Review Round 3, 2019 - Brisbane Lions vs. Port Adelaide

• Thread starter Thread starter ZoBlitz

Who were your five best players against Port?

I often have to think really hard about who to give the votes to after a win but I thought it was really clear cut tonight. Neale, Robinson, Hipwood, Rich and Walker. Some others did nice things in patches (liked Zorko’s game a lot too) but I think that Hipwood was the game breaker and the other four were the ones who kept doing the right thing when a lot of blokes weren’t.
Agree POBT. Thought those 5 were a no brainer.

Great game of footy, great resilience by Brisbane. I thought we had the general play ascendancy for longer, but Brisbane were able to score really potently in bursts. For a loss, it was pretty enjoyable viewing.
Was at the game and would of been content if we had lost it in a close one , great contest with similar ball movement.
Exiting footy.

I think Hodge needs a rest. He looked a tired man last night. Give him a week off and bring him back fresh for the Pies.

Just watched the replay and gee McCarthy had a better game than I thought. Was really impressive.

Do feel we got away with that one a little. Ryder SPP and co were doing so well and Rozseelooks a star. Great resilience to fight through and grab the win

Just on another point.
I wonder what Rayner said to Rocky, what ever it was it looked like Rocky put him back in his box.
Big fan of Rayner , but that wasn''t good in my book.
He ain't there yet, and leave that shit out and play footy that's how you get respect.
Oh yeah, l actually loved that bit. Who knows what was said but Rayner isn't going to stand down to anyone. Could have been Rayner saying something to him or Rocky, who knows. Looked like a 0-0 draw. Athough Rayner did rub the side of his belly at the end of the quarrel, assuming that it means he has a bit of a gut (not that Rayner an talk haha)

Wow , how did we win that game ! Mitch was like a bull those last few minutes , need to address the center clearances as we were flogged , great belief and will to win got us the points

My SuperCoach scores sucked, but at least we won! :D

Special mention to Rich for bouncing back after a disaster of an opening Qtr, and I thought Gardiner was better than what some give him credit for.

I'm not convinced on Bastinac in the team, he was good in round 1, but he's been largely a passenger since. Personally, I'd opt for Christensen for a bit of pace & creativity on the Half Forward flank, IIRC he's been good in the reserves lately. Unfortunately, Bailey was a downright liability tonight, easily cost us 2-3 goals with rookie errors, maybe he needs a spell in the 2's.

Out: Bastinac
In: Christensen
If you watch the replay you will see Bastinac on numerous occasions chase forward & back incredibly hard. Lot of unseen stuff that the coaches are asking him to do and he is playing his part. Has to or he will get dropped.

Paul Roos seems to hate us when he's commentating. Can't stand him or his voice, give us Huddo, BT or even Dermie over him

Game was probably a bit exciting for him, cant stand the lions attacking high scoring style. Bring back the 8 goal to 7 grind he says.

Paul Roos seems to hate us when he's commentating. Can't stand him or his voice, give us Huddo, BT or even Dermie over him

Agree with that but at least you don't have to put up with DU-wayne, who we seem to get every game .....o_O:):)

Very cool...its amazing how memories such as this will never be forgotten.

I have similar memories of various interactions with a lot of the Fitzroy boys as a young fella and one with my hero Mickey Conlan that I've never forgotten.

I think Hodge needs a rest. He looked a tired man last night. Give him a week off and bring him back fresh for the Pies.
I reckon anyone playing a fast paced 37 minute final quarter is gonna look a bit shagged by the end of it!

That said I wouldn't mind him taking a week off the ground either. Still send him to do some bench coaching though.

Yeah he gave away a few when isolated in defence as he knew he couldn't go with the player. I'd give him the week off too bit let him go down to Melbourne with the guys still and see family etc. Get him along to the pies game on sat night to scout with the coaches. Bit he's a competitive bigger, not sure he'd want to

I was off Bailey in a big way last night but in the cold light of day let’s let the kid have a bad game. Week before was being compared to the great Johnno. I feel he is the kind of kid who’s confidence could be dented easily. Let’s stick with him he had a bad week so be it. Also why every week does someone what to drop Hodge?

I think the calls for Hodgey to be omitted this week has more to do with the 5 day break to the next game v the Pies. He's not going to be playing all 25 games of the season anyway, good opportunity for a rest.

Amazing, just watching the replay and the commentators were actually sympathetic to that flog that jumped into McCluggage at the start of the 2nd quarter. There's absolutely zero reason to leave the ground and hip and shoulder into someone's head, much less after they've already taken the mark. They go on to say Brisbane's lucky to not have given away the reversal free - he's just frigging lucky McCluggage got up again.

I think the calls for Hodgey to be omitted this week has more to do with the 5 day break to the next game v the Pies. He's not going to be playing all 25 games of the season anyway, good opportunity for a rest.

Seems reasonable if that’s the reason. Also happened last two weeks as well, I think he very important on the ground.