AFLX and JLT series discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Michaels

I'm personally looking forward to the AFLX game.

I have always said this is the format they should have gone with from the start.

Although I do like the SoS suggestion in the above posts as well, same concept but probably draws in a lot more people to watch.

The idea of seeing a mix of players from different teams all playing together is exciting I reckon.

The point / issue still stands about players being injured, but as we have seen in the last 2 days you are just as likley to get a serious injury water skiing or wrestling with a mate than you are at playing football.

the notion that the injury would be deemed far worse because it happened in an AFLX game is way over the top I reckon.

It would be no different to copping an injury during a training session, scratch match or JLT game.

Either way these players would have been likley playing something at that point of the pre season in preperation for the season proper.

Using basketball as a comparative (if you watch it??), the AllStar games where there is absolutely zero defence and it's a complete highlighting of scoring skills (148-145), is perhaps what the afl are copying. Some love it because of the high scoring, some don't due to seemingly play and giggle attitude of the players. My 1st post in this thread also compared it to the legends format (kick it up high on top of a player so x can get some hangtime. Everyone high fives each other. Whether the mark is taken or not is irrelevant. Set of some fireworks!!!
There will be more smiling going on during the games than at the comedy nights.

So enjoy the scoring feast and the best players in the game trying to do, and often achieving, amazing feats while showcasing their amazing skills.

I'll be passing though as it's just not for me.

Using basketball as a comparative (if you watch it??), the AllStar games where there is absolutely zero defence and it's a complete highlighting of scoring skills (148-145), is perhaps what the afl are copying. Some love it because of the high scoring, some don't due to seemingly play and giggle attitude of the players. My 1st post in this thread also compared it to the legends format (kick it up high on top of a player so x can get some hangtime. Everyone high fives each other. Whether the mark is taken or not is irrelevant. Set of some fireworks!!!

So enjoy the scoring feast and the best players in the game trying to do, and often achieving, amazing feats while showcasing their amazing skills.

Last year I was getting a really strong basketball vibe from it. I think when you go through the rules you can kind of see why
* Kick in to restart after goal
* Said kick in must be from behind line so it is often shallow
* Some contact but not in any way brutal
* Option of a lower percentage, higher scoring shot at goal

Good comparison.
I’m a big NBA fan but always give the All Star game a very wide berth apart from the Dunk Contest which is entertaining.

I'm personally looking forward to the AFLX game.

I have always said this is the format they should have gone with from the start.

Although I do like the SoS suggestion in the above posts as well, same concept but probably draws in a lot more people to watch.

The idea of seeing a mix of players from different teams all playing together is exciting I reckon.

The point / issue still stands about players being injured, but as we have seen in the last 2 days you are just as likley to get a serious injury water skiing or wrestling with a mate than you are at playing football.

the notion that the injury would be deemed far worse because it happened in an AFLX game is way over the top I reckon.

It would be no different to copping an injury during a training session, scratch match or JLT game.

Either way these players would have been likley playing something at that point of the pre season in preperation for the season proper.
Thought it was just me looking forward to it!

Viewing the team selection part as being a bit fantasy football-ish/big footy thread-like. Pure entertainment and not to be taken too seriously.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

I'm looking forward to seeing us road-test some 2019 structural changes in the JLT.

The wrinkle in that is that I see Lynch as a long-term investment and personally, I really don't want to see him until Round 5 of the proper season, unless his absolutely, 100% cherry ripe.

So I do want to see two tall marking targets inside 50, some kids who are likely contenders for best 22, including Garthy fitting into that strong backline, and a genuine 2nd ruck - whoever that might be.

Spewing I can't make the game in Shep because of family commitments. I usually get to these things and have enjoyed it in the past. And Shep's a good town.

I'm looking forward to seeing us road-test some 2019 structural changes in the JLT.

The wrinkle in that is that I see Lynch as a long-term investment and personally, I really don't want to see him until Round 5 of the proper season, unless his absolutely, 100% cherry ripe.

So I do want to see two tall marking targets inside 50, some kids who are likely contenders for best 22, including Garthy fitting into that strong backline, and a genuine 2nd ruck - whoever that might be.

Spewing I can't make the game in Shep because of family commitments. I usually get to these things and have enjoyed it in the past. And Shep's a good town.
Don't think we'll see Garthwaite in the JLT despite the clubs willingness to get him in. Most recent reports have him struggling with an ankle injury for quite some time? Hopefully I'm reading too much into it and it's not that bad.

LMAO wtf? Now, I am someone who did not mind AFLX but I'm not sure anymore. Who are the ones making these decisions?

I came here to post the same tweet.

I have been a semi supporter of AFLX but this addition is stupid for 1 reason alone:

It puts a huge target on the back of that nominated player.

Now I know I have previously said that the 'injuries' line needs to stop as it can happen at anytime, however putting a target on players backs is just stupid.

I have been a semi supporter of AFLX but this addition is stupid for 1 reason alone:

Now I know I have previously said that the 'injuries' line needs to stop as it can happen at anytime, however putting a target on players backs is just stupid.
Yeah I don't see it either. Players could swarm that one player.

Also, the game is already high scoring enough. We don't need 60 points in 5 minutes from 3 kicks.

Has cripps kicked more than one goal!?!
giphy.gif

lets make sure the nominated player is from #pieshaveinjuries then

With the obsession of trying to seemingly Americanize everything into a slam, bang thakyou ma’am extravaganza they’d be pulling their hair out after today’s Super Bowl yawnfest.
Maybe we need to make the game more defensive to keep up with the yanks...

Another Geelong campaigner - most bad AFL stuff/ideas comes from down Corio way.
Who do you think wanted 6-6-6 and who wants to be able to burst out of the middle without players coming in off the square, who has the biggest distance from the 50 to the centre square, oh that's right Geelong do and who has said he wants to burst away like Judd did without anyone in front of him, that's right Dangerflog did.

Cheered on by Hocking, Whatley and one of the Scott brothers (can never remember which one)

hhtps://www.heraldsun.com.au/seven_new_rules_AFLX

Robbo: Seven new rules announced for AFLX carnival.

1) Multiball for two minutes after every Zooper Goal scored.

2) Instead of free kicks, there will be NHL style "power plays", where the offending player spends 2 minutes on the bench, with no replacement.

3) Kick-ins must be done from the ground as if it is a soccer ball. If the kick-in travels so far as to score a goal on the other end it is worth 73 points.

4) Every time BT says "boy oh boy wowee" the closest player to the ball must perform and name a Fortnite dance correctly.

5) Rushed behinds are worth -14 points to the team that is first in reverse alphabetical order.

6) Goals scored from the boundary line get get you a ticket straight to the grand final, but behinds scored from the same position are instant elimination.

7) If a player marks the ball within 13.7 metres of another player who can correctly cite the first 15 digits of pi, the nearest player with a "g" in their name is executed by a sniper on the open roof of Marvel Stadium.

our flag this year will be the sweetest flag in history