Player Watch #32: Tom Sparrow

Post something interesting and I might hit the 'like' button for you, bozo!

Thanks dickhead. If you stop being Danster's lapdog at every opportunity maybe you'll get a like from me as well.

You've shown you're incapable of doing that though.
I chuckled heartily at both of those posts

Theboss has to be danster. Kudos to you Dan as the most elite ragebaiter on bigfooty. Truly the tom sparrow of trolling.

It’s funny how toxic this board is that people just can’t being themselves to enjoy anything someone on the team they ostensibly barrack for does because they’ve so thoroughly overcommitted to hating on that player.

Third most disposals, 13 contested possessions, 9 clearances and 1 goal 1 behind from a fringe forward-mid while maintaining 23 possession acts and 7 tackles is just a great game even without the context of a 43 point comeback, no need to hedge it. Only 70% TOG too.

what are you talking about ? how are you not grasping what I'm saying? 20+ cba's half a dozen times. half a dozen = 6. He's been in the league say 6 years. 6 years/6 times getting 20+ cba's = 1 per year on avg
Why the actual **** would you do that with the stats?

Nev was identifying the specific games where he had a lot of CBAs, as those are the games he had ample opportunity to step up and perform. In direct response to you saying "play him in his inside mid role with healthy CBAs".

Jesus Christ you're dense.

Why the actual **** would you do that with the stats?

Nev was identifying the specific games where he had a lot of CBAs, as those are the games he had ample opportunity to step up and perform. In direct response to you saying "play him in his inside mid role with healthy CBAs".

Jesus Christ you're dense.
huh? how do you not grasp my counter? Is 6 games in 6 years 'ample opportunity' to you? That's the very definition of not getting opportunity.

I'd be surprised if he even knew what the centre square looked like was after being shunned from there for most of his career. 'oh but he averages 1 per year'.

Don't get salty just because Sparrow is one of the first chosen every week. This is exactly like the ANB talk where a bunch of supporters wanted him dropped. For years. You need guys that chase and tackle. And we have about 3 players that do it naturally and instinctively.

Gotta laugh at danster, he's like a guy who's bet on black, doubled down. Then doubled again and again. Lost it all, mortgaged his house, got a second and started to look like Old gil. Then finally hits to get a win big enough to buy another drink and he's dancing around like he's won it all

Has had a few random good games before only to go back to his 12 disposal games at 55% DE as an inside mid the following week. Let’s not get too excited everyone.
back to back great games. What a surprise. 20+ cba's.

Young Redleg it's fine if you were behind the curve on Sparrow. The guy is a jet.

His tackling was elite today, nice to see him find the ball again. Him and Steele work really well together with Koz and Windsor giving us run on the outside.

back to back great games. What a surprise. 20+ cba's.

Young Redleg it's fine if you were behind the curve on Sparrow. The guy is a jet.
Mate I think you'll find that my thoughts on Sparrow have been echoed by about 99% of other posters on here. And I was very quick to give him credit last week and I included him in the votes for today.

No doubt he's been good the past two weeks but that doesn't erase how BOG ordinary he was for the vast majority of his career up until then.

Have fun yelling at the cloud.

Mate I think you'll find that my thoughts on Sparrow have been echoed by about 99% of other posters on here. And I was very quick to give him credit last week and I included him in the votes for today.

No doubt he's been good the past two weeks but that doesn't erase how BOG ordinary he was for the vast majority of his career up until then.

Hes a funny guy. Unlike Danster we prefer not to take an opinion of a player to our graves and will happily give credit when its due.

he's never been ordinary. He was top 10 in the bnf last year wasn't he. I think top 8 til round 16. You'd agree that he's played half fwd the majority of his career right? would you also agree that HF is the hardest position on the ground to play? Would you say in terms of defensive pressure that he's always been in our top 2 or 3, two-way runners in the team? Would you also agree that he stood up in the 2021 Granny with clutch goals?

I genuinely feel like you're only looking at his disposal tally? Put anyone at HF and their disposal count will take a serious hit.

Hes a funny guy. Unlike Danster we prefer not to take an opinion of a player to our graves and will happily give credit when its due.

Think the difference is most normal people would like to be proven wrong on a whipping boy - I'm all for Sparrow randomly becoming a solid B grader and making me look silly for potting him for years.

His tackling was elite today, nice to see him find the ball again. Him and Steele work really well together with Koz and Windsor giving us run on the outside.
Windsor with 7 tackles as well and a (Sparrow equal) 19 pressure acts. Plus, also lead us for intercepts. Outside mid with defensive pressure :muscle:

he's never been ordinary. He was top 10 in the bnf last year wasn't he. I think top 8 til round 16. You'd agree that he's played half fwd the majority of his career right? would you also agree that HF is the hardest position on the ground to play? Would you say in terms of defensive pressure that he's always been in our top 2 or 3, two-way runners in the team? Would you also agree that he stood up in the 2021 Granny with clutch goals?

I genuinely feel like you're only looking at his disposal tally? Put anyone at HF and their disposal count will take a serious hit.
First, he did NOT finish in the top 10 in our B and F last year. That's just factually incorrect. And the fact that he didn't crack our top 10 furthers my point that he has been BOG ordinary because we literally only won 7 games and we had a very short list of players who were even half decent last year.

The fact that he has allegedly played half forward makes his career look even more underwhelming given that he has never kicked more than 11 goals in a season and has only taken 20 contested marks in his entire career.

Being a 'two way runner' doesn't count for much if you're just running like a headless chook most matches and barely finding the ball.

I like how you mention his 'clutch goals' in the 21 GF when he literally only kicked 1 (another factual error from you). And bringing up something that happened 5 years ago gives your argument zero credibility. You might as well say that Oliver is still an elite player if you want to die on that hill. I'd say that these past two games are the only performances from Sparrow which give me any indication that he's made the slightest progress since 2021.

Anyway, congrats to him for stepping up over the past fortnight and I hope this form continues.

“Never been ordinary” 😂

First, he did NOT finish in the top 10 in our B and F last year. That's just factually incorrect. And the fact that he didn't crack our top 10 furthers my point that he has been BOG ordinary because we literally only won 7 games and we had a very short list of players who were even half decent last year.

The fact that he has allegedly played half forward makes his career look even more underwhelming given that he has never kicked more than 11 goals in a season and has only taken 20 contested marks in his entire career.

Being a 'two way runner' doesn't count for much if you're just running like a headless chook most matches and barely finding the ball.

I like how you mention his 'clutch goals' in the 21 GF when he literally only kicked 1 (another factual error from you). And bringing up something that happened 5 years ago gives your argument zero credibility. You might as well say that Oliver is still an elite player if you want to die on that hill. I'd say that these past two games are the only performances from Sparrow which give me any indication that he's made the slightest progress since 2021.

Anyway, congrats to him for stepping up over the past fortnight and I hope this form continues.
it's not factually incorrect as I asked a question. I think he was 8th after Round 16.

The fact of the matter is that supporters like you wanted him dropped because you couldn't see the bigger picture which was that he has been playing out of his best role. Instead, you'd prefer to yell at the selectors to drop him instead of yelling at the coaches to change his role.

He also set up Fritch's first goal in the granny. Fritsch marked it on the line though. Anyway don't get salty just because Sparrow is producing really good footy and he's shut supporters up that didn't believe he had this level of footy in him.

And if you're going to be balanced, why aren't you saying for guys like Windsor to be out of the team, or Lever, who is literally the pin up for poster boy for headless chookery. Anyway, Sparrow has been in the votes the last 2 games so don't come at me if he has a quite game because his form has bought himself a lot of time. And whilst he's finding more of the ball, that's not how I measure his form, it's his workmate and that's never changed.