Player Watch #18: Alex Rance

this is a real shame. It's a horrible cliche these days, but Rance is genuinely one of football's good guys.

I have always been so impressed with his attitude and the way he approaches his life and his career. I don't think it can be overstated how important it is to have guys like him in the sport, who have that kind of perspective: not just on sport and it's relative importance (or lack thereof), but more broadly on life as well.

I wish all players who suffer injuries the best, but for Rance I'm genuinely hoping he has a really good rehab and gets back to doing what he does as soon as possible.

In the meantime though, you know he won't sit around feeling sorry for himself. RFC are lucky to have a guy like him in the clubrooms frankly
Well put mate. Apart from a minor few, it's a good vibe getting these types of posts about one of our own from from opposition supporters.

Sad to see him missing the rest of the season, it's sad to see any star suffer a long term injury. The game needs its best players on the park week in week out.

Though it presents Richmond a challenge, I think we are bold enough to find a way to make a significant impact in 2019....

Best of luck with the Giants. :thumbsu:

rance is def our best and most important player... Martin is the best individually, but I reckon we’d go better with Martin out for the season than Rance. If we start leaking goals, going to be hard to win the cup. Going to be tough against teams with tall forward lines like eagles and crows...
disagree, we have 4 aces all of equal importance, as well as around a dozen kings - nank, sheds, lambert, vloss, grimes, lynch etc, then you got another dozen solid role type players - ellis, grigg, macca, short, butler, GARTH, weller etc etc. we shuffle the deck and get the best fit to replace those injured and/or out of form. sad, but thats footy dont see a problem only a solution.

rance is def our best and most important player... Martin is the best individually, but I reckon we’d go better with Martin out for the season than Rance. If we start leaking goals, going to be hard to win the cup. Going to be tough against teams with tall forward lines like eagles and crows...
Disagree. Defenders are a lot easier to cover than star midfielders.

B: Grimes, Garth, Vlastuin
HB: Short, Astbury, Houli

Int: Broad

We will be fine

I wonder if we will play Broad in Rance’s position and bring Markov into the side to play Broad’s role. Broad and Rance have a similar height, playing style and athleticism. I’m not convinced Garthwaite is up to it. He has barely played at the highest level.

Now is the time to play Garth at the highest level.

markov is a dud

Shocking news. He handled it like the champ he is.

I'm clinging to the hope that Rancey is his usual self and inspires his teammates to greatness. He's the sort of bloke who could do it. Lift the side off the field. What a story that would be. The stuff of legend.

sad to see such a bad injury

reckon that may have been his last game

we will still win the flag anyway but never want to see any players have to sit out a year

Tragic news. I can't add any more to what has already been posted. I wish him the quickest and best recovery possible.

I haven't posted in such a long time, but felt compelled to comment. I'm very sad that Alex has sufferred this season ending injury. Just horrible. I've been following footy for over 40 years & he is one of the best Fullbacks that I have ever seen, maybe even the best! So speedy recovery to him. Hopehully he gets back this year sometime.

Gary Pert, of the Lion variety, wasn't bad either...

To be honest I didn't actually realise he was that 'old'. Makes for a interesting discussion given his desire to do other things with his life, maybe a quicker return is better suited to him?

For me personally I would pick the LARS every day of the week.

recovery from traditional reco:
-bed bound for 1-2 weeks with minimal movement
-on crutches for 7-8 weeks
-weight bare with crutches around 9-10 weeks
-walking without crutches around 12-14 weeks +

recovery from LARS:
-up and out of bed the next day
-Weight bare with crutches the next day
-was walking without crutches at the 3-4 week mark

the difference in recovery was amazing.

However I think i have done something to the knee again a couple of years ago when playing soccer. I'm not sure if its ACL but it doesn't feel right in certain movements. could be cartlidge though.
I reckon clubs don’t look at it for the fear of litigation further down the track if it doesn’t work out.

Gary Pert, of the Lion variety, wasn't bad either...
Yere he was a good fullback as was Harvey Merrigan before him. But I think Rance is better than these blokes & better than Silvagni too.