten us nowhere.

Mentality of our entire club needs to change, particularly with the supporter base, re: going chips in on a superstar to pull us from the rubble.

Not sure about anyone else but this trade period hasn’t been like others for me. I haven’t been stressed or looking for news every 10 minutes like previous years. When it happens, it happens.

Probably because our targets have been realistic additions, and we are the big sellers with all the cards.

From where I sit right now, the worst-case scenario in terms of the offer from Sydney looks like Pick 11, F1, Hayward, and Florent.

However, I’m more interested in what our plans are for Picks 10 and 11, especially with the Harry Dean and Jack Ison implications in play.

I can’t see us heading to the draft holding both of those picks and I’d expect one of the following to happen:
  • Trade up to secure a pick before likely bid territory (unlikely)
  • Trade out for future capital in 2026 (likely)
  • Trade for a mature player to help sell the Charlie deal to the members and media etc (very likely).

Don't be deal junkies with Curnow.
Unless we get an A grader or pick 2 in the mix with nothing going back-No Deal.
It's better he stays with Carlton and at worst sits in the 2s which he will not do because it is in his interest to play well and increase his value.
CARLTON including its supporters hold all.the cards because he is on a multi yr contract. Not 1 yr but 4 yrs.
So the other clubs can stop messaging who they can.not trade and start ponying up. Curnow is not a Carlton Problem. He is D'arazios', Swans, Cats and Bailey Smith's problem.
He doesn't want to be at Carlton and id hazard a guess the club want him out. Keeping him is ridiculous

This is what I’d do;

1. Sell pick 10 and a 3rd rounder (this years or next) for a late first and future first (happy to give pick 10 pick to Geelong for their 2025/2026 first round picks). Geelong can then use Pick 10 and a few pick swaps for Marshall.

2. Get Sydney's 2025 & 2026 First round picks, Campbell and (Hayward if possible) for Charlie.

Leaves us with 3 first round picks for 2026 and and 2 late first rounders for 2025 which will give us enough points for Dean.

Next year we gain Cody another first rounder.

From where I sit right now, the worst-case scenario in terms of the offer from Sydney looks like Pick 11, F1, Hayward, and Florent.

However, I’m more interested in what our plans are for Picks 10 and 11, especially with the Harry Dean and Jack Ison implications in play.

I can’t see us heading to the draft holding both of those picks and I’d expect one of the following to happen:
  • Trade for a mature player to help sell the Charlie deal to the members and media etc (very likely).
Any inklings on the mature player/s we're eyeing off, or just spitballing?

We can pay for a realistic Dean bid with current picks, but not if we trade 10 and 11 out. I couldn't care less about trading up in this draft. None of the prospects would have gone top 6 in last year's draft so all early picks are overpaying in a sense.

Established player or keep one, trade one for mine. Also have to get Buku done.

Geelong still have to put geelong first they put together the best offer they could and carlton said no.
I dont think think geelong have promised curnow it will happen either.
It's not that deep mate
If it was a serious tilt, they would have been working with other clubs to upgrade their picks to something that resembles value. The fact they went public, and with the pick 19 they had offered for Marshall, suggests it was a negotiation tactic with the Saints and something for their supporters (we tried for Curnow).

He doesn't want to be at Carlton and id hazard a guess the club want him out. Keeping him is ridiculous

Yup. Zero point in keeping the toxicity around. It killed us last season. The value for a 29 year old Charlie isn't getting any better, and he will try again.

This is what I’d do;

1. Sell pick 10 and a 3rd rounder (this years or next) for a late first and future first (happy to give pick 10 pick to Geelong for their 2025/2026 first round picks). Geelong can then use Pick 10 and a few pick swaps for Marshall.

2. Get Sydney's 2025 & 2026 First round picks, Campbell and (Hayward if possible) for Charlie.

Leaves us with 3 first round picks for 2026 and and 2 late first rounders for 2025 which will give us enough points for Dean.

Next year we gain Cody another first rounder.
I would not do anything that helps Geelong, in the same vein as Collingwood and bummers.
Let them get Marshall without our help.

Charlie spends every moment he is not obliged to be in Melbourne down in the Torquay area.

Family, surfing, mates are very very very important to him.

Sydney would mean he seems much less of his family than he does now.

I get the sense his preference for Geelong was followed by daylight, and then Sydney/GCS.

Is there a scenario where (assuming Geelong don't come up with a satisfactory offer for Carlton), once he realises his only non-Carlton option is in Sydney ,far away from family, that he gets cold feet on the whole thing and ends up staying at Carlton?

I think we all know Geelong would be his ideal situation for surf, family and friends.

Sydney and GC have been viable options all along as it gets him out of the Melbourne bubble, close to the surf, decent weather and clubs that are seen as a quality full-forward away from flag contention.

Getting away from Melbourne media and mad footy fans would be a sell for a guy like him.

Everytime I see ‘id hazard a guess’ I know it’s you without even looking at who’s posted. Haha! Reckon you’ve dropped that in majority of your posts for the last few weeks.