2018 - Did Melbourne miss their one shot at a flag?

Dazlington

Brisbane Lions
Watching them during the first few preseason games it stuck out to me that the Dees have not progressed from last year and Hogan is a huge loss for the side. While they get a lot of kudos for being a young up and coming side and there is no denying they have talent I can’t help but think they may have missed their shot.

Jones, Lewis, Hibberd, Gawn aren’t getting any younger and all are still critical players to the set up. Viney’s body has to be a huge concern as well. McDonald performed admirably up forward last year as the second stringer behind hogan but looks out of his depth as the main man and Weideman has been a flash in the pan so far.

With established sides like the eagles and the tigers still being clearly superior and with a host of young talented aides (noteably the Lions) closing the gap rapidly I just can’t help but thinking Melbourne have missed their chance. Their recruitment last season smacked of topping up thinking they were ready to contend but I feel they will be similar to north 2015

Watching them during the first few preseason games it stuck out to me that the Dees have not progressed from last year and Hogan is a huge loss for the side. While they get a lot of kudos for being a young up and coming side and there is no denying they have talent I can’t help but think they may have missed their shot.

Jones, Lewis, Hibberd, Gawn aren’t getting any younger and all are still critical players to the set up. Viney’s body has to be a huge concern as well. McDonald performed admirably up forward last year as the second stringer behind hogan but looks out of his depth as the main man and Weideman has been a flash in the pan so far.

With established sides like the eagles and the tigers still being clearly superior and with a host of young talented aides (noteably the Lions) closing the gap rapidly I just can’t help but thinking Melbourne have missed their chance. Their recruitment last season smacked of topping up thinking they were ready to contend but I feel they will be similar to north 2015

Bay worthy troll.

Anyone who doesn't get the Demons have an awesome list doesn't follow footy. They do appear to filling holes in the chase for a flag, but their first year in finals for yonks was never going to end in a flag. Couldn't be further from being their only opportunity.

People talk about them being soft but their footy is anything but soft.

My worry if I was a Demons supporter is the huge expectation this year. They have a chance at a flag but it wont just happen.

Geez, talk about jumping the gun. Wait for the season to start. I don’t think our pre season has been disastrous in terms of the games we’ve played. We beat pies easily when both teams were missing half a team. We lost to Richmond with half a team missing. Also a narrow loss to lions. I couldn’t watch that game and from what I understand lions outplayed us all day. But a 7 point loss in JLT nonetheless.
How was Tom McDonald second string to Hogan last year. He scored more goals from same amount of games.
We still have one of the youngest sides in the top half of the ladder. Look at the midfield. Oliver Brayshaw Viney Harmes all under 25.
Let us settle into the season proper before writing us off.

If Melbourne are good enough they'll have chances over the next few years. Neither Lewis or Hibberd are that critical, particularly not Lewis. Hibberd is handy.
Gawn will be around for ages, rucks go well into their 30s if they are good. Jones is important but they do boast a strong midfield unit even without him. In fact I'd say its probably his leadership that's the most important.

I do think that criticism of their key forwards may turn out to be valid but we'll see as 2019 unfolds. One thing I've learned is that there is a big difference in covering for a key player for a period of time when they are unavailable and not having them at all. I regard Weiderman as a bit of an unknown quantity - not necessarily bad but I don't think he's a confirmed quality AFL key forward.

I fully expect their midfield to be dominant and I think a top 4 H&A finish is well and truly on the cards backed by their strong midfield unit.

Yes. It's all over. Our best players are all nearing the end.

From memory I think we beat you in that pre season.
I think you’re right. 2nd JLT or NAB or whatever it was then. It was at Craigeburn and pretty hot and I couldn’t find a shaded spot to stand in, so I was sweltering until 2 generous bogans started a bit of a fight and I got sprayed with their beer when they started squaring up and waving their tinnies around. I also had a pie and I remember thinking it was too hot for a pie but I had one anyway. Chris Dawes was there but didn’t play. I trod on his foot accidentally leaving the ground and he said sorry to me which I thought was weird. It was Clayton Oliver’s second game. He took a great mark which was the first time I noticed he was pretty good overhead. He also cramped up in the third or forth. Garlett and Watts both kicked some goals. The whole thing felt a bit awkward because the Melbourne cheer squad turned out virtually in full which seemed a bit OTT for preseason. We stopped for petrol on the way back.

Hibberd was pretty poor last year, and Lewis won’t be a big loss at all. He’s already filled his purpose anyway. Melbourne arguably have the most complete list in the comp, and Brayshaw, Petracca and incredibly, Oliver are still getting better.

I still don’t know if getting rid of Hogan was the right option, but they’ve got adequate coverage in that area and seem to constantly unearth decent mid-sized utilities to pad out their team.

I wouldn’t be surprised to see them nab a flag this year.

If Melbourne are good enough they'll have chances over the next few years. Neither Lewis or Hibberd are that critical, particularly not Lewis. Hibberd is handy.
Gawn will be around for ages, rucks go well into their 30s if they are good. Jones is important but they do boast a strong midfield unit even without him. In fact I'd say its probably his leadership that's the most important.

I do think that criticism of their key forwards may turn out to be valid but we'll see as 2019 unfolds. One thing I've learned is that there is a big difference in covering for a key player for a period of time when they are unavailable and not having them at all. I regard Weiderman as a bit of an unknown quantity - not necessarily bad but I don't think he's a confirmed quality AFL key forward.

I fully expect their midfield to be dominant and I think a top 4 H&A finish is well and truly on the cards backed by their strong midfield unit.

Ruckman (particularly those that ruck 90% of games like Gawn) are notorious for breaking down prior to 30.

I just think there are younger sides that have more depth across the lines whereas Melbourne have an elite young midfield but forward and backline is propped up with older and not so talented types

Wow. I hope the Lions win the flag this year then otherwise they'll have missed their shot as well.

Hibberd was pretty poor last year, and Lewis won’t be a big loss at all. He’s already filled his purpose anyway. Melbourne arguably have the most complete list in the comp, and Brayshaw, Petracca and incredibly, Oliver are still getting better.

I still don’t know if getting rid of Hogan was the right option, but they’ve got adequate coverage in that area and seem to constantly unearth decent mid-sized utilities to pad out their team.

I wouldn’t be surprised to see them nab a flag this year.

I reckon Petracca has been hugely underwhelming. Looks a real waddler and not sure he will ever cut it as a mid. Oliver and Brayshaw are both very good. Harmes is serviceable

Lemme guess, Brisbanes list is younger and more complete than ours

Wow. I hope the Lions win the flag this year then otherwise they'll have missed their shot as well.

Younger and deeper talent pool. Reckon we will be up there for the next 5-6 years. That’s the issue I get with the dees. Can’t see them being better than the lions young talent moving forward

I completely agree, Goodwin should be sacked for missing the boat on this one.