Carlton 2008 Player Rankings

Based on 2007 form, demonstrated ability and predicting their worth to the side in 2008, this is how I rank our full list.

1. Judd
2. Fevola
3. Stevens
4. Waite
5. Simpson
6. Scotland
7. Murphy
8. Walker
9. Fisher
10. S O'hAilpin
11. Carrazzo
12. Houlihan
13. Thornton
14. Gibbs
15. Cloke
16. Betts
17. Hampson
18. Jamison
19. Jackson
20. Bentick
21. Bower
22. Hadley
23. Russell
24. Bannister
25. Grigg
26. Armfield
27. Austin
28. Kreuzer
29. A O'hAilpin
30. Saddington
31. Anderson
32. Wiggins
33. Ackland
34. Hartlett
35. Benjamin
36. Pfeiffer
37. Edwards
38. Blackwell
39. Browne
40. Jacobs
41. Shields
42. Joseph
43. Hill
44. Ellard

This is not a ranking of ability. Some are on their way down while others are on their way up. Some will impact more because of their position depth while some will need some luck or injury to get in there.

Controversial, going out there ODN.

Based on 2007 form Stevens played three games, was he significant because he wasn't there?

What about 2008 expectations.....this would be an interesting comparison.

Not too much wrong with that list ODN. Reckon Grigg might surprise a few this year. Has been training really well, and looks a million bucks out on the track. The other one that might surprise is Armfield. Is ferocious (sp?) on the track, and I have this very nice feeling that we might have found a player here.

Is this based on ability (on-field output) or importance to the team? If on ability, i'd say it looks pretty good, perhaps Fisher above Walker... If it's on importance to the team... Hampson is right up there, a good ruckman would make a massive difference...
Ability, 2007 form and expected importance for 2008.

Hampson's ability has been shown in glimpses, 2007 form fleeting at the top level, expected to impact further in 2008 but still developing. Having him in our best 22 is testiment to expectations.

Stevo started 2007 in red hot form and we missed him greatly. Has the ability and expectations for 2008 covered.

Based on 2007 form Stevens played three games, was he significant because he wasn't there?

What about 2008 expectations.....this would be an interesting comparison.

Based on 2007 form, demonstrated ability and predicting their worth to the side in 2008, this is how I rank our full list.

It's a combination of factors.

1. Judd
2. Fevola
3. Stevens
4. Waite
5. Simpson
6. Scotland
7. Murphy
8. Walker
9. Fisher
10. S O'hAilpin
11. Carrazzo
12. Houlihan
13. Thornton
14. Gibbs
15. Cloke
16. Betts
17. Hampson
18. Jamison
19. Jackson
20. Bentick
21. Bower
22. Hadley
23. Russell
24. Bannister
25. Grigg
26. Armfield
27. Austin
28. Kreuzer
29. A O'hAilpin
30. Saddington
31. Anderson
32. Wiggins
33. Ackland
34. Hartlett
35. Benjamin
36. Pfeiffer
37. Edwards
38. Blackwell
39. Browne
40. Jacobs
41. Shields
42. Joseph
43. Hill
44. Ellard

This is not a ranking of ability. Some are on their way down while others are on their way up. Some will impact more because of their position depth while some will need some luck or injury to get in there.

Can't really fault your summation at all. Maybe Gibbs and Hadley could be a few slots lower but other than that it is spot on.

ODN i think you were a little harsh on carrazzo, he should be higher than 11.

and my personal opinion is that Cloke is over-rated, but i can understand why he is positioned #15 overall.

I think Aaron Joseph is more skilled than Shieldsy:D.
None have 2007 form, ability is non-existent or at a junior level not good enough to be put on a main list and on 2008 potential, well Shields is more physically developed. It is all fairly subjective down that end of the list.

ODN i think you were a little harsh on carrazzo, he should be higher than 11.

Was expecting disagreement there. Has ultimate 2007 form but I expect his importance to the side will diminish from main ball winner to even contributor and his level of skill means he will not be in our best 3-4 midfielders. This may not happen but with Judd and Stevens, something has to give.

and my personal opinion is that Cloke is over-rated, but i can understand why he is positioned #15 overall.
Yup, mainly because he is our first choice ruckman unless we want Ackland in there. His competitive spirit also takes him up a few notches.

I'd have Murphy ahead of Simmo if you are talking 2008.

This is based on your criteria of

That's about all i got. The list is pretty much spot on.
But based on 2007 form and Simmo's demonstrated leadership abilities, he got the nod. I rated Murph much higher last year but went off too early on the young fella. Expecting consistency and quality ball from him this year, anything more than that is a bonus.

ODN your pretty spot on, but theres a couple of horror decisions in there.

Why is armfield higher than Kruezer?

Why is Blackwell lower than multiple players we have yet to even see?

A.O'hailpin at 29 is heavily overrated.

Carrazzo behind guys like Simpson, Walker and S.O'hailpin when hes obviously the better player that had the better season

Carrazzo would easily be in mosts top 5

Good to see you also got Scotland relatively high, he may get alot of cheap stats but he really does set up the play and he takes alot of courageous marks in the backline

That list is pretty much right on the money

No such thing as a horror decision in a subjective exercise such as this.

Mature aged, fills a role we have no obvious standout for, speed and strength. Kreuzer, 2008 is a learning curve for him and we should have no expectations. How many 18 year old ruckmen come in and have an impact in their first season?

He is a pure midfielder and is way behind most of the other midfielders so it is hard to see him playing a lot next year. Needs a giant leap in form and needs to overtake a few. Team balance and depth are very much a factor.

Will make his debut at some point and his athleticism is expected to stand out. Will be competing with Hampson for that young ruckman spot to back up Cloke. Hampson is rightly in front based on the finish to 2007. If one or two injuries occur, Aisake is in there.

Carrazzo behind guys like Simpson, Walker and S.O'hailpin when hes obviously the better player that had the better season
Had the better season, not sure at all that he is the better player. Simpson is more skilled, that is quite clear and is a potential gamebreaker. Walker is taller, faster, stronger and has that x factor. Setanta is a key position player, can not compare. I have spelt out several times the criteria but people are choosing one criteria in order to say something is wrong. You must take into account all 3 criteria.

I will not be basing anything on a B&F when our midfield was weakened. Many rated Teague too high after his B&F and McKernan was another good example of remain calm in relation to B&F winners. Carrazzo is a machine, a ball magnet, a team man, plenty of things. His hurt factor is not as high as the others you mentioned though and I expect that with Judd and Stevens coming into the side, his influence should be curtailed somewhat. Does not mean I do not rate him however.

Good to see you also got Scotland relatively high, he may get alot of cheap stats but he really does set up the play and he takes alot of courageous marks in the backline
His experience and willingness to take on the play in those vital moments has earned my respect. He is not an A grade midfielder but he is a decent B grader with a bit of heart.

The Bombers have now done this as well. Interesting to match up the two lists in terms of ranking.

1. Judd
2. Fevola
3. Stevens
4. Waite
5. Simpson
6. Scotland
7. Murphy
8. Walker
9. Fisher
10. S O'hAilpin
11. Carrazzo
12. Houlihan
13. Thornton
14. Gibbs
15. Cloke
16. Betts
17. Hampson
18. Jamison
19. Jackson
20. Bentick
21. Bower
22. Hadley
23. Russell
24. Bannister
25. Grigg
26. Armfield
27. Austin
28. Kreuzer
29. A O'hAilpin
30. Saddington
31. Anderson
32. Wiggins
33. Ackland
34. Hartlett
35. Benjamin
36. Pfeiffer
37. Edwards
38. Blackwell
39. Browne
40. Jacobs
41. Shields
42. Joseph
43. Hill
44. Ellard

1. Lloyd
2. Lucas
3. Fletcher
4. McVeigh
5. Stanton
6. Michael
7. Davey
8. McPhee
9. Watson
10. Hille
11. Ryder
12. Welsh
13. Winderlich
14. Lovett
15. Laycock
16. Monfries
17. Lovett-Murray
18. Gumbleton
19. Slattery
20. Peverill
21. Nash
22. Jetta
23. Dempsey
24. Dyson
25. Johnson
26. Hislop
27. Ramanauskis
28. Houli
29. Riemers
30. Neagle
31. Johns
32. Hocking
33. Lonergan
34. Lee
35. Myers
36. Pears
37. Daniher
38. Hooker

Thats some funny stuff there, you having a lend ?

Carrazzo before last season was on par, even below bentick. We had year of totally unaccountable footy with no stevens.

Walker, quite simply eats carrazzo for breakfast mate. Not in the same galaxy.
I would like to see carrazzo on lloyd, ......

Oh carazzo is not aback you say, darn right...he is a dime a dozen inside mid who isn't a patch ont eh players you mentioned.

Right now after his BF win I would place him as our most overrated player on the list. No doubt he has improved, and may continue.

Essndons top 3 players are 30+, or about to turn 30. Not sure how old McVeigh is though.

I noticed that too HBF, not to mention Michael in the top 10

Davey, the short, one-trick pony who will get found out this year, at #7 is a joke, I would be very concerned about my list if Alwyn Davey was ranked at #7

Definitely wouldn't call them shockers. I'd have Armfield higher than Kreuzer - has been playing footy in the WAFL for a few years and at 21 is physically ready for AFL footy.

Blackwell, I'd be surprised if he played more than a few games - and only then if we're struck by injury to the midfield. Can't see him lasting beyond 2009.

O'hAilpin, tough one to call. Could probably go either way.

Carrazzo, while he had a very good year, I believe is overrated by some. His possessions were largely ineffective going sideways a lot of the time. I'd without a doubt have Simpson above him, and Walker to a lesser extent due to both being more damaging and attacking players with Simpson IMO already ahead of Carrots and Walker prior to the injury against Hawthorn (after which he struggled with form and injury) was probably on a par with him - not to mention both having far greater upside. Whilst he had a better season then Setanta did, if Setanta is able to hold down a KPP he'd be more valuable to the side then a workhorse midfielder in Carrots. At best, I'd have him at tenth.

Scotland call I agree with, showed a lot of courage in defense chopping off attacking players, something I thought he added to his game this season and thus increasing his value to the team.

So going on the top 22 in that list the team looks like...

B: M.Jamison S.O'hAilpin B.Thornton
HB: H.Scotland J.Waite A.Walker
C: K.Simpson M.Murphy A.Carrazzo
HF: R.Hadley B.Fisher B.Gibbs
F: R.Houlihan B.Fevola E.Betts
R: C.Cloke C.Judd N.Stevens
I/C: S.Hampson R.Jackson A.Bentick P.Bower