Toast Welcome to Fremantle Leon Kickett - Pick 8 of the 2025 AFL Rookie Draft

I see this kid and just see Jeff Garlett. His weight never hindered him and he slotted 40 snags in his second year. If he has a monster pre season just play him! We need the flair! Also, what i notice is his thick neck. He will be fine!

Funnily enough, Jeffy was a rookie draft pick too...

Cousin of Dale and Derek. Love it.
Welcome to Freo, Leon. 😀
I don't want to add any extra pressure, but he is also related to Lance "Buddy" Franklin (his mum is a Kickett), Jeff and Jarod Garlett, Byron and Kosi Pickett, and Nicky Winmar and Leon Davis, on top of Dale and Derek Kickett.

The footballer bloodlines run deep with Leon.

This guy might be slept on with how much impact he could have next year, especially if Swit breaks down again. I know Fred was on top of most lists for that last rookie spot but I’d argue Leon is the better fit for our list.

Also fantastic to have a Kickett back in purple and a black ducks apprentice to replace Sonny

This guy might be slept on with how much impact he could have next year, especially if Swit breaks down again. I know Fred was on top of most lists for that last rookie spot but I’d argue Leon is the better fit for our list.

Also fantastic to have a Kickett back in purple and a black ducks apprentice to replace Sonny
Mate, he weighs 64kg and didn't do too well in the 2km trial. He's not playing until he puts on 10kg weight and develops AFL fitness. We need to have the tough convo from him day one, you won't be on a list in 3 years time unless you have the right discipline and ethic to succeed. Leon really needs a figure like Sonny to mentor him. He has so much talent but that's not enough these days. The sky is the limit for young Leon, it just depends on how much he wants it.

Mate, he weighs 67kg and didn't do too well in the 2km trial. He's not playing until he puts on weight and develops AFL fitness. We need to have the tough convo from him day one, you won't be on a list in 3 years time unless you have the right discipline and ethic to succeed. Leon really needs a figure like Sonny to mentor him. He has so much talent but that's not enough these days. The sky is the limit for young Leon, it just depends on how much he wants it.

He is not alone.

Pickett, Ryda Luka and maybe Dudley all need to work very hard if they want a long AFL career.

He is not alone.

Pickett, Ryda Luka and maybe Dudley all need to work very hard if they want a long AFL career.
Dudley has proven he is taking his second chance with both hands but yes, it applies to all of these names and the many that came before them like Benning, Western, Butters etc.

Mate, he weighs 67kg and didn't do too well in the 2km trial. He's not playing until he puts on weight and develops AFL fitness. We need to have the tough convo from him day one, you won't be on a list in 3 years time unless you have the right discipline and ethic to succeed. Leon really needs a figure like Sonny to mentor him. He has so much talent but that's not enough these days. The sky is the limit for young Leon, it just depends on how much he wants it.
I'm sure blokes thought the same thing about Isaiah's weight and height but that didn't stop him making an impact last year - not sure how these conclusions can be made for a crafty small forward who doesn't need much time on ground to make an impact.

Dudley wasn't even on the list until February this year and kicks 2 goals in the first quarter of Round 3 - anything can happen mate.

Mam oh man... So stoked we grabbed this kid -- his pedigree is just utter A grade. Soo hope he makes it.

And hear hear!! If there's ONE guy on this planet I really want to see coaching and leading the way at Freo for guys like Leon, it's Sonny. Literally cannot imagine a better guy to be out there working as a coach of our fantastic crop of small forwards. As a player, as a mentor and as a decent human being, Donny was just top shelf with all three in my eyes, and his captaincy of the indigenous all stars last year was recognition that was long overdue IMO.

Soooo hope Sonny sticks around and continues to live and embrace the second half of his footy dream -- quite frankly I dont think we've ever needed him around the club more than we do right now.
I think he would be a sensational coach/mentor for indigenous players and our forwards. He may have a higher ceiling in the coaching realm as well. An absolute leader whenever he was out there playing, training and going about his life.

Mate, he weighs 64kg and didn't do too well in the 2km trial. He's not playing until he puts on 10kg weight and develops AFL fitness. We need to have the tough convo from him day one, you won't be on a list in 3 years time unless you have the right discipline and ethic to succeed. Leon really needs a figure like Sonny to mentor him. He has so much talent but that's not enough these days. The sky is the limit for young Leon, it just depends on how much he wants it.
We've also got Che Wyatt and Roger Hayden at the club to help with his guidance. We could always get his WA hall of fame cousin Dale to have a chat also. Came into Claremont at 68kg and got in the gym and turned himself into a specimen. Took him 5 AFL clubs to figure it out, and would have loved to be a 1 club player. Hopefully Leon finds his way a little quicker...

He is almost the exact weight and height as Darcy Jones. All he needs to do is build a tank and he be just fine. The talent is there. Professional environment will sort him out.

Dudley has proven he is taking his second chance with both hands but yes, it applies to all of these names and the many that came before them like Benning, Western, Butters etc.

Dudley was in poor condition after his mid year break. At his height, he needs to have elite fitness.

Haven't seen him this year except one pic. He looked good but he is still on notice.

We've also got Che Wyatt and Roger Hayden at the club to help with his guidance. We could always get his WA hall of fame cousin Dale to have a chat also. Came into Claremont at 68kg and got in the gym and turned himself into a specimen. Took him 5 AFL clubs to figure it out, and would have loved to be a 1 club player. Hopefully Leon finds his way a little quicker...

Had not heard of Che Wyatt so I looked him up, impressive. It is great to know that Freo actually takes its indigenous and multicultural roots seriously and with respect.

The most exciting thing about those highlights is the closing speed and tackling with intent.

Just what we need to keep the pressure on the opposition from transitioning from our forward line.
I don't think he has a left foot when it comes to goal kicking so I hope it's something he works on.

What an exciting prospect, would fill the void left behind by Pickett if he develops into a gun. Love how he cleans up a player bigger then him to win the ball.

Excuse the blurry screen grab, but it shows his huge leap. I think I've heard him say he can dunk a basketball, which is very impressive for his height.

1764592449597.png

He is not alone.

But doesn't EVERY player selected have to work hard, twice as hard as they ever had.
Other than Dudley , all are kids that have not played regularly at WAFL level.
Give them a chance to settle.

Toast Welcome to Fremantle Leon Kickett - Pick 8 of the 2025 AFL Rookie Draft