Preview Round 3, 2019: Fremantle v St.Kilda - Optus Stadium, Sunday 7th April, 3:20PM AWST

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Who Wins?

• Dockers

Votes: 31 32.6%
  • Saints

Votes: 64 67.4%

Great summary.. Well stated.. Freo on the up with some new talent.
this game is going to be extremely hard to win. in fact i think we had more of a chance to beat wce at home last year. i think we should give it a crack but if we are blown out of the water by half time, i think we should look to next week against the hawks. its about managing the season here. no point trying to run through brick walls this early on.

freo's midfield is firing. Fyfe is back to his best. Mundy keeps going. two big tall experienced midfielders who can go forward. Steele will go to Fyfe. they're running a mix of youth and mature discards to go with them. Brayshaw is a young up and comer. extremely talented in the cotchin type mold. they now have conca running through there too, who is servicable. banfield is their run with player, an absolute pest. on the outside langdon and hill are in ripping form. langdon is criminally under-rated over east. he's a very very good wingman. cerra is spending time on the half back flank. their ruck is sean darcy who is going to be a very good bullish ruckman. he's hard to move. but his weakness is the stoppages in their defence. he struggles there. lobb is the pinch hitting ruckman and will stretch us down back. that's a very good midfield. i can't see how we match it tbh. i think the key isn't shutting down fyfe so much. its more limiting the influence of mundy. ideally longer comes back in to match up on darcy but i don't think he will be ready. newnes has to go to hill/langdon and just grind them down.

up forward is where they've really improved. hogan, lobb, mccarthy, tabenar all big tall options. hogan under a cloud but the rest are absolutely firing. then you mix in walters one of the best small forwards going around now. its hard to match up on. we don't have the talls to combat that. brown to hogan. marshall could take lobb if longer is back or we take the punt and go for run. wilkie to dardy mccarthy. battle to tabs. geary or mckenzie to walters. webster and savage are going to be incredibly important to rebound on the wider longer ground.

down back freo are undersized but they're surrounded by excellent users of the footy. its a rebounding backline. hamling and pearce are excellent defenders with hamling somewhat undersized. bruce will get pearce. hamling will go to membrey. question is do we chuck in an extra tall like marshall here, if we can, to stretch them somewhat? forcing them to go in tall up forward and overly tall down back? ryan, wilson, cerra are all excellent users of the footy. we need to absolutely limit the influence of all three. for that reason i'd bring in long and look at even sending one of geary/mckenzie to play a completely negating role on wilson. parker to cerra, kid will be nervous after that hit on mcgrath. bring in long for the bigger ground and some needed aggression.

i'd be stoked with a win here, but if it's not going to happen, its not going to happen. we have bigger fish to fry in the upcoming weeks. we are after obtainable upsets, not impossible goals.

On TRT-LX2 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Thought Dunstan was good early but 56% tog is bizarre..

I think they pull the trigger on Clark for Dunstan, not DMAC's best game but I like him and he's only a kid still
He's 1 year younger than dunny... he also had 7 touches and laid no tackles against methendon.

totally. but its strange we aren't identifying the same issue with steele lately. nor acres.

acres the anointed one, completely untouchable in any criticism what so ever, only had 13% more TOG. touched it less. tackled less. less clearance. less contested possession.

so maybe the discussion should be acres for clark.

1st game back, played in completely different positions. Let's give him time to build. Still made some big plays and did important things.
Was Dunstan gassed or was he kept on the bench that long due to his lack of versatility? Not a good look either way. I think others can cover Dunstans inside work. My preference would be to have more creative and attacking players having a bigger impact in there if there was a change to be made.

totally. but its strange we aren't identifying the same issue with steele lately. nor acres.

acres the anointed one, completely untouchable in any criticism what so ever, only had 13% more TOG. touched it less. tackled less. less clearance. less contested possession.

so maybe the discussion should be acres for clark.
Like another poster said look at where he was lining up and the points in time he was on the ground you play a guy at HF I don’t know what you expect . As he moves up the ground yould think his stats would too. Also to note he spent the first 10.5 minutes of the game off the ground.

i think you are right, acres was playing predominantly forward, however that's where clark usually plays, so its like for like. although acres has greater capability to play as a utility. clark has very limited minutes as the inside bull role. so he's not like for like with dunstan and that's the issue we have. ideally dunstan would be forced out for someone who can do more, but we do not have that player available. clarks been played forward, wing and inside throughout the pre-season. last year he did not play inside. i think the idea he can come in and do what dunstan has been doing is unfair on the kid.
Clark and Acres can both play multiple positions. One of which is as an inside mid. If combined they can play more time as an inside mid and do better in the role (I think that's not an unreasonable proposition) than dunstan while also providing more around the ground while not as an inside mid... That's surely a net positive for the team over an inside mid with 56% tog.

Correct but if. Not sure Acres is an inside mid though. Big turning circle and not doesn't seem to have great footy smarts.

The best thing about this year is we seem to have a genuine structure that like the Hawks can literally have one soldier goes down one takes his place. We have had no-one really stand up and get massive possessions but as a unit it's working. Clayton Oliver had about 47 possessions in a losing side, I think Billings was our highest possession getter with 28. I really don't mind if they think it works. Our best footy was the first quarter while Dunny was there at the coal face.
So far such a change on last year. The selection melts are now more about a player we think would make a net gain to the team rather than a player terribly out of form who keeps getting games coz our options are so limited in the 2s. Only 2 games in but cant believe how well weve done with our mature agers. Parker looks an absolute gun, Wilkie off to a great start, Hind looks like he has great upside. Thought the knock on him was his disposal but that was very good in the JLT and that is taking aggressive kicks. Have high hopes for Marsh too. Young is also playing well at VFL level so if we want to have 2 speed demons in the forward line could bring him in to play alongside Parker

this game is going to be extremely hard to win. in fact i think we had more of a chance to beat wce at home last year. i think we should give it a crack but if we are blown out of the water by half time, i think we should look to next week against the hawks. its about managing the season here. no point trying to run through brick walls this early on.

freo's midfield is firing. Fyfe is back to his best. Mundy keeps going. two big tall experienced midfielders who can go forward. Steele will go to Fyfe. they're running a mix of youth and mature discards to go with them. Brayshaw is a young up and comer. extremely talented in the cotchin type mold. they now have conca running through there too, who is servicable. banfield is their run with player, an absolute pest. on the outside langdon and hill are in ripping form. langdon is criminally under-rated over east. he's a very very good wingman. cerra is spending time on the half back flank. their ruck is sean darcy who is going to be a very good bullish ruckman. he's hard to move. but his weakness is the stoppages in their defence. he struggles there. lobb is the pinch hitting ruckman and will stretch us down back. that's a very good midfield. i can't see how we match it tbh. i think the key isn't shutting down fyfe so much. its more limiting the influence of mundy. ideally longer comes back in to match up on darcy but i don't think he will be ready. newnes has to go to hill/langdon and just grind them down.

up forward is where they've really improved. hogan, lobb, mccarthy, tabenar all big tall options. hogan under a cloud but the rest are absolutely firing. then you mix in walters one of the best small forwards going around now. its hard to match up on. we don't have the talls to combat that. brown to hogan. marshall could take lobb if longer is back or we take the punt and go for run. wilkie to dardy mccarthy. battle to tabs. geary or mckenzie to walters. webster and savage are going to be incredibly important to rebound on the wider longer ground.

down back freo are undersized but they're surrounded by excellent users of the footy. its a rebounding backline. hamling and pearce are excellent defenders with hamling somewhat undersized. bruce will get pearce. hamling will go to membrey. question is do we chuck in an extra tall like marshall here, if we can, to stretch them somewhat? forcing them to go in tall up forward and overly tall down back? ryan, wilson, cerra are all excellent users of the footy. we need to absolutely limit the influence of all three. for that reason i'd bring in long and look at even sending one of geary/mckenzie to play a completely negating role on wilson. parker to cerra, kid will be nervous after that hit on mcgrath. bring in long for the bigger ground and some needed aggression.

i'd be stoked with a win here, but if it's not going to happen, its not going to happen. we have bigger fish to fry in the upcoming weeks. we are after obtainable upsets, not impossible goals.
Great write up but i think your off the mark with the sentence in the first paragraph , if we are down by say 8 goals at half time you think we should shut up shop, not try and let it blow out to 10 - 15 goal hiding , we can ill afford to cop those try of floggings on road trips

Gold Coast looking ok against Freo so far at Metricon which is interesting. Freo play a day later than us and are on the road. It used to be that coming back from an interstate trip would be draining. Is this a factor? Hope so.....

i think dunstan stays until stuv can take more time on ball.

Yeah... but what would you know about freo mate?
;)

No changes required imo. Stick with what we have, everyone played a role yesterday. Clark will get games eventually but a spot needs to open up for him. Wait for Sincs, Acres or Savage to have a terrible game

St Kilda and proud.

Agreed, Roberton replacement possibly. Even better than this is that The Banker might have an eye for untapped talent.

Our own Stephen Wells would be unbelievable!
FMD Wilkie the campaigner looks like he’s played 150 games. Reads the play well. Good hands. Good skills. Really plays within his limitations & doesn’t appear to bite off more than he can chew. Absolute pro.

On Pixel 2 XL using BigFooty.com mobile app

I would never wish injury on anyone, but a little corky or rolled ankle to Fyfe this arvo wouldn't go astray. Nothing serious, just a 1 weeker :moustache:

Seriously though, shut him down or at least minimise his impact to more human levels and we will go a long way towards a win. Our mids run deeper, our fwds can dominate their backs and our def is well organised now.

Quitely confident early doors.

Inb4 #freekickfreo

Not really worried about Fyfe.

5AA4FFB1-7D89-4694-A780-605C0756F8ED.jpeg

Reading a few posts, I think some are really overeating Freo. They'll be tough at home no doubt but they aren't exactly unbeatable.

GC should be beating them right now if not for some poor goal kicking.

If we play like we did in the first half against this week we are a huge show.

Yeah, a Melbourne supporter came in and described Kent a couple weeks back and was bloody spot on. Kent has horrible hands, especially overhead marking. Definitely wouldn’t drop him tho, just don’t want him being a link in the chain moving the ball, he needs to stick to being front and square.

Couple of his sprint efforts yesterday were amazing, can’t actually believe how quick the Kent is.

He just needs a run in the team to get more consistency and will only get better. Given that he struggled to stay on the field recently with Melbourne.

Couple of his sprint efforts yesterday were amazing, can’t actually believe how quick the Kent is.

He just needs a run in the team to get more consistency and will only get better. Given that he struggled to stay in the field recently with Melbourne.
I think he needs to relax a bit. He is trying to hard to impress that he is overdoing it a bit.