Preview 2025 Rd 15 Carlton vs North Melbourne Saturday 1:20PM AEST @ MCG

All good - still disappointing that despite cleaning out our injury prone group, we're still really banged up the whole season.

Yes ... we are a perennial Injury prone team in the AFL going by the last few seasons.
Can't shake it off with this mob. Even if we were good enough to be a contender, when the going gets tough in September ... odds are we'd be dropping off like flies after a squirt of Mortein.

Our mob clearly can't handle the tough going. Not enough depth to cover ourselves when the pressure is on.

Can't count on Harry, Charlie, SOS, Walsh, Acres, Fantasia, Williams, Cerra, Gov

As for Injury list ... at least we aren't having a 'mare like the Bombers and GWS this season <--- a +ve

* Been there done that :oops:

Yes ... we are a perennial Injury prone team in the AFL going by the last few seasons.
Can't shake it off with this mob. Even if we were good enough to be a contender, when the going gets tough in September ... odds are we'd be dropping off like flies after a squirt of Mortein.

Our mob clearly can't handle the tough going. Not enough depth to cover ourselves when the pressure is on.

Can't count on Harry, Charlie, SOS, Walsh, Acres, Fantasia, Williams, Cerra, Gov

As for Injury list ... at least we aren't having a 'mare like the Bombers and GWS this season <--- a +ve

* Been there done that :oops:

One positive is Cerra seems to have corrected his hamstring issues after that trip to Dubai - played all 13 games so far this season.

Think his team mate Skull O’Keeffe needs to follow the same path having had multiple serious hamstrings prior to the current “standard” one. We need the heir apparent (or no. 2) to be available to play.

H O’K. Pitto
Charlie. Young
White. Durdin

Lemmey emergency

TDK, Young forward

McGovern, Silvagni, Weitering back

Pitto first ruck changing with Young

H O’K. Pitto
Charlie. Young
White. Durdin

Lemmey emergency

TDK, Young forward

McGovern, Silvagni, Weitering back

Pitto first ruck changing with Young
Acres needs a rest for mine.
In Pitto Young Moir
Out HOK Curnow Acres

Carroll and Binns on wings

TDL FF Pitto in the Ruck

Moir sub

In: Boyd, Young
Out: HoK (inj), Acres (enough)

Boyd Weitering Haynes
Carroll Silvagni Saad
OHollands Cripps Binns
Cincotta Charlie Fantasia
Williams McGovern Young
TdK Cerra Lord
Hewett Motlop Docherty Forgarty Durdin

If Charlie doesn’t get up = Lemmey

You give up easily. Got the same feel as the West Coast game from last year, and we won that. Charlie will kick 6. Just on depth, no team's depth is endless. Fans under-rate it, though.
I am with the cautious fans....we are deadset middle upper table....around 10th
We got high end stuff on every line....but lack solid good genuine hardworking B graders
Like we need another Saad,Hewett,we need Kemp back and the quality of
Our list is not deep t all....look at the Young bloods we HAD to play this year....
Maybe Lord Hok Carroll will progress........
everyone knows North are on the way eventually....slowly
would be happy To take 20 point win at mcg with a blues dominant crowd

He'd be against their #2
Yep the unenviable task of trying to compete with 34 year Decoy Forward, Jack Darling.

I actually think Jack's been good, but must be time for some new blood at the baggers. From an outside perspective and someone who follows the blues by birthright, not club membership/fanatical support (my Grandfather was a 80 year social club member of the Baggers so I should really be one of you).

I am with the cautious fans....we are deadset middle upper table....around 10th
We got high end stuff on every line....but lack solid good genuine hardworking B graders
Like we need another Saad,Hewett,we need Kemp back and the quality of
Our list is not deep t all....look at the Young bloods we HAD to play this year....
Maybe Lord Hok Carroll will progress........
everyone knows North are on the way eventually....slowly
would be happy To take 20 point win at mcg with a blues dominant crowd

We can claim the side has all the talent on every line all we want but it is unbalanced which makes it hard to win.
The only genuine ball carriers, are: cerra, Hollands, Cincotta(2games), Fantasia, Saad, Carrol
You can debate about Binns, Acres and Docherty but they are a combination of poor kicking or lack speed & that is after acknowleding Binns improvement
Clearly not enough transition ability in the side which limits the effectiveness of our contest work and Key position players
So the way I see selection, is likely we are not good enough to make finals, so risk selecting the players that might make us a better transition team: wilson, boyd & Moir, Young
I just don't see them as significantly worse than the mix currently selected.

The wierd thing for me if I may look in the rear vision mirror for a moment, is the 79-82 side were exactly what we lack today and were also questioned initially, like contemporary Collingwood, for their star quality but they had run and carry and eveness over the whole 20.
It is not like we are reinventing the wheel, we just have to get the list management right to match the impending coaching changes and it can start by selecting pace in the next 10 games

With the lists being smaller, than what they used to be. We need every player available when physically fit.

Their is no room for players, with mental issues. I don't mean to be harsh, but Lij and H both need to be traded this off

season. We cannot afford to carry them any longer.

AFL footy is not for everyone, it is demanding and requires a lot of discipline and fortitude. So many young guys have been

pampered and spoiled their whole lives. Private schools and mothers that let them get away without doing any house-hold

chores. Just my take.
I agree that why we have fallen off the cliff I get a feeling it all started half way in 2024 with the 2

Bring Pitto in and move TDK forward.
TDK basically replaces HOK.

Bring Boyd or Wilson in for Doc.
Would love to Billy get a chance.

Binns was brought in after Walsh went out probably because he has such a good tank, if Acres is replaced (can’t see it) they would want to bring in a good running player.

Charlie will play I reckon.

We win this, at the G, Saady’s 100, and we have good defence, and will kick 12 against this mob.

I know it’s difficult to compare teams based on past performances, but North’s form over the past 5 games hasn’t been too shabby.

If Harry and Charlie are both out who can be relied on to kick a winning score. Also our midfield has been down. If TDK plays forward as some suggest, Xerri may dominate in ruck and force us to play TDK in the ruck to avoid getting beaten at centre clearances.

I’m hoping for a win but not that confident.

IMG_2750.jpeg

I know it’s difficult to compare teams based on past performances, but North’s form over the past 5 games hasn’t been too shabby.

If Harry and Charlie are both out who can be relied on to kick a winning score. Also our midfield has been down. If TDK plays forward as some suggest, Xerri may dominate in ruck and force us to play TDK in the ruck to avoid getting beaten at centre clearances.

I’m hoping for a win but not that confident.

View attachment 2346044
held West Coast to the same amount we did, except we added an extra 4 goals

Confused Jack Black GIF by NETFLIX
Pitto