Opinion 2025 Picks 7* and 8* – who do you want?

Who do you want with Picks 7 and 8? (you can select up to four players)

Alright, back on track. I've whipped up a quick consensus again – will add the missing ones as they're made available.

I do appreciate his reports but I wouldn't be forming my own opinion based on that of one person
Take out the Langford crap and his reports were excellent last year

Side note, Nairn's kicking action is pretty strange – does weird things with his non-dominant arm. Seems effective though, so who really cares I guess.

Like Gryan Meirs strange?

Not quite - folds his non-ball-drop arm back towards his chest rather than rotating the shoulder/moving the arm away from the body like most do.

1763092449333.png

Known for his accuracy though, so obviously works.

Not quite - folds his non-ball-drop arm back towards his chest rather than rotating the shoulder/moving the arm away from the body like most do.

View attachment 2476641

Known for his accuracy though, so obviously works.
So like the footy version of Andre Nel.

Tracker updated with final Rookie Me power rankings + HS. Reminder that '31' is assigned for any draftee that wasn't in the top 30 of the respective rankings/mocks.

I didn't think you were knocking the Heath recruitment, but there's only so many spots on a list you can tie up in a ruck position which let's face it, unless you have a superstar like Gawn it's really not that impactful.

Gawn, Campbell (one more year surely), Heath and potentially Kalani White (who may be developed as a back or forward) is plenty. No room for Verrall, Heath effectively took his spot and IMO looks to be an upgrade.

If Verrall is good enough he will ply his trade in the VFL or back home in SA and be back in the AFL system shortly.
Campbell could have been gone this year. Next year will have to be it.

Kalani white will be years away from having a body ready to ruck in AFL.

Heath as well might need some time, I'm OK with him.

Maxy has to have two more years in him.

Re Verrall... I just think the club should have given him a run in the AFL just to see how he went, around 3/4 season. It wouldn't have hurt anything.

I didn't think you were knocking the Heath recruitment, but there's only so many spots on a list you can tie up in a ruck position which let's face it, unless you have a superstar like Gawn it's really not that impactful.

Gawn, Campbell (one more year surely), Heath and potentially Kalani White (who may be developed as a back or forward) is plenty. No room for Verrall, Heath effectively took his spot and IMO looks to be an upgrade.

If Verrall is good enough he will ply his trade in the VFL or back home in SA and be back in the AFL system shortly.

This boy might be worth a look into.?

RANK
Marcus Krasnadamskis
Eastern Ranges
Ruck/Forward
HEIGHT: 199cm
Eastern Ranges

"(I was going) to basketball training and games like, 'oh, I've got basketball' so it was like a chore but I've never really had footy sort of give me that sort of feeling," Krasnadamskis said.

"The banter around (footy) and like, everybody taking the piss, but genuinely caring about each other and being able to joke around (whereas) in a basketball setting, we could banter but it was a lot more serious.

"Not being able to play (footy last year) because of basketball commitments was really, really hard for me, I was quite gutted.

"My first game (for Eastern), that was probably a big step for me.

"I was just like, 'yes, I'm pretty happy with the decision that I made'."

The big man was part of the Ranges talent pathway in both 2023 as an U16s player, and 2024, but failed to play a game last year as basketball commitments took precedent.

So far away was footy at any level from Krasnadamskis' mind in pre-season that he wasn't even registered until February, and was only convinced to play local U19s footy by a mate at Berwick.

Like fellow Ranges bolter Sullivan Robey, Krasnadamskis wasn't on Eastern Ranges' roster entering 2025, given the basketball commitments, but the program kept tabs on him and invited him back in after six shining local games.

A conversation at Eastern Ranges' home base with talent lead Danny Ryan and coach Lauren Morecroft changed the Eastern prospect's course for 2025, and he hasn't looked back.

“When he left (the program) to pursue basketball, we always said to him that the door would be open for him to return,” Ryan said.

“We tracked him from afar and when we got wind he was back playing, we didn't even send a recruiter out to watch him, we just made the phone call to bring him in and see what he could do.

“When we had that conversation, I'll always remember the massive smile on his face.

“He was so excited to get the opportunity and then when the opportunity came for him to play, I think he had an even bigger smile on his face.

“He's a really untapped talent because he plays on natural instinct and has a step like a smaller midfielder.

“He's an excitement machine at his size and you see his basketball background come out when he gets the ball in traffic and he's not afraid to get down and dirty and crash and bash with the little fellas.”

The basketball resume is headlined by representation at the U20 Australian National Championships, Victoria's U18s at Shanghai in 2024, and a gold medal at the Australian School Championships for Berwick College last year.

Nah I agree with a lot of what you said. I'm just stating the alternate view because I think this idea that Jason Taylor is a gun recruiter is plain wrong. He is okay. But he's had a terrible few years.

- I'm okay with Windsor. He needs to tidy up his disposal. Something I got laughed at when I said it in his first year. But alas, it turned out to be spot on. His ball drop is awful. But he has speed and that's irreplaceable.

- JVR should be so much better than the trash he delivered this year. It doesn't help that he's our number 1 fwd but at the same time, be a professional, work on your craft and the expectation is that he should be holding onto his marks. I still hold out hope but geez, he's a hard watch.

- I agree, I'm being harsh on Howes. There were strong rumours we were going to take him like late first round though wasn't there. Not sure how true that was.

- And yeah, we just disagree on the Tauru thing. 90% of neutrals would take Tauru. He was amazing. Langford squibbed a few contests early on in the season whereas Tauru is basically Selwood in the air.

For anyone who bothered to watch this tripe about redrafting Taurus at 2 overall in a redraft and Langford staying at 5. They just did a who would you draft if the 2024 and 2025 draft crops were combined....

I'll save you watching it because they are all flogs and the beers they had did not help them keep on track. Same guys picked Langford ahead of Tauru this time. 2 extra panelists and they also went Harvey ahead, well ahead. All 4 guys picked him between 4-7 and this included academy/fsons being picked too.

Only did the top 10 and only 1 of them picked Tauru in it (at pick 10).

None of them are dees supporters.

For anyone who bothered to watch this tripe about redrafting Taurus at 2 overall in a redraft and Langford staying at 5. They just did a who would you draft if the 2024 and 2025 draft crops were combined....

I'll save you watching it because they are all flogs and the beers they had did not help them keep on track. Same guys picked Langford ahead of Tauru this time. 2 extra panelists and they also went Harvey ahead, well ahead. All 4 guys picked him between 4-7 and this included academy/fsons being picked too.

Only did the top 10 and only 1 of them picked Tauru in it (at pick 10).

None of them are dees supporters.
This was 'assuming you hadn't seen any of 2025'. That was the premise of the re-draft. Nice try though.

Zero Hanger has a Mock Draft that's come out. Has Melbourne taking Taylor, Nairn and Lindsay.

Two things though - They have us taking Lindsay via trading for Carlton's pick 11, and I think the reports this week were they had agreed to a deal with North? Plus, think we'd be more likely to take Pickett with that selection than Lindsay.

Zero Hanger has a Mock Draft that's come out. Has Melbourne taking Taylor, Nairn and Lindsay.

I really like Taylor and would be happy if he slipped through. If we were to make three high-end picks though, I'd hope we'd take at least one midfielder. A third-tall defender, a HB flanker and a third-tall/forward flanker is a bit meh for that amount of draft capital.

Opinion 2025 Picks 7* and 8* – who do you want?