List Mgmt. 2025 AFL Draft - The Final Countdown

What Is Your Preferred Combination At Picks 3 & 4?

What if they have 4-6 players rated similar ?
Eagles have a track record of splitting picks and have desperate need for mids
Theyre not trading down 5 spots from pick 2 to upgrade mid first rounder by same amount.

This draft most teams will be selecting for needs as Duursma is probably the only complete footballer

Sharp is an stoppage specialist though midfield only and not elite athlete
Grjl is an athletic half back flank learning to be a midfielder
Robey is a forward learning to be a midfielder
CDT is a midfielder trapped in a ruckman's body
Xavier Taylor is a medium defender that can defend tall and small but probably doesn't have the endurance and speed to go with the elite athletes (6.39 2km, 3.1 20m sprint)

To answer your question about Cumming watch his SANFL seniors BOG performance in only his 2nd game at the level

He gets inside and extracts, he positions himself front and centre of marking contests nicely, he has nice forward craft marking well on the lead and overhead contests. He probably is the most complete footballer after Duursma.

We don’t need another turnover king. Hard pass

I’m still Robey & Grjl both can play elsewhere (forward & halfback) until midfield minutes open up.

I also don’t want to fall into the north trap of only drafting mids and then not being able to play them all. Likely next years top end will also be a mid and we also have Kellaway and Armstrong to potentially come in.

Maybe 2 for 7&8 if they know for sure sharp gets through. No way 13 is included

And no way Melbourne pay 2xtop 10 picks for an unproven afl talent. It’s a more than we paid for Taranto. As the trade up club you’ve got to be so certain to even contemplate that cost.

Neither of our clubs will accept less than that though, which is why you’ll take 1 and 2, and we’ll take 3 and 4.

I'm no to Grlj for us that early unless we split the pick great testing and athletic attributes, but doesn't get the footy enough or isn't involved enough for my liking.

On X Taylor can he play midfield. Otherwise I don't see the need with Banks and Brown at hb. His a good kick , but not elite and he aren't that run and carry hb either.

And no way Melbourne pay 2xtop 10 picks for an unproven afl talent. It’s a more than we paid for Taranto. As the trade up club you’ve got to be so certain to even contemplate that cost.

Neither of our clubs will accept less than that though, which is why you’ll take 1 and 2, and we’ll take 3 and 4.
Only offers I can see being made are a 2025 R1 plus a 2025 R2 or 3 or a Future R1. Unless we're confident that the side we're trading with is going to be a side that nets us a top 10 pick in the future draft I don't see us making the trade.

I’m still Robey & Grjl both can play elsewhere (forward & halfback) until midfield minutes open up.

I also don’t want to fall into the north trap of only drafting mids and then not being able to play them all. Likely next years top end will also be a mid and we also have Kellaway and Armstrong to potentially come in.
Neither you mentioned are full time midfielders from what he have seen and that's exactly what we need A grade midfielders , that's a risk for me

Plenty of time for more mids, I think Hartley mentioned that we want to have a look this year at what our needs will be coming into next year where we are looking at hitting the player market pretty hard.

Smillie is basically a new recruit, Lalor missed half the year and Hotton only played 7 games, McAulliffe once fit adds another. Let them show their wares and see where we're at.

Robey and Grijl also fill needs and if the recruiters deem them as best available then we'll take them.

For those interested I’ve done the open rankings based on the rankings in media and the more prominent posters on drafts board. Also at end highest, lowest and were they ranked most often.

PlayerAverageTwomeyHsESPNSmythesRmcCraft of draftDyl AlexanderePDS/PascoeModeMaxMin
Duursma111111111111
CDT2.2522222242242
Robey3.37534534323352
Sharp4.37553345555553
XT4.7546453466463
Grlj6.62595668739693
Schubert76787687786
Cumming8.142857143111178106411114
Lindsay9.5714285717810121191010127
Farrow10.2857142989129912139138
Marsh11.42857143101213167111111167
Dovaston11.5141391315137813157
Greeves12.2857142912101510121017101710
Poo14.5714285713162011141414142011
NHH15.7142857115151119131621152111
Oskar15.8571428616181417161515151814

Grlj played midfield all through the Coates Talent League games only went to HB and the Champs and when he played VFL for us.

As far as possessions go sometimes players don't need to rack up 30 odd touches a game to have an impact. Grlj is someone who is in that mold, as he looks to use his run and carry to drive the ball forward quickly and efficiently

Plenty of time for more mids, I think Hartley mentioned that we want to have a look this year at what our needs will be coming into next year where we are looking at hitting the player market pretty hard.

Smillie is basically a new recruit, Lalor missed half the year and Hotton only played 7 games, McAulliffe once fit adds another. Let them show their wares and see where we're at.

Robey and Grijl also fill needs and if the recruiters deem them as best available then we'll take them.
I agree ... including Taranto and Hopper we have half a dozen players that there best position is in the centre ... Grjl, Cumming and Robey ( and Retschko ) best position is elsewhere but they can win clearance and be damaging around the ground ... they fit our list profile while Sharp does not despite being a better footballer than all 3

Hard agree mate.

I get some still have concerns around Grlj based on his possession count and impact at champs, but it’s incredibly rare to see an athlete like him who can kick and is a competitive / physical beast. Add his leadership into that mix and he’s starting to sound really bankable as a prospect. He’s the closest thing to Butters I’ve seen. Must pick.

Robey just seduces you with his potential. Likely to be 194cm once he’s finished growing, can play 3rd banana comfortably early doors and then midfield after 50-100 games. I keep picturing Lalor and Robey swapping and causing confusing to opposition defenders. It could be a real advantage, defenders always seem to struggle with those kind of matchups. Coaches could easily dictate things in the box with those tools in the toolbox

It has already been posted in the thread, but here it is again:

RICHMOND

Draft Picks Pre-Trade Period: 2, 3
Draft Picks Post-Trade Period: 3, 4, 38

The Tigers are holding on to their first two picks in this year’s draft – for now. List boss Blair Hartley said after the conclusion of the trade period that the club would “listen to offers”, with Essendon being among the sides looking to climb the order. But that doesn’t mean Richmond will trade either of those picks, with Hartley saying they are “pretty comfortable” with where they sit as they look to add some more high-end talent to their list. With West Coast being favoured to take Willem Duursma and Cooper Duff-Tytler with the first two picks, the Tigers may look to players like Eastern Ranges draft bolter Sullivan Robey, Central District onballer Dyson Sharp, Oakleigh Chargers speedster Sam Grlj and Eastern Ranges defender Xavier Taylor and. Grlj impressed for the Tigers in two VFL games late in the season, with VFL coach Jake Batchelor declaring he was “going to be a heck of a player”. Richmond is yet to fully commit to father-son prospect Louis Kellaway, but expectations are he will find his way to Punt Rd later in the draft.
Thanks can you please post this again for my future self to read

Grlj played midfield all through the Coates Talent League games only went to HB and the Champs and when he played VFL for us.

As far as possessions go sometimes players don't need to rack up 30 odd touches a game to have an impact. Grlj is someone who is in that mold, as he looks to use his run and carry to drive the ball forward quickly and efficiently
I would like to see more proof of damage.

at least NHH kicked 5 goals in a game etc.. and a lot of Joe the goose stats mean little

I mean our draft last year had already prevented us from going the North unbalanced draft model

Looking at our depth chart we clearly need mids more than any other position

I mean our draft last year had already prevented us from going the North unbalanced draft model

Looking at our depth chart we clearly need mids more than any other position
I still reckon we sorely need small forward talent and we’re gonna need to pull the trigger on a post-nank ruckman soon too

If the first 3 picks go as most expect (WC - Duursma CDT and Richmond with Robey) I can't see Essendon trading 5 and 6 for pick 4, or Melbourne trading 7 and 8 for our pick 4.

Picks 4 to 10 are pretty even. I don't think one of Sharp, Taylor, Grlj, Cumming Lindsay Schubert Farrow Marsh are worth two from the same group.

Robey and CDT on the other hand maybe worth two of those to some clubs.

I reckon Melb or Ess could offer 2 picks for our pick 3 to get Robey or CDT.

I agree ... including Taranto and Hopper we have half a dozen players that there best position is in the centre ... Grjl, Cumming and Robey ( and Retschko ) best position is elsewhere but they can win clearance and be damaging around the ground ... they fit our list profile while Sharp does not despite being a better footballer than all 3
Sharp can play elsewhere, lol. Sharp could really get the fans going such is his endeavour and help the likes of Taranto.

Where does Grji fit?? too many doubts with Grji for mine especially with a good pick and we would be crazy to waste good picks

We know Sharp can play in the guts, Sharp is as much in our premiership profile as anyone, he is far younger than Taranto and Hopper and can play forward and kick goals and be a menace elsewhere. He appears to be the sort of guy opposition will be thinking where is he?? I reckon the Richmond faithful would fall in love with Sharp and he could really suit our passionate base because they know he gives a crack and lifts the crowd.I reckon Sharp could love playing in front of the Richmond crowds

'half a dozen players whose best position is in the centre' really??? name them please!! Taranto could be one but he can kick goals. Nankervis, but he is our ruck