Preview Round 1, 2019: St.Kilda v Gold Coast - Marvel Stadium, Sunday 24th March, 1:10PM AEDT *Parker, Wilkie & Kent Debut*

• Thread starter Thread starter GC2015

Who Wins?

• Saints

Votes: 74 83.1%
  • Suns

Votes: 15 16.9%

Every player is different and every player takes as long as it takes to make it. It's only Clark and Coffields second year. Clark will play soon and Coff has some things to work on which he will in the seconds and once he does he'll be in. Confident both will be very good players for the red white and black

Rumour has it that they are bringing back the old 70's style Slo Mo Six million dollar man version of televised,
With no commentary like the old World of Sport days just for this blockbuster!

Why are you spending so much of your time commenting on this blockbuster .......

I'm a Saints supporter looking forward to the season with the understaning it will bring pain but hoping for improvement.

We have added pace, but like others wanted to see Clark play we need games in to the kids with class.

Realise we are expected to get w but to me its a crucial start to the season, Suns have a heap of talented kids

I just don’t get the lack of love on here for Newnes and Sinclair.

Imo they are both generally very good, both seem to be rated highly by several commentators like Gerard Healy but not on here.

We have several players in this side who have produced Didly squat so far in a saints jumper maybe just maybe there lucky to be playing and I’m not talking about dunstan or Lonie two other favourite whipping boys. Everybody has their favourites and are entitled to their opinions but do we have to constantly bag our own players?.

I think this is a decent side and I expect us to win well and anybody hoping to break into the side next week should be looking to train the house down and dominating at sandy regardless of where they were drafted.

We didn't have a ruck for the whole of the first game against North and Goldstein is a better player than Witts and we got the job done.Hit outs are so overrated.
"Hit outs are so overrated"

Good one - I'll add that to my upcoming publication

"Plugger 66 - An Anthology of silly comments to prove I'm a contrarian" - Volume 3

Sorry fans!!

11 A Bonar Not Playing
12 D Fogarty Not Playing
13 J Brander Playing
14 M Ling Not Playing

GWS, Adelaide, Eagles, Sydney.

Shock horror.

These teams can get away with playing a few kids. We have a bunch of crabs we’re playing ahead of our young talent. We aren’t making the 8 let’s just put that to bed, all the above teams are near on certainties bar Sydney.

I wish we had the balls of Geelong, there’s a reason they’ve been up the ladder since mid 2000’s. Jordan Clark getting trusted off the back flank and delivered a superb performance, probably doesn’t even have that ‘AFL body’ yet either.

"Hit outs are so overrated"

Good one - I'll add that to my upcoming publication

"Plugger 66 - An Anthology of silly comments to prove I'm a contrarian" - Volume 3

Sorry fans!!

Do you want me to show the other 500 that round that went no where. There are outliners in every round. How about showing all of longer amazing hit outs. You want a contest. Longer didn’t provide a contest in that instance. By the way on the game I mentioned can you explain how we won with no ruckman against a bloody good ruck. I should have said 99% of hit outs are overrated. Does contrarian mean going against the majority ? I reckon the majority of people would think hitting the ball is overrated. Most would say getting the ball around the ground and marking it is underrated. I say that many times. Again hardly contrarian.

I guess my main issue with it is that we seem to always do this sort of thing as a club, dont blood younsters and then wonder why they dont develop. Look at geelong last night, in a tough game first up against one of last years grand finalists they play 3 or 4 rookies and have a bunch of 2nd/3rd year players while we are too scared to pick our Top 10 picks from 18months ago, just mind boggling too me.
Greatest example is Gresh, played from Day 1 and look how that turned out

Anyways, gotta get around the boys tomorrow, get to the game if you can and support the club, god knows we need it

Last season Clark played 15, Coff around 10. Pretty sure that’s blooding youngsters.

This game we are playing two debutants. Because they happen to be a couple of years older than the other two do they not qualify as “youngsters”?

I would also like to see both Clark and Coffield played often, but the overreaction of selection of one game has been unbelievable...even for this board. I think we are all antsy and nervous as hell. Wish tomorrow was here already.

Why are you spending so much of your time commenting on this blockbuster .......

I'm a Saints supporter looking forward to the season with the understaning it will bring pain but hoping for improvement.

We have added pace, but like others wanted to see Clark play we need games in to the kids with class.

Realise we are expected to get w but to me its a crucial start to the season, Suns have a heap of talented kids
Why else? Because it's the most important game of footy for the last 6 months! And the Saints are Back!

I am also in the others category i wanted Clark in too!
And i too am a Saints supporter looking forward to the season with the understanding it will bring improvement/finals but dreading pain! ;)

Shock horror.

These teams can get away with playing a few kids. We have a bunch of crabs we’re playing ahead of our young talent. We aren’t making the 8 let’s just put that to bed, all the above teams are near on certainties bar Sydney.

I wish we had the balls of Geelong, there’s a reason they’ve been up the ladder since mid 2000’s. Jordan Clark getting trusted off the back flank and delivered a superb performance, probably doesn’t even have that ‘AFL body’ yet either.

Shock horror.

there is reason they have been up the ladder so long. Danger Selwood Ablett.

Shock horror.

Isn't that a little selective though? I mean, you want us to play the youngsters like the other crap teams (Carlton, Freo etc) but you also want us to be like Geelong? Geelong played Constable and Clark in the 2nds all year last year didn't they?

Just seems people will get cranky no matter what we do. Parker, Kent, Wilkie - fact is they've come in and overtaken some of our current youngsters. So they need to work harder to get back in the side, which is a good thing.

I thought Newnes in particular looked great in the JLT series.

To me he was just as impressive in those games as he was unimpressive in the 2018 season.

Well, if we have a good win against the GC, then that would be a good team selection. Those who didn't get selected, need to train the house down and keep the pressure on for positions. Lonie got senior games last year by really putting in at Sandy. I reckon Clark and Coff have the ability, but are a long way off and need to work hard.

I thought Newnes in particular looked great in the JLT series.

To me he was just as impressive in those games as he was unimpressive in the 2018 season.
Newnes apparently had an interrupted preseason last year and played injured.

I have always though he was one of our better players and maybe a future captain so I see it as a return to his usual form.

Why else? Because it's the most important game of footy for the last 6 months! And the Saints are Back!

I am also in the others category i wanted Clark in too!
And i too am a Saints supporter looking forward to the season with the understanding it will bring improvement/finals but dreading pain! ;)

Exactly! Great post

Im an ol bloke who foolishly watched the 2010 1st GF with my best mate who is a Pies man ( yes character flaw) and felt sorry for him in the 3rd quarter. Lesson learnt success is not given.

Love the Saints and watching the list development / coaching etc, very nervous for this game.

Hope Steele keeps on with his improvement, Stuv has a cracker. Great to have Bruce back, Gresh needs signing. Hope Acres, Coff and Clark have great games at Sandy

We need Lonie, Sinclair, Dunstan etc needs to get to work. They are not rated but they can play

Interesting that we have 3 out of the 5 rookies playing in the first game - if any of them need elevation come the end of the year it looks like there is going to be some upset around some of the delistings that will have to take place

Imo they are both generally very good, both seem to be rated highly by several commentators like Gerard Healy but not on here.

We have several players in this side who have produced Didly squat so far in a saints jumper maybe just maybe there lucky to be playing and I’m not talking about dunstan or Lonie two other favourite whipping boys. Everybody has their favourites and are entitled to their opinions but do we have to constantly bag our own players?.

I think this is a decent side and I expect us to win well and anybody hoping to break into the side next week should be looking to train the house down and dominating at sandy regardless of where they were drafted.
I like Newnes and Sinclair. But using Gerard Healey to back up your point is weird. He would have to be the most clueless bloke in football.

On SM-G955F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Last season Clark played 15, Coff around 10. Pretty sure that’s blooding youngsters.

This game we are playing two debutants. Because they happen to be a couple of years older than the other two do they not qualify as “youngsters”?

I would also like to see both Clark and Coffield played often, but the overreaction of selection of one game has been unbelievable...even for this board. I think we are all antsy and nervous as hell. Wish tomorrow was here already.
15 and 10 wasn't enough, we were terrible mostly last year which is perfect time to have them play 22 games.
We ain't going no where until we get talent AND PLAY talent

Shock horror.

I have no problem with players earning their spots, young or old as long as its consistent and transparent. Both Clark & Coffield were played before they were ready last year and didnt have the quality of leaders around them like teams such as Geelong. To me Coffield is an absolute natural HBF and should have been ready to step into Robertons role, yet the club are doing it again trying to turn a flanker into a midfielder. WHY NOT just draft NATURAL midfielders and forget the other rubbish that interferes with their decision making. Our midfield quality is our greatest weakness and has been for 10 years but we find reasons to draft anyone but (not including Clark). We need players wih some campaigner about them.

Dunstan is playing tomorrow but wouldn't get a game in any other AFL team, he simply has no aerobic capacity.
Ross is the master of nothing possessions. Has absolutley not hurt factor when he has the ball.
Steven is our star but he misses far too many targets by foot.
Steele will go past Stuv this year and hopefully can start taking games on.
Billings a good outside players but still far too timid and introverted for my liking.
Sinclair IMO should be playing Ross's role in the centre, but also shows no urgency.
Gresham a great little player but I doubt he will have the tank to make an impact thru the midfield.
Long is a shining light if he can get a run of injury free games.

So going forward in reality we have Steele to look to go the elite level mid, possibly Clark & Long? Where are the rest going to come from to push us to contenders?

Interesting that we have 3 out of the 5 rookies playing in the first game - if any of them need elevation come the end of the year it looks like there is going to be some upset around some of the delistings that will have to take place
Not sure if Marsh is included in those 5 but even though he hasn't played a game yet, I have a feeling he might surprise.