List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part III

• Thread starter Thread starter George

The embedded resources below are kept up to date by the trade board mods (as much as possible – we are human after all). Enjoy!

Courtesy of Lore

Last edited by a moderator:

the-simpsons-homer-simpson.gif

Dow is a better player than Gresham. Better kick, just as quick off a step, better clearance player, finds more of the footy, bigger, stronger. Controversial take but reckon history might prove it right (here's hoping).

A Team 2024

B. Clohesy-PSD Cordy Wilkie
H.B. NWM Battle Sinclair
C. Hill Dow Wood
H.F. Butler Caminiti Mannagh-PSD
F. Higgins King Sharman
Foll. Marshall Steele Crouch
I/C. Owens, Phillipou, Shiel, Windhager, L.Henry
Emerg. Campbell, Hayes, Ross

Draftee's:

1. C.Windsor
2. O.Murphy
3. T.O'Leary
4. L.Charleson

Cat.B Rookie:

1. The Irishman
Two preseason draftees straight into the 22, but both Henry and Shiel on the bench.

Mate… you need to go have a lie down.

Yeah, I had a look at Essendon's board, pretty much 20 of me on there.
Wash your mouth out…you’re not even close to that sort of delusional poster!

And see our midfield gets slaughtered next year and maybe 2025? Because Owens / Windhager and our 2023/2024 draftees are unlikely to be ready right away.
We came 6th this year where our midfield was the weakest part of the team , Steele was well below his best , Crouch was more than serviceable however Clark , Gresham and Ross were not the answer however throwing Sinclair in there a few times helped us out.

To add to the problem Bytel never showed enough by the sounds to be given a run and Jones never got on the park and Owens was required in the forward line and Windhager was sparingly used and when he was it was in the backline.

Roll on to next season - I'm pretty sure we will see a improved Steele , Crouch is always serviceable and with the forwards fit Owens will surely be given a good shot at the midfield and knowing he is one of our best players at winning the ball - I wouldn't say he is not ready the way he played this year.

On top of this Windhager will only get stronger and better and these 2 kids have the determination to make a impact now and with the addition of Dow and hopefully a rejuvenated Clark , Jones and players like Sinclair getting a spell in the middle we should be in far better shape.

We came 6th this year where our midfield was the weakest part of the team , Steele was well below his best , Crouch was more than serviceable however Clark , Gresham and Ross were not the answer however throwing Sinclair in there a few times helped us out.

To add to the problem Bytel never showed enough by the sounds to be given a run and Jones never got on the park and Owens was required in the forward line and Windhager was sparingly used and when he was it was in the backline.

Roll on to next season - I'm pretty sure we will see a improved Steele , Crouch is always serviceable and with the forwards fit Owens will surely be given a good shot at the midfield and knowing he is one of our best players at winning the ball - I wouldn't say he is not ready the way he played this year.

On top of this Windhager will only get stronger and better and these 2 kids have the determination to make a impact now and with the addition of Dow and hopefully a rejuvenated Clark , Jones and players like Sinclair getting a spell in the middle we should be in far better shape.
I think a lot of our growth is going to be just from Owens, Windhager and Philipou becoming all that much stronger and faster and being able to have more midfield minutes. None of them will be able to be be pure mids just yet but I can see Owens and Windhager both doing 50/50 splits between the Forward and backlines.

Are we still likely to get pick 13 compo for Gresham? Feels like the whole ess-stk shiel-gresh talk has faded away, amongst the journos too

High chance I think, even James Jordan / Flynn is getting a second round pick, if it’s true Gresham is signing for $850k with the bombers, along with his age, should trigger band 1 comp easily.

Shiel if we can get for a 3rd round pick, then it’s a win-win.

Have we ever considered how collectively bad we are for each other's mental health in here?

Opposite imo. Caring deeply about something you have zero power to change - the STKFC - is completely irrational. Going somewhere you can be surrounded by other crazies who feel roughly the same way and go through similar ups and downs can assuage the negatives slightly.

It's like if you can't quit drugs then at least find a connect that sells you good quality.

Trade latest: Blue requests move, Coffield-Henry link to unlock deal 1696792026353.png
https://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/...l/news-story/6229f02cb8b65f3c1d5b2bf131c6049a

HS have put a new article up saying Saints will do well with Gresh pick due to market conditions. Used James Jordan as an example.

Also we are looking likely to use Coffield pick to get Henry and a late pick to get Dow. Also it will be a late pick for Shiel if we do it and by the end the Saints should have 3 picks inside 32.

My “mate”

👍 I can’t ever remember seeing a worse kick in Navy than Paddy Dow and I so wanted him to be a gun - can find the ball though’

Being a human bin-chicken, I watched Dow with a keen interest at VFL level think a top 2 DP would be a handy pick up. Honestly must have seen his worst patch of footy because he made Clint Jones look elite by foot. The announcers were saying he was going at 35% or something. He had about 28 kicks and he turned most over. Blind bombed most of them straight to the opposition backs.

When he got back in the side this year he looked to dish off and play to his strengths at least. He has a bit of a Stuv ability to hit the ball moving and busts through packs though. Like Jones he adds a bit of something different to the midfield mix too.