Tom Mitchell, recovering from a broken leg and now a Hawk until the end of 2023

• Thread starter Thread starter Numtums

Strange comparison considering he went in the 1st round of the draft. Any player we choose would have been overlooked in the most recent draft.
The year before so was Kelly, Brown few years before the same, there's playing running around now that will go in the top 40 in future drafts.

One thing I've noticed taking with people they seem to forget we recruited Wingard last year, that's more than 75% of Mitchell covered right there let alone JOM's continued improvement, even with out Mitchell I'd say our Midfield if everyone gets on the park should be better than last years.

I know I’m echoing a few comments on this thread ..... but losing Tom, whilst a serious challenge, is not necessarily a disaster.
It’s a clarion call to all the players to cover for him!!

Admittedly Tom did the job of 2 midfielders, but we have some real quality who’ll now be focused to go to the next level and cover for him.
Worpel, of course, and Cousins - hopefully not too much of Wingard because he’d a gun forward, playing the role as a Breust forward.
Plus Morrison - and Dylan Moore is extremely promising. I’m really confident that JOM will continue on from his last dozen games in 2018.

And Howe can lift for the challenge especially after his difficulties last year - you can guess what the coaches are saying to him right now.

Some of these guys have come off a sensational Box Hill final series and I’ll be gobsmacked if they haven’t come out of that campaign with enormous confidence. Frankly i cant recall a better VFL final series from any side over the last few decades. I’m sure that really means something.

But the real bonus is that, hopefully, we’ll be praising the other Mitchell who, in a very short time, has demonstrated that he’s a freaking genius midfield coach. Don’t forget that West Coast was shot last year when they lost Sheed in the run up to the finals. Sam reconstructed their midfield and clearance strategies and they decimated Sidebottom, Treloar, Pendlebury and Adams in the grand final.

I’m quietly confident in 2019 sans our dual B&F champ.

I wonder if Clarko will be tempted to play Wingard in the guts the majority of the year now

There is a part of me that loves the idea but on the other hand would rather blood some youngsters all year to fast track them for 2020 when we get Mitchell back and Cogs (I can dream)

Mate why would anyone do that when the usual posters who seem to relish in us doing poorly have been blessed with a head-start this year.

Still shattered for us and for Tom personally - but consoling myself that it could be an opportunity for one of our kids to step up or to recruit a state league player who could be this year's Tim Kelly.

I am hoping that we are at least inviting Mitch Grigg to train with us, does anyone know if we have gone down this path? Grigg I have no doubt steps into the AFL system and grabs the footy 20+ times a game, it's just a knock on what he does with it but I don't Tim Kelly hitting everyone and sundry lace out.

Can't wait for this time next year when the brain trust of bigfooty tell us all that Mitchell won't make us a better side in 2020.

He will be an amazing quality of player that makes us a bottom 4 side with injury but does not improve us when he comes back.

I wonder if Clarko will be tempted to play Wingard in the guts the majority of the year now

There is a part of me that loves the idea but on the other hand would rather blood some youngsters all year to fast track them for 2020 when we get Mitchell back and Cogs (I can dream)
I suspect he will. I'm guessing a younger mid will come in and play a bunch of forward line minutes, or Moore can get his chance up forward. Either way Wingard plays mostly in the midfield.

He will be an amazing quality of player that makes us a bottom 4 side with injury but does not improve us when he comes back.
Just an Bigfooty contradiction.

Finally had a few days to process the news. It's still ruined any expectation or hope I had for the season.

I looked last week and relished at all the games I'll be able to watch this year due to the heavy Sunday games fixtured. Part of the excitement was watching Tom grind all day and out smart people around the stoppages. It will be interesting to see what happens from here and what Clarko and Sam come up with though. Get well soon Tom.

Maybe I’m really searching for the rainbow, but hopefully Tom also getting intensive time with Sam around the coaching box will help Tom’s game and also make him an even better leader on field for the midfield group as he will have a near perfect knowledge of strategies.

Past experience suggests that guys with broken legs tend to struggle during the season they return to footy.
So, TOM is out for 2019 and may not get back to AA form until 2021 - at the earliest.
I would say that past experiences suggest that clubs have bought players back too early and hence they struggle. Nathan Brown said he should have waited another six months and you could see Fyfe struggling with his leg. I can see him returning to his best about halfway through next season if they get the rehab right and don't try and "rush" him back.

I totally agree with this. If you could get a a silver lining from the injury then the fact it has occurred 2 months prior to the season cannot be overlooked. I've read comments on here comparing his injury to other leg breaks but how many of those other ones occurred in the preseason? If like reported that the breaks were clean and no other damage then he will be fully healed by the end of this season. It doesn't mean he will play in 2019 but if all goes well with his physical therapy then I am confident that he will hit the ground running by next preseason. He will have mental demons to get through like any serious injury but he's as resilient as they come and I for one cannot wait till his next 40 odd possession game to silence all the critics saying that he'll never be the same.

Herald Sun stuff.

5 players who could replace Mitchell.

(Not sure if this link will work properly)
Anyone see much of freeman this year? Worth considering or is he cooked? It was weird he debuted and then was delisted a few weeks later after all the injury issues he had to overcome to get to the debut.

I think we would be better off trying to find a small forward who can release wingard into more midfield minutes than find a not quite up to it midfielder. If the small forward can run through the middle even better.

I’m confident that, even though I don’t think we’ll be able to cover Tom this year, our midfield in the long run will benefit. They’ll become more confident and versatile, and who knows, the opportunity might unearth a champion or two. When Tom comes back we’ll be in fine shape (especially if a certian Coniglio comes our way).
Personally I reckon 2019 is more important for our key position stocks. Who knows how much solid footy Roughy and Chip have left? If we can get one reliable, consistent, best 22 player at each end out of Lewis, Nash, O’Brien, Kosi, Brand, etc, 2020 will be our year for the taking.

Anyone see much of freeman this year? Worth considering or is he cooked? It was weird he debuted and then was delisted a few weeks later after all the injury issues he had to overcome to get to the debut...

He suited up against us twice. Had 28 and 34 touches respectively. We won both games quite comfortably yet Freeman was not named in the best for them.

I did not mind the look of him.