Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 7 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

No one will be a perfect replacement for Libba and I don’t care how good they are

Libba is a JET footballer and brings so much more to the club such as soul
Maybe Libba Jr Jr will….he is definitely an entertainer after that run on Mars earlier this year

Western suburbs not as nice to live in
Fewer opportunities to make money through third party sponsorships and build a name
More travel/playing in worse locations (we go to Canberra and not Sydney to play GWS, we go to Darwin and not GC to play GC, we travel to Perth more than other teams)...
Don't get to play at the MCG as often
Smaller crowds
Less "impressive" to very moderate football fans in social circles who are more impressed if you tell them you play for Collingwood or Richmond than if you play for the Dogs
Not as nice? You been to Seddon, Yarraville, Newport, Williamstown lately? Much more dynamic than the boring east and I have consistently said Williamstown is the most impressive (historically, architecturally, and in terms of preservation, with beautiful homes, lovely parks and gardens, a beach, etc) and prettiest suburb in Melbourne. Even Footscray has improved massively (albeit the CBD needs work - especially the old Forges site)….

But it's all relative to other clubs then isn't it? I'm making the broader point that it's an annoying location to base yourself and drive yourself to training when you'd literally be driving past other clubs to get to Footscray in many cases.
Heaps of player and ex players live in the inner West, including ex big club (recently retired) players. I see them all the time.

Duursma was a weird selection from north, Always looked most likely to be a bust.

They probably should’ve played it safe and went Watson or sanders
In hindsight yes but Sanders would’ve been a pretty illogical decision. They had already drafted Sheezel, Wardlaw & McKercher in recent years and IIRC the general perception was that they had already drafted too many mids.

I can also guarantee that Watson would look reasonably horrible at North. It’s a incredibly difficult role to play in a terrible team.

I think it’s pretty silly for anyone to try and understand why / why not someone would want to live or play at a certain place.

I’d much rather live in the west than somewhere like Albert Park, a lot of people would think that’s crazy. Almost like everyone is different.

One thing you can’t argue is that that if you play for a club like Carlton or Essendon is that you’ll definitely get a better chance to network for post footy.

In hindsight yes but Sanders would’ve been a pretty illogical decision. They had already drafted Sheezel, Wardlaw & McKercher in recent years and IIRC the general perception was that they had already drafted too many mids.

I can also guarantee that Watson would look reasonably horrible at North. It’s an incredibly difficult role to play in a terrible team.
Yeh that’s probably fair

Article touching on Zane Durrsma here, and the opinion that North will have buyer's regret for passing on Watson:

It's still extremely early to be judging the 2023 draft class, they're only 18 months into their career. At this stage praise should be heaped on those that have come on quickly whilst holding fire on the perceived underperformed for atleast another 12 months.

I can also guarantee that Watson would look reasonably horrible at North. It’s a incredibly difficult role to play in a terrible team.
I agree there likely isn't much difference in output between the two given they both play roles dependent on their team mates feeding them the ball. I also don't think Zane has been used particularly well.

Not as nice? You been to Seddon, Yarraville, Newport, Williamstown lately? Much more dynamic than the boring east and I have consistently said Williamstown is the most impressive (historically, architecturally, and in terms of preservation, with beautiful homes, lovely parks and gardens, a beach, etc) and prettiest suburb in Melbourne. Even Footscray has improved massively (albeit the CBD needs work - especially the old Forges site)….
All of that is true but you underestimate how hard it is to change the opinions of people who have grown up being told one thing. That is why you hear things about footballers wanting to play for a Carlton more so than the Bulldogs, because their childhood they would’ve always heard about how great Carlton were. Go back a few decades and they would be told how the west is crime ridden compared to the east, really poor socio economic area etc. None of that is entirely true nowadays but of course many will still believe that.

While I’m at it, you can add Maribyrnong, Flemington, Kensington, Ascot Vale (all suburbs less than 10 mins to Whitten oval). Moonee Ponds is only 15.

I agree with the idea the old west being the best part of Melbourne. I lived in Kingsville as a kid, then we moved out to Hoppers when that opened up. I personally love old towns and old suburbs better, the architecture and street layouts, gardens etc are all better, but they are often expensive. But if you live in the inner west and have snobby thoughts towards Werribee or Broadmeadows etc? Or if you live in Geelong and look down on Norlane and Corio? This is how the rest of Melbourne/Victoria looks towards the western suburbs (both inner and outer). Whether consciously or unconsciously or shamefully, humans do this and unfortunately for our club we are at the lowest end of that socioeconomic status.
It’s why I probably love this club even more, and the players that look past this and still want to play for us I love even more. It’s why the whole Bailey Smith saga made me sick, he is everything I dislike in professional sportsmen. You can tell certain commentators and journalists who are also first class snobs. I love Smorgo, Gordon, Susan A, KWW representing our club so well. I love Bont being such a solid respected human in every sense representing our club so well also.

I don't think it's a question of perception, historical disadvantage, geography, gentrification or the nice and Victorian cottages that abound in the inner west, when it comes to the clubs ability to attract high profile recruits. Just as it's a factor in us seemingly being a genuine contender for Butters should he decide to leave. I dont think we should underestimate the pull of family and friends and going 'home' when these decisions are made. And the reality is that the APS footy factory is still the dominant pathway that junior players come through and that system is centred in the inner/eastern and bayside suburbs.

And the reality is that the APS footy factory is still the dominant pathway that junior players come through and that system is centred in the inner/eastern and bayside suburbs.
Is the reason for this because APS has the facilities and resources to better develop players than “suburban clubs”, or because APS are able to obtain the best prospects early through offering scholarships?
I don’t know the answer just curious if there is an accepted reason.

I think it’s pretty silly for anyone to try and understand why / why not someone would want to live or play at a certain place.

I’d much rather live in the west than somewhere like Albert Park, a lot of people would think that’s crazy. Almost like everyone is different.

One thing you can’t argue is that that if you play for a club like Carlton or Essendon is that you’ll definitely get a better chance to network for post footy.
yeah, with a bunch of flogs.

Is the reason for this because APS has the facilities and resources to better develop players than “suburban clubs”, or because APS are able to obtain the best prospects early through offering scholarships?
I don’t know the answer just curious if there is an accepted reason.

Both, playing into each other.

I agree with the idea the old west being the best part of Melbourne. I lived in Kingsville as a kid, then we moved out to Hoppers when that opened up. I personally love old towns and old suburbs better, the architecture and street layouts, gardens etc are all better, but they are often expensive. But if you live in the inner west and have snobby thoughts towards Werribee or Broadmeadows etc? Or if you live in Geelong and look down on Norlane and Corio? This is how the rest of Melbourne/Victoria looks towards the western suburbs (both inner and outer). Whether consciously or unconsciously or shamefully, humans do this and unfortunately for our club we are at the lowest end of that socioeconomic status.
It’s why I probably love this club even more, and the players that look past this and still want to play for us I love even more. It’s why the whole Bailey Smith saga made me sick, he is everything I dislike in professional sportsmen. You can tell certain commentators and journalists who are also first class snobs. I love Smorgo, Gordon, Susan A, KWW representing our club so well. I love Bont being such a solid respected human in every sense representing our club so well also.
He could have bought a milk bar in the west…..

It all comes back to where you have grown up. Most of us have probably grown up in the west so we prefer it. But if your friends and family are from the east or south you would prefer the other side of town.

It would be nice if more afl quality footballers came from the west. The declining wrfl, lack of private schools and consistently poor western jets is the biggest issue in regard to location.