Bluemour Discussion Thread XV - Facts Not Welcome

Faz stuff is on the website. Not sure how believable it is but who cares. The bit that’s just rubbish is him getting drunk. What a fool. I feel like the Tigers must have felt when they picked up Yarran. Like of course this was going to happen. This sort of rubbish.

Just sucks some momentum out of the place. **** him off I say. We just don’t need this shit any more. **** off.
Wow Windows! Tell us what you really think.

Not sure it is that bad. If you were a PA Would you be saying that about Ollie Wines going water skiing and injuring his shoulder?

We gave the guy a second chance. He’s in the final stages of his preseason. It’s been acknowledged by Soap that he’s a fair way behind. You’d think he would be able to not get drunk. Have a couple. Keep yourself nice.

But no. It’s not good enough.

I don’t give a shit about Wines or Port.

So basically it was just general horse play and sonething went wrong.

Face it if it was a guy people wanted to succeed he wouldn't be crucified over it. He wasn't in a pub fight, he didn't het intoxicated and really embarrassed the club, but lets act like he did because it's Fasolo.

Should just ban players from leaving the house unless jettisoned in bubble cars by the club to and from the venues pre approved. Contact with family and friends strictly prohibited.

Faz stuff is on the website. Not sure how believable it is but who cares. The bit that’s just rubbish is him getting drunk. What a fool. I feel like the Tigers must have felt when they picked up Yarran. Like of course this was going to happen. This sort of rubbish.

Just sucks some momentum out of the place. **** him off I say. We just don’t need this shit any more. **** off.

It is frustrating but let's not get too worked up about it - he's not the first to have too much to drink, and he certainly won't be the last.

He made an error and will suffer the consequences but on the face of it it's not something worth ostracizing him over.

Absurd to compare it to Yarran.

So basically it was just general horse play and sonething went wrong.

Face it if it was a guy people wanted to succeed he wouldn't be crucified over it. He wasn't in a pub fight, he didn't het intoxicated and really embarrassed the club, but lets act like he did because it's Fasolo.

Should just ban players from leaving the house unless jettisoned in bubble cars by the club to and from the venues pre approved. Contact with family and friends strictly prohibited.

Did you listen to Lloyd? Did you see the way he looked?
He mentioned driving standards and Docherty & Cripps fronted the group today because of this little incident.

Would have loved to have seen Boltons face and hear what he said when he heard on Sunday morning.

It is frustrating but let's not get too worked up about it - he's not the first to have too much to drink, and he certainly won't be the last.

He made an error and will suffer the consequences but on the face of it it's not something worth ostracizing him over.

Absurd to compare it to Yarran.
**** him.

We gave the guy a second chance. He’s in the final stages of his preseason. It’s been acknowledged by Soap that he’s a fair way behind. You’d think he would be able to not get drunk. Have a couple. Keep yourself nice.

But no. It’s not good enough.

I don’t give a shit about Wines or Port.

Players are humans too mate. Ever done anything dumb yourself?

Think just like all our guys you judge them at the end of the year.

Has been training really well and I still think he can be a valuable part of our team.

Not interested in starting a fight, just saying it is a fair overreaction.

Did you listen to Lloyd? Did you see the way he looked?
He mentioned driving standards and Docherty & Cripps fronted the group today because of this little incident.

Would have loved to have seen Boltons face and hear what he said when he heard on Sunday morning.

Oh, they will be pissed because it happened, its unfortunate but the scenario behind it could have been quantifiabley worse but it's 6 to 8 weeks, he can still do all non contact drills and will be expected to smash skin folds and all running by season start.

Shit happens, following Carlton the last few years has really driven that saying.

fmd mate, they arent robots you know? they are allowed to have a life outside of footy... yes he probably shouldnt of had a much to drink but the club will sort that out the best they see fit.

Players are humans too mate. Ever done anything dumb yourself?

Think just like all our guys you judge them at the end of the year.

Has been training really well and I still think he can be a valuable part of our team.

Not interested in starting a fight, just saying it is a fair overreaction.
I’m not happy with mediocrity. I reckon he’s had his fair share of warnings at Collingwood. It’s incrssibly disappointing.

fmd mate, they arent robots you know? they are allowed to have a life outside of footy... yes he probably shouldnt of had a much to drink but the club will sort that out the best they see fit.
I’m on my own. No point anyone quoting me. I won’t change my view. I won’t change yours either. All good.

Back to it.

**** him.

Nope. For now I am happy to take this on face value, support him through his rehab and hope to see him back out there sooner rather than later.

I’m not happy with mediocrity. I reckon he’s had his fair share of warnings at Collingwood. It’s incrssibly disappointing.

Fair share of warnings? When and what were they for?

Oh, they will be pissed because it happened, its unfortunate but the scenario behind it could have been quantifiabley worse but it's 6 to 8 weeks, he can still do all non contact drills and will be expected to smash skin folds and all running by season start.

Shit happens, following Carlton the last few years has really driven that saying.

I know, but that extra disappointment is always there for these outside of football, and often unnecessary, injuries.

It's just that this sort of shit just seems to come about to individuals you're not surprised to be reading about.

Anyway, I wonder how Fasolo felt the next morning when he knew what was in front of him? Terrible, I'd guess.

just on what is coming out that is so different a situation as to be interplanetary...........

Thank fork we didn't have a strictly introvert policy during our halcyon years.
Fas's actions were likely irresponsible and immature, he'll have to cop the consequences of his conduct whatever that may be: but as for the need to curb his ego, or calling him a dickhead, talk about precious :rolleyes:

Given that most of them come cheap i reckon its worth the risk.
Really?

I’m not going to blame SOS for Fasolo being a dickhead on the piss and breaking his arm.

But if we have another disastrous season like the last then it’s time for a serious look at who we bring into the club.

Yes they come cheap which helps us as we don’t have a lot to trade and we’re not a club elite players want to join at present. But they’re taking up list spots. If they’re just going to spend the season continually injured then they’re a waste of time and we will continue to have major depth issues.

Herald Sun has an article behind paw wall regarding Kruezer and surgery..fmd if true!
underneath an article on titanic lost at sea..........fmd...........

Dog ate my homework kinda story.
What a joke.
Can’t be too serious about reviving his career if he can’t handle his drink in preseason.
Hmmm...

I remember seeing an interview of Luke Hodge, from early 2014 I think, in which he made a joke about how, for a patch in there, he was struggling with his footy, his rehab and his life, because in an effort to raise standards he'd given up the grog, and it took everyone telling him to start drinking again for him to relax a bit and just start enjoying things again.

You've got the stories out of Richmond - some of which are probably the kind of hot air that a premiership generates, but smoke has to come from somewhere, right? - concerning how, almost club wide, they weren't just honest, they relearned how to enjoy their football again, how to enjoy each other's company, instead of being intense and driving standards like crazy. You've got Bucks' supposed transformation from the coach he was - a mere extension from the FIGJAM of a player/captain he was, insisting that his players be perfect and play perfect footy - and being forced, over the course of the 2018 preseason, to relax and to stop trying to do everything himself, and to become less a disciplinarian and more approachable.

You've got players that you'd have sworn would be excellent players to keep around during a rebuild in Beams and Rockliff leaving Brisbane (for decent, if still somewhat underwhelming returns) due to being a) the wrong types of character, and b) being uncompromising in their standards and their attitudes to their teammates; you've got Eade being let go, Lyon surrounded by rumours every year that he's on the chopping block.

Then, you've also got the well publicised article - usually used to hit us by opposition fans on the main board - in Gowers, who referred to the all train no play:

https://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/ho...l/news-story/1d7f947fc930ecaff2fe751188412860

“At Carlton everything to do with my whole entire life centred around footy and that was how I walked down the street, what I ate, what I drank – every single decision I made was related to footy.
“Whereas last year, I made work and my friends and family my priority and just played footy. I’ve tried to take that approach with my second chance because not many people get a second chance, so you’ve got to make the most of it.”

See, I'm on the fence here. I honestly don't think we know enough about this to really comment; it could've been really bad, he could have made a terrible decision and be on the edge of being delisted, but so too could he have genuinely just been having fun and landed poorly. He's 26, plenty of people are still idiots at 26, and as far as I know humans continue to make mistakes every day until they die.

I do not think it's realistic to expect players to spend all day all year moment in moment out thinking about football, nor do I want players to feel limited in their behaviour whilst away from the club, provided what they are doing is a) not illegal, and b) not likely to prejudice their club or themselves before the AFL public. And how much of the poor culture at GC was driven by Eade's old-school, hardarse, 'my way or the highway' kind of nonsense, with the players reacting to that by telling him to **** off with their actions when away from the club? How much of Hawthorn's talent was drawn from that bunch of players not just being footballers but also mates away from the park? How do you quantify a newfound love of the game, because all of a sudden it's fun again?

You don't want to put pressure on players to the point that they feel they need an outlet. You want to accomodate different personality types in the best ways you can, and you want to keep open lines of communication. I don't see being a hardarse about things like this being the appropriate response, where had he done a Carlisle I'd imagine this would be a drastically different conversation.

Not saying it ain't disappointing. Just the whole lets sack him for making a stupid decision is ridiculous.

You, like I, don't know what warnings he had been given at Collingwood.

Also we don't know what conditions he came to Carlton on.

As I said at the end of the year when all is said and done he will be reviewed and either offered a contract or not. As it stands now he has a lot of ground to make up.

Hmmm...

You don't want to put pressure on players to the point that they feel they need an outlet. You want to accomodate different personality types in the best ways you can, and you want to keep open lines of communication. I don't see being a hardarse about things like this being the appropriate response, where had he done a Carlisle I'd imagine this would be a drastically different conversation.
This is a very wise observation.