Autopsy JLT Community Series - Game 1, 2019: North Melbourne v St.Kilda (Opposition welcome)

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Who Wins?

• Kangaroos

Votes: 16 27.6%
  • Saints

Votes: 42 72.4%

I hope Purple was watching today

Getting ready for his article on how we were a shambles and only won because Norf were actually playing their reserves.

Alternatively he may say the fact that we won any game without Hanners is further evidence that our recruiting is deplorable due to us clearly not needing his arthritis-ridden-in-a-constant-state-of-drug-withdrawals-body.

I hope Purple was watching today
Well it was being played a turd's throw from his home at pond 3 at the Poo Farm so he may well have dropped in to view it live.

Anyone care to have a go at best players?

Steele, Lonie, Brown.

Couldn't tell you Lonie's numbers but I thought his game was excellent. Pressure everywhere, sticking tackles, going hard at it, and his Hollywood s**t was limited and actually brilliant when executed like the tap on to Gresh for the (Q2?) goal.

Brown maybe an odd one but as others have said, he kept the big boner's influence to a minimum. I can't think of him making a poor decision all day, just looked super organised and a cool head on a hot day.

Parker for 'Rising Star'. Hopefully his free kick discipline improves rapidly, if so he'll be this years Kelly in terms of commentators asking how the hell he wasn't drafted before this year.

Ross needs a rocket?!! You’ve got to be taking the piss. If anyone needs a rocket it’s Luke. Seb is a B’n’F winner & Runner up the last 2 years and I’d our VC. Not to mention he had 23 disp and 5 clearances to Luke’s 15 disp and 3 clearances with Ross only playing an extra 3min game time!
Give me a break

Yeah, Dunstan did a couple more handballs today that should be easy but went to the ankles of the intended player. He's got to get his disposal better.

To me there were a some really pleasing signs, Joyce looked really promising, a couple of raking kicks that were perfect and didn't look out of place. Parker in the dying minutes ran down a North player from behind off a huge run up and pressured the kick even when the game was already iced. Lots of players were good and not all of them the usual suspects. Good hit out al up. Shame we didn't have a ruck because we would have had to play different to how we had planned.

The pressure was the outstanding feature. Little Jack, in particular, impressed. Did anyone else think Hind showed a bit? We need his type. Looked dangerous, breaks lines and takes the opposition on. Parker and Kent as well. I hope the selectors show some ticker and pick all three for round one. No room for both Dunstan and Ross in the one team. Sorry, Luke. Steele, what a gun. Well done to Paddy. The best he's looked in any game since coming to the club. Genuinely looked dangerous every time he got near the ball. Used it well, too. On that form, the much anticipated "breakout game" can't be far away.
Hind looked exactly what we need as a pacey line breaker.

Good game from the team.

Was concerned in the 3rd quarter we seemed to get bogged down across our half back and went back to bombing it down the line to the opposition ruckman. Obviously our mids and high half forwards werent working hard enough to create space/leads. Can be fixed.

When they (North) got their overlap running game going we were smarter not to all commit to the ball carrier which was good. This allowed us to apply pressure and not chase tails like last year.

If Ross is going to be used thru the midfield he has to learn to stop bombing it forward blindly. Get on his bike and make space stop being a stationary reciever.

Dunstan didnt do himself any favours if he wants to play round 1.

Who was playing in McMillan = 40 possessions from HBF someone lacked accountability?

We need to use Hind a lot more coming out of defence, he can be a weapon. Parker and Kent give us a harder edge up forward.

Brown got owned by Joyce and Brown. Stopped his ability to lead at the ball and forced him to mark in packs which he isn’t good at. A good tactic by playfair

Hasn't Joyce really come on quickly? Looking quite solid.

Brown savage paddy lonie Steele for mine

Edit: Clark

Lonie and savage not usually first picked but both looked great. Lonie's really become a good little player.

Lost track of time so didn't tune in 'til the 2nd quarter, good timing that. Looks like the boys put on good pressure, especially considering the conditions. Ball movement looked smoother than last year. May only be the pre-season comp but at least I'd rather be enjoying than a win than consoling myself about it not be a real match.

Jill needs a bit of a ribbing for that last kick of his!

What's the old saying....a win is a win is a win !!!!!!

This time last year I was saying after the 2 JLT's that it's only JLT......it's ONLY a practice game.....we'll come good when the "real stuff" starts

To my horror/dismay....like most on here,JLT carried over to our overall form and just basically got worse as the year wore on.

For what it's worth....I'll take us winning the marbles comp!!!!!!

One poster last week gave the very very sobering stat that since that Richmond game Round 16 game in 2017,we've won 6...yes SIX games since......that's 6 wins from 31 attempts(last season's 2 JLT games are in that number)

It's a absolutely daunting stat when you see it..........that's why we have to try and win every competitive fixture we start in....building up a winning culture is absolutely crucial going forward.

It might only be a practice game but we got embarrassed by North on Good Friday last year so to beat them today is a step in the right direction.

Winning JLT games doesn't count for much but you would rather be winning them than losing them, helps to build confidence going into the season proper.

Yeah, Dunstan did a couple more handballs today that should be easy but went to the ankles of the intended player. He's got to get his disposal better.
Will be replaced with Armo next week I reckon. A couple of changes to check some different blokes out (eg. Young, Austin, Marshal, Coffl).

Sinclair was an interesting one for me.
Didnt have much of it and barely kicked the ball.
He seemed to be playing fwd again (or was that just the few times i saw him). Thought/Hoped we might see more of him on the wing now with Kent and Parker in.

Wouldn't read too much into the result, first pre-season game, North pretty poor, and weird conditions. So I don't know if we can tell anything about gameplan from that.

But a lot of positives on individual players and attitude:

- Battle is an enormous man. Hard to tell from the TV how he went in defence, but didn't seem out of place.
- Bruce very handy in the ruck. Obviously beaten hands down in the hitouts but really solid around the contest.
- Clark looked OK in the middle, though dropped away in the second half. (Maybe he was off the ground more?)
- Hind looks like a player, doubt he'll be first 22 but solid depth.
- Joyce is an actual AFL quality defender! Super surprising. He'll be a handy guy to have around. Disposal not too bad either.
- Kent slots straight in, only problem is that he's easily confused with Membrey.
- Lonie fantastic game, he's not going to lose his spot in the side without a fight.
- McCartin did well, 2 goals and 2 goal assists is a reasonable return. Admittedly he was opposed to Pittard for some of it.
- Parker didn't get the footy heaps but did have 7 tackles. Hard to see him missing selection round 1.
- Pierce actually looked pretty good while he was out there, hopefully we get to see him next week.
- Roberton is great to have back, adds solidity to the defence.
- Savage very solid, I still don't rate him but if he keeps playing like that he'll be hard to drop.
- Wilkie looks a likely type, especially that mark. Another one handy to have around.

Looks like we've added more depth of solid B and C+ graders. Hopefully some become better than that.

Hind fantastic did everything need to in 1st hit up to push for rd.1

Steele a gun will take it to a next level this year

Membrey looks like primed for a great season

Nice win ! What the saints faithful need regardless if JLT

Ross needs a rocket?!! You’ve got to be taking the piss. If anyone needs a rocket it’s Luke. Seb is a B’n’F winner & Runner up the last 2 years and I’d our VC. Not to mention he had 23 disp and 5 clearances to Luke’s 15 disp and 3 clearances with Ross only playing an extra 3min game time!
Give me a break

As I said in my post - Ross is a much better player than Dunstan. My comment is about effort not ceiling. I think Luke is an 18 - 22 best player but for mine his effort today looked great; Seb looked like he was in second gear most of the day.

Lots of positives. Now we have work out how to fit in all of Gresh, Billings, Newnes, Sincs, Acres, Kent, Lonie, Long and Parker!

And we haven’t seen Young yet!

Sandy had their first practise match today and had a win. Laing possessions were Marshall 24, Coffield and Sam Gilbert 23, and Armo 22.
Apart from Gilbo, I expect to see most of these players next week.

Yeah, I'd be surprised if Gilbo played too many Saints games this year.

Sandy had their first practise match today and had a win. Leading possessions were Marshall 24, Coffield and Sam Gilbert 23, and Armo 22.
Apart from Gilbo, I expect to see most of these players next week.

We know what we get from Armo. I want the others to keep getting games instead at this stage. Marshall, Coff, Long and Acres need a game next week.

Probably one positive today was watching the game and looking at the stats no-one really dominated, but most did well. Just a good team performance and effort across the board.

Yeah, we were getting much less of the ball but didn't waste it much. Mc Millan had 40 touches or something but wasn't really dominating. They handball themselves into trouble and really lacked their senior defence to transition the ball out.