Oppo Camp How do you feel about Daisy now?

• Thread starter Thread starter jmac70

From Collingwood premiership star to Carlton list clogger - that's a mighty large fall from grace.

In hindsight I can't really blame him for chasing the cash at Carlton, but it's a shame he decided to trade eternal respect for money.

He’s a flog now, but you cannot underestimate how good he was in the drawn grand final. His attack on the ball in the 3rd quarter is one the reasons we weren’t steamrolled further

Not a shadow of the star player he once was, no longer has the talent or fitness. Does have experience, uses guile and rat cunning and resorts to all of the cheap tricks, cheap shots, short cuts and staging there is in the book in order to stay relevant and prolong his career. Easy to dislike these types but I don't hate him, I just don't give him another thought.

Love him. Collingwood legend who gave everything on the field when he was with us. His intial attack on the footy was absolutely fearless and his second and third efforts were off the charts. Also, so often he rose to occassions and gave us a spark when we needed it.

If he had've starred for Carlton, I may feel differently and may have lost some of the love, but seeing his body was shot at the Blues and he's given them very little, my admiration for his Pie exploits remain unsullied.

I like the OPs thinking of the two incarnations as being different people. Daisy - the magpie star. and Thomas - the Carlton flog.

Not a shadow of the star player he once was, no longer has the talent or fitness. Does have experience, uses guile and rat cunning and resorts to all of the cheap tricks, cheap shots, short cuts and staging there is in the book in order to stay relevant and prolong his career. Easy to dislike these types but I don't hate him, I just don't give him another thought.
So to sum up, you’re saying, he’s perfect for Carlton.

:D

Players during the trade period are not unlike electoral candidates in a democratic election -in that sometimes you end up getting the player/government you deserve!

probably about the same as what north supporters feel about daniel wells....
There's a couple of differences.
Daisy has played more games.
Wells comes across as a better person.

probably about the same as what north supporters feel about daniel wells....
Wells wasn't at the start of a career and coming of a GF, destroying the fabric of the GF team, let alone that he decided to Norf's arch enemy.
( Disclaimer: Could be that Norf supporters hate us more then anyone else but sadly they are irrelevant. )
After witnessing what happened to Boomer Harvey and other retirees, Wells saw means with us to get a few more years out of his career then he would at Norf. Hard to imagine he would be bagged over that.

Both Wells and Thomas did it out of self-interest. Which is understandable. I think AFL players act out of self-interest far far far less than Soccer players - "tell the manager I'm not getting dragged - or NBA players who have to move teams because they need to be the centre of focus.

THomas had crook feet and wanted to reunite with his premiership coach/dad. Wells had crook calves and needed one last longterm contract. Thomas did everything to get himself playing well. Wells was a little less enthusiastic.

Wells would have been asked/forced to retire at North as were a number of other senior players, can't blame him for taking the package on offer at Collingwood and the chance to extend his career.

Had a 1 year deal on the table if I remember correctly.

Those few years he sparkled with us, gee he was good.

A shame it was Carlton he went too, but really I don't think I consider him much differently really

if you hate him he's got under your skin or inside your head - better to see him as irrelevant - convert the emotional energy of hating Daisy into positive vibes for our boys :)

Mind you ....... I freakin hate everyting to do with Melbourne :mad::thumbsdown::devil:

Daisy is now as irrelevant as the club he plays for. It’s a shame really. At his best he was one of the most exciting and influential players in the league. He could have been one of the all time greats with his talent, but a lack of professionalism in rehab and a refusal to accept change ruined that. He has nobody to blame for it but himself.