"So, how have you coped?"

Bee

Nov 6, 2000
In your bonnet!
Just before Christmas I caught up with an old colleague from Melbourne whom I hadn't seen since leaving there 6 years ago.
We had lunch (well okay it was a piss up) and one of the first things he asked me was, "So, how have you coped in the last 5 or 6 years?"
I knew he wasn't asking how I'd coped with the move to a new city, new job or getting married.
No, I knew exactly what he meant! He wanted to know how I had coped as a Carlton supporter over the last few years.
Being a Swans fan (an old South Melbourne by) I reckoned he had some gloating rights, so I wasn't about to give him the satisfaction of letting him know how bad it had been.
Instead I mumbled something about riding out the storm and having no option but to sit back and take all the crap that was dished out to me. Although I added that I drew the line at putting up with a St Kilda work mate who thought she had the art of arrogance down pat! Huh! Bimbo, arrogance is earned and St Kilda are a long way from that.

So, how have I really coped? It hasn't been pretty that's for sure.
There is so much that I can't forgive, or forget.
Never, ever will I forgive all those who danced on our grave, or all of those who actually hoped we would fold. How the hell could anyone, who is a true lover of this game, hope to see a club fold? It beggars belief!
The delight they showed as we went from one horror to another or the sheer spite they spat at us with their hate fuelled vitriol.
No, I will never be able to forgive them, nor will I ever forget it.

I can also never forget my tears of frustration, the hurt and pain of watching this great club being brought to it's knees.
The total despair of thinking we'd finally reached rock bottom only to be mortified that we could drop even lower.
And that God awful gut wrenching feeling that this nightmare would never end.
Some things are so painful that they can never be forgotten.

In the past I have given financially to other clubs in crisis.
Back in the days when Footscray were in dire straits my family dug deep to help them. The last thing we wanted to see was them fold. We all felt the pain of the Doggies supporters.
I've helped North Melbourne, Melbourne and even bloody Richmond!
Everytime a club was in trouble I'd imagine how bad it must feel to think that something you love with your heart and soul could possibly be in danger of no longer being there.
I never wished 'closure' on any club. I still wouldn't.

But this has hardened me. I still reel everytime I think that supporters from those very same clubs I had helped out, and felt for in the past, could have so much hatred for the Carlton Football Club they'd wish us dead!
Not ever again will one cent come from this little black duck.
From now on when they are in trouble they can bloody well get themselves out of it!
It's left me angry, bitter and scarred.
These last 6 years have taken their toll, but through it all my love for the Carlton Football Club has never waived in fact, if possible, it has strengthened and deepened.
When we are back, and we will be back, I can't wait to kick their sorry, pathetic arses until they bleed.
The glory, the strength, the power and the arrogance that is the Carlton Football Club will return and when it does it's pay back time. But I will never ever forgive, nor forget!

So, how have you coped?

I still love the club to death.

Hard to believe its been 13 years since I was in the top deck of the southern stand cheering on our sweet sixtenth:(

Will need to pinch myself when we start to become a good team again, as the last 6 years have been draining!

Hopefully 2008 is the beginning of the road to success :thumbsu:

From now on when they are in trouble they can bloody well get themselves out of it!
These last 6 years have taken their toll, but through it all my love for the Carlton Football Club has never waived in fact, if possible, it has strengthened and deepened.
When we are back, and we will be back, I can't wait to kick their sorry, pathetic arses until they bleed.
The glory, the strength, the power and the arrogance that is the Carlton Football Club will return and when it does it's pay back time. But I will never ever forgive, nor forget!

Awesome post.

I'm with you Bee, the last 6 years have been impossible, cruel even. I've had to close my heart a little just to survive. I feel terrible for doing it, but it was the only way for me. I still supported the Blues of course but just didnt ever hold out hope for wins.

And while talking about sinning, I have to admit something, something terrible. For the last 3 years I have been tipping against Carlton almost every week in the work tipping competition, I feel awful!

Only now, with the dawning of 2008 and new hope do I suddenly feel Carlton have hope. Just the fact that Carlton will be competitive for the first time, not finals bound mind you, but at least competitive is enough to again open my heart to believe! In fact, I think round 1 2008 will become known as Independence Day (LOL) as we finally start to fight back!

Ok, i'm starting to waffle, but its been years

Good post Bee - would be a lot harder to stomach the last 6 years should there not be a massive ray of light on the horizon....

As for other supporters and their feelings towards the Blues - most of this sporns out of envy of our success over the years although I do believe deep down that most TRUE supporters would hate to see any of the Vic clubs go down the gurgler. This being said however there are always those tossers who are the opposite extreme!!!

I for one, can't stand Bumbers, Filth and Ninthmond but would hate to see any of them disappear from the landscape. Too much history and rivalry - who then would we bag about lost grand finals, prelims, etc.

It must have been sometime in 05 that I first realized I was going to games with no expectation of a win. It was a ****ing awful realization after I had been deluded enough to believe we were back after the 10 wins of 04.

Now I was just hoping like everyone that we could "be competitive". How pathetic. It was the young kids that got me through and unfortunately I have to say JK was one who I had real hopes for. This year it is Bryce who I will be most focusing on for my vengeful entertainment.

We have had 5 or 6 years in the wilderness. Imagine what it has been like for supporters of the Dogs and Saints? I'm not asking for people to have any compassion - just try to comprehend no expectation of winning for several decades. Any wonder St Kilda fans no longer recognize the sound of a premiership window closing.

Fine. We've had a temporary blip primarily due to the largest draft penalties in the history of the game, and now look like coming back bigger and stronger than ever. I remember the steely resolve in the players after their 1993 GF loss, which was a massive motivator for their 1995 flag win. This minor hardship is going to be a similar motivator. We are setting ourselves up for another multi-flag success era, and everyone knows it. Hence the humorous escalating bitter bleatings from the not-important non-Carlton Clubs and their supporters. What is interesting is that over the past 10 years or so, the large cohort of borderline-viable-success-less minor Victorian Clubs, have received massive financial and draft handouts (e.g. StKilda) and yet are still successless. Meanwhile the Blues have received penalties that would have put almost every other Club out of existence, and now we are still bouncing back. The point is, we have a deeply ingrained, unshakable flag-oriented success culture. And nothing will ever take that away from us. We view flags as our right, not a hope. :)

Not sure I totally agree.

I have been to games with saints fans and had them "IN MY FACE" , and although it sucks, you kind of know you deserve it after all those years. In some ways it was the fall we had to have.

Lets hope we learned from it.

The fans on this sight have been appalling, however age may have a fair bit to do with this. Kind of always knew we would turn the corner, but thought we were still a couple of years away until we landed Judd, (my blind enthusiasm aside).

I am at the stage now where I just want to see us play good footy, sure I want to see us so good that we destroy other teams by 100 points, but not because I want to smash them, I just need to see us play well...consistently.

[It's left me angry, bitter and scarred.

So, how have you coped?[/quote]

My goodness Bee.I would have voted you for PM with speaches like that.
I too hated to see the club on and off the field act so badly. And yes I have developed thick skin.But it has strengthened me! I have become as active with the club as I can especially the local WABlues. My two young daughters are members purely to make a donation to the club.
It has made me more passionate for Carlton and more passionate about disliking other teams!
I think revenge will be sweet when it comes.
Thanks for stating everything I have been feeling for the last 7 years
Onwards and upwards

Never, ever will I forgive all those who danced on our grave, or all of those who actually hoped we would fold. How the hell could anyone, who is a true lover of this game, hope to see a club fold? It beggars belief!
The delight they showed as we went from one horror to another or the sheer spite they spat at us with their hate fuelled vitriol.

As much as I hate Carlton, I never wanted them to fold. I want them to stay near the bottom of the ladder for a while longer, but I'd like to eventually see them at the other end when the Tigers are back there, too.

Apologies if opposition supporters are not welcome in this thread. Please don't card me. :p

The abuse we have been getting has not stopped but all of a sudden I have.
Now when people give me crap about Pratt, tanking, Judd etc I just can not help but get an evil grin on my face.
As George Kostanza said so well in Seinfeld
WE'RE BACK BABY WE'RE BACK

i have been dissapointed, but not disgusted. it certainly taught me alot about this club, to not take things for granted ive certainly became more passionate as a result, because your always talking about ways to improve and become better.

i will never forget a game at optus oval in 2001 when we beat West Coast by 119 points. we were talking to friends about the game that night saying how we didnt play well enough and we should have won by more cos we kicked 21.23. these are things that we took for granted and we must not go back the ways we use to think!

It must have been sometime in 05 that I first realized I was going to games with no expectation of a win. It was a ****ing awful realization after I had been deluded enough to believe we were back after the 10 wins of 04.

Now I was just hoping like everyone that we could "be competitive". How pathetic. It was the young kids that got me through and unfortunately I have to say JK was one who I had real hopes for. This year it is Bryce who I will be most focusing on for my vengeful entertainment.

We have had 5 or 6 years in the wilderness. Imagine what it has been like for supporters of the Dogs and Saints? I'm not asking for people to have any compassion - just try to comprehend no expectation of winning for several decades. Any wonder St Kilda fans no longer recognize the sound of a premiership window closing.

That hss been the hardest thing for me to come to grips with as an Essendon supporter. I don't want to give away my age but let's just say that i was a younster when i started following the Dons in the mid 80's and apart from an odd poor season here or there i had never experienced a bad period for the club. Every year i would always expect that Essendon were half a chance to win the flag and would atleast make the finals. It was such a weird feeling and quite frustrating to finally realize that we would most likely lose games. At first i kept telling myself it was an abberation and we would come good like we always did in the past but the realization finally kicked in. Although it is still tough i think it is not such a bad thing to experience this because i think i have always been spoilt as a supporter of the Essendon football club. I am optimistic that within a few years we will be back up there where we belong but i no longer take anything fro granted.

Great post by the Mod btw. I actually would love to see Essendon, Carlton, Collingwood and Richmond all strong again at the same time. How awesome would it be to have these 4 clubs playing off in the prelims? :thumbsu::cool:

although i only started following carlton heaps (as in going every week in melb) about 3-5 years ago..... i just turned 14 btw.... i think it is so sad that the biggest win i have ever seen is 39 points........ against port this year.. and that was one of the nights of my life watching the blueboyz tear it up......... i cant wait till we have success because i have never experinced it..and when we win no.17 ill know what i got myself into when i picked the blues as my team.....and it will be absoloutley beautiful

So what made you choose the Baggers?

now this is quite a cool post :thumbsu::thumbsu:
Believe me...... It is a great experience to go through (especially winning a GF & going back to princes park for the celebration afterwards......
but also...... winning any game by a heap gives a wonderful Buzz & lift of spirits as well :D

That hss been the hardest thing for me to come to grips with as an Essendon supporter. I don't want to give away my age but let's just say that i was a younster when i started following the Dons in the mid 80's and apart from an odd poor season here or there i had never experienced a bad period for the club. Every year i would always expect that Essendon were half a chance to win the flag and would atleast make the finals. It was such a weird feeling and quite frustrating to finally realize that we would most likely lose games. At first i kept telling myself it was an abberation and we would come good like we always did in the past but the realization finally kicked in. Although it is still tough i think it is not such a bad thing to experience this because i think i have always been spoilt as a supporter of the Essendon football club. I am optimistic that within a few years we will be back up there where we belong but i no longer take anything fro granted....

Um.. do you really think any Carlton supporter is interested in the fortunes of the Essendon Football Club? Think you posted in the wrong place. Anyway, while you're here watch this and this and of course this. Enjoy. :)

Parrot. That was uncalled for.

Beautiful as ever parrot.
I can see why there was a heated discussion about you on Bay13
Keep rustling those feathers!
I did not want to spoil the feel good nature of the thread but hats off to you!

Parrot you really show your age (12-16) with most of your posts.

I find it ironic that you come up with such a post when you consider the topic/point of this thread.

As a football follower i found it very interesting reading the OP's thread and also all of the posts from the Blues supporters to get a perspective on how they have coped through some tough times.

I would like to think that the more mature Blues supporters would show some interest in how supporters from other clubs have coped during tough times.

Would you like me to congratulate you for beating us once last year? The reason i ask this is because i noticed that you love to put the youtube link for this game in many of your posts, even

when it has absolutely no relevence to the topic at hand. It was a fantastic come from behind victory......Are you happy now? I hope when mum tells you it is bed time tonight it will give you a

better nights rest. :thumbsu:

Parrot you really show your age (12-16) with

For a bloke that only joined in Dec you think you know parrot and other Blues fans well.
Parrot is one the most respected of our crew and was not exactly wrong.
The Carlton FC member sticker recently was "Just beat the Bombers again" or words to that effect. That victory this year over Ess was a great moment and the type of thing that keeps us going.I will celebrate it for ever more.As for what we consider about other teams fans and their opinions: well we value our own more!

So, how have I really coped? It hasn't been pretty that's for sure.

I can also never forget my tears of frustration, the hurt and pain of watching this great club being brought to it's knees.
The total despair of thinking we'd finally reached rock bottom only to be mortified that we could drop even lower.
And that God awful gut wrenching feeling that this nightmare would never end.
Some things are so painful that they can never be forgotten.

In the past I have given financially to other clubs in crisis.
Back in the days when Footscray were in dire straits my family dug deep to help them. The last thing we wanted to see was them fold. We all felt the pain of the Doggies supporters.
I've helped North Melbourne, Melbourne and even bloody Richmond!
Everytime a club was in trouble I'd imagine how bad it must feel to think that something you love with your heart and soul could possibly be in danger of no longer being there.
I never wished 'closure' on any club. I still wouldn't.

But this has hardened me. I still reel everytime I think that supporters from those very same clubs I had helped out, and felt for in the past, could have so much hatred for the Carlton Football Club they'd wish us dead!

As much as I hate Carlton, I would never want to see them fold. I see Carlton being one of our biggest rivals and one of the things that makes the AFL interesting is the rivalry that clubs develop against each other.

Obviously I like any game that we win, but getting a victory against Carlton or Collingwood always feels better than winning against other teams.

But I doubt that Carlton was ever in any danger of folding anyway. With the supporter base the Blues have it would be a disaster for the AFL if they folded. So I doubt the AFL would have let it go that far.

For almost 1/3 of my life I have seen Carlton suffer. Just imagine what's that like :p. Too young to remember the '95 GF and the '99 Prelim seem's almost like a fading dream. I haven't been to a final since our last one in 2001 vs. Adelaide (.....I think it was against them. Just goes to show how long it's been)

What keeps a little happiness inside me, is the fact that during the worst period in our clubs history, the scum, filth, aints and all the other wannabe Carlton's haven't made any additions to their trophy cabinets.

We are Carlton, **** the rest.

"So, how have you coped?"