Preview Round 1, 2019: St.Kilda v Gold Coast - Marvel Stadium, Sunday 24th March, 1:10PM AEDT *Parker, Wilkie & Kent Debut*

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 74 83.1%
  • Suns

Votes: 15 16.9%

Nek minnit

"Yeah, g'day saints fans, look really disappointing stuff for round 1,

Players are disappointed, coaches are really disappointed, we're all feeling it,

That's not how we train and it's certainly not how we see ourselves performing long term,

Our skills really let us down tonight and that's as poorly as I've seen us use the footy in a while,

We thought the side we selected would really pressure them around the footy and be strong in the contest,

We pride ourselves on our attack and it just wasn't there tonight,

We all know Gold Coast are a really talented side and were really impressive I thought,

So we'll re-group, have some really honest conversations about what we stand for,

I'm confident in our ability to respond and I've put it back on the players."

New season and already we have screwed up rd 1 selection.

We have played all pre season with 3 tall in attack and looked quiet good mind you, yet when the season starts we revert to 2 only with Membrey being our 188cm key forward when Bruce goes into the ruck???

We then go and pick McKenzie who hasn't played a single minute of pre season and been injured the last month or so over players like Clark/Hind who have actually played.

We have got enough players that can play half back and don't need another one in McKenzie who has 0 match preparation.

I would be filthy if i was Marshall not even getting a chance with 1 forward missing and playing a good against Pierce in the intra (who ran out of legs) and also a decent game against the Dogs as the No.1 ruckman.

flat with these selections with whatever the outcome of the game is

Hey guys, fantasy question here: Newnes is named at half-back? Is this just a matter of 'putting the magnets anywhere' or has the return of Steven pushed him from his proposed wing spot, back to the backline?

Also, I too find it bizarre that Marshall wasn't selected over Pierce. Looked the much better pick through pre-season IMO

How the eff is Hunter not in this side.
Sick of us saying one thing and richo doin another.
He is surely coaching for his life still and it is ruining our club long term.
Sigh......

Sandy's team. Didn't realise Austin was available for selection? Also funny how all our key forwards have either been re-purposed or injured leaving Sandy with exactly none. Bizarre that Marshall, Clark, Austin and Acres aren't in the saints side.

Attachments

• 1553236997189.png
    1553236997189.png
    216.4 KB · Views: 115
Its seems that if mcartin was fit he would be playing. Hes not so lets try something different. Richo must have a tattoo of him his eight day. Marshall not so much.

Sandy's team. Didn't realise Austin was available for selection? Also funny how all our key forwards have either been re-purposed or injured leaving Sandy with exactly none. Bizarre that Marshall, Clark, Austin and Acres aren't in the saints side.
Acres is clearly not match fit. He is gaining fitness through the 2s. Reckon Austin would be the same.

How good is it that Jack Steven is fit for this match. Funny how people melt over the selections but no one is talking about the guy on the bench that is actually a proven match-winner.

Those players that didn't get into the rd1 side have to work their way in. Hopefully it's hard for them because the 1sts play well.

I’ll wait until the 22 is locked in before I completely melt. But the team is looking completely unbalanced IMO. Reminiscent of teams selected under Scott Watters watch.

We started last year with weird set ups too. Richo goes alright as far as strange selections.

To me as long as they perform in the Sandy game it will be good for the following week.
We need Acres back in the team against the Bombers , knowing Brown will be back next week Austin will have to show he is better value than Joyce.
Hunter , Coffield , Armitage , Phillips , Paton , Hind , Langlands , Young will all be fighting for one or 2 positions if the become available - great to see we have depth for once.

Same as DMac who is holding out the bloke who had a ripper pre season. Backwards club.

On SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app
The thing with DMac is he's actually become a very good player for us. Shot into the top 10 bnf last year. He's also the fittest guy at the club just about. I can understand why he's ahead of Clark at this stage.

Same as DMac who is holding out the bloke who had a ripper pre season. Backwards club.

You must realize McKenzie has shown he is one of the fittest guys in the squad , time trial etc , he only missed the JLT games because of a bruised heel apart from that he has done everything I can gather , this is why he has been selected.

Agreed. I'm mad as hell atm. Been so looking forward to round 1 and now we don't get to see our young talent against very poor opposition... It just makes zero sense not selecting Clark and Marshall. At least if we lose Sunday the media will be gunning for Richo. May be a blessing in disguise... so sick of this crap.

Jesus Christ, this is pathetic

Hunter and Coffield are going to be rippers , but at the moment they still look fragile which can on be expected for guys that have not even turned 20 yet.

The player that is lucky in my opinion is Sinclair. However, a few watching him closely really liked his JLT games. He has got the spot ahead of Clark. MacKenzie is an absolute no-brainer if fit in my opinion as he can play so many different roles.

Long is also a no-brainer for the simple reason that he's a gun and a match-winner. Just look at his last quarter against Bulldogs JLT. That's why he's in.

How did nobody see these selections coming?

Marshall should be in the team for sure but the rest is a classic example of a bloke coaching to save his job.

Richo is going to pick more senior bodies, experience over youth etc in order to show that the team can improve and be competitive and thus save his job. We aren't going to get any development games into players. You are either in to win right now or playing for Sandy.

The sooner Richo is sacked the quicker we can fast track guys in the right positions and get them proper game time. Hopefully Ratten is still keen to take over, if not then bring back Scotty ****ing Watters & let him go scorched Earth on this group.