List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 5

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Last edited by a moderator:
What’s the go with Will Phillips, is he still training with us?
Nah mate, was never training with us. I heard someone call out to him on the other side of the field, I heard it as Will but it was Bill.

The only Will I could think of with that profile was Will Phillips so I said it could be him. Someone else it might be (based on a photo) but turns out it was Billy McGee Galimberti - who is actually a pretty good footballer and will be very good for our VFL team.

Nah mate, was never training with us. I heard someone call out to him on the other side of the field, I heard it as Will but it was Bill.

The only Will I could think of with that profile was Will Phillips so I said it could be him. Someone else it might be (based on a photo) but turns out it was Billy McGee Galimberti - who is actually a pretty good footballer and will be very good for our VFL team.
I think Mitch Cleary ran with it too. Not that he’d ever get his primary intel from BF.

I reckon we'd have a bit of a hole in our list for small defenders if Stocker and/or Sincs went down.

We'd be very reliant on inexperienced guys like Hastie, Travaglia, LOC, or lose Nas in the midfield.

We are light on yes. However Clark is good in the backline, and if we play an extra tall in the backline Wilkie is capable of handling many small to medium forwards. Byrnes too will probably play when there is gap in the team including down back.

Windy can also be use down back and I expect that Windy will be a bit of a Mr Fixit in 2026 playing a variety of different roles/positions depending on the team we are playing. Tagger, Inside mid in his own right, wing and down back.

I reckon Voss is a good list fit and he's a Saints F/S who has done the hard yards and gotten results, but what would I know.
He certainly would be a reasonable option for us. Once Tex starts actually training he will be watched with great interest.

We are light on yes. However Clark is good in the backline, and if we play an extra tall in the backline Wilkie is capable of handling many small to medium forwards. Byrnes too will probably play when there is gap in the team including down back.

Windy can also be use down back and I expect that Windy will be a bit of a Mr Fixit in 2026 playing a variety of different roles/positions depending on the team we are playing. Tagger, Inside mid in his own right, wing and down back.

He certainly would be a reasonable option for us. Once Tex starts actually training he will be watched with great interest.
Voss's kicking is Brendon Goddard like

What's going on in the world?!?

Reuben Ginbey coming second in WCE best and fairest with 13 disposal average.

Callum Wilkie All Australian in 2024 with 17 disposal average.

GAMES GONE!

6671da78-d2fc-423c-82ba-d9d286b7df56_text.gif

Max Hudghton was a similar size and could play on any big forwards. I remember Buddy saying Max was one of his hardest opponents.

Any of them except for David Neitz.

Did my head in watching that bloke kick bombs from 50+ after beating Max on lead after lead...

Any of them except for David Neitz.

Did my head in watching that bloke kick bombs from 50+ after beating Max on lead after lead...
Neitz was the only one I can't remember Hudghton beating. Lloyd got him a few times but Max had his revenge in 2008.

Ripper fella Neita. His bar is my local so go there often. I did say to him he owed me a couple of beers for me having to watch him destroying one of my favourite players back in the day. He chuckled but no beer. Actually he's a pr*ck now it comes to it 😜 Nah...he's old school great footy person.

Wasn't he a Saints supporter?

Max Hudghton was a similar size and could play on any big forwards. I remember Buddy saying Max was one of his hardest opponents.
Loved Max, but i'm not sure he'd be as successful these days with intercept marks so crucial. He had a great team dynamic with Fisher though, ( who was around the same height and no slouch as a defender either ). Almost looked like Max was tapping to Chips sometimes.

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part V