Oppo Camp Non-Lions Discussion 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Jivlain

if wanganeen-milera leaves i wont feel sorry for st kilda in the slightest. you want to complain about the draft being unfair due to academies? enjoy the shoe falling onto the other foot where you cop what we did for years with draftees wanting to go home at the earliest opportunity.

Fix ya kultcha.....

if wanganeen-milera leaves i wont feel sorry for st kilda in the slightest. you want to complain about the draft being unfair due to academies? enjoy the shoe falling onto the other foot where you cop what we did for years with draftees wanting to go home at the earliest opportunity.

Interestingly enough, I can't remember the last time any of the current bottom 9 sides (and that includes the dogs, looking at the current ladder), got an A grade trade target.

Nah, I'm sure there were heaps & they just didn't amount to what the club hoped. Probably a third of the Blues lineup.

If anyones bored, feel free to highlight some good trades of stars to any of the bottom 9 teams.

From Michael Whiting's write up of Logan Morris on AFL.com.au, great read and I laughed a lot at this:

"Over his final two years as a junior, Morris spoke to 17 of the 18 AFL clubs.

The only club he didn't speak to was St Kilda, which ironically have been the most vocal about the advantages Brisbane and other northern state clubs get with their academies."

I dont think they seriously consider themselves with a premiership list. Their backline is starting to fall apart with May and Lever almost done. Forward line is a complete mess. And the mids are so reliant on Gawn.

I reckon its a fools chance to take them on and try and do anything with it. Better off trying to partially rebuild the list
They sort of have done this past draft by getting Langford and Lindsay through the door. They don't have a first round pick in this draft, though it's considered a poorer quality draft, and then there's only one draft left before Tasmania come in and the top talent will be much harder to get for a few years. Richmond melted their team down at exactly the right time to get in ahead of Tasmania, now it's probably a bit late to do so. I guess they could sell off a few veterans like Viney who is wanted at North, but the problem there is the remaining veterans will be players like May who are cultural problems, not the ones you want setting examples for the youngsters.

I think Melbourne will be alright if they hire the right coach. I never rated Goodwin that highly, and thought he was a fraud until 2021 when they were unstoppable. Perhaps that year was a bit of a pyrrhic victory, as it went to some of their heads and enabled the cultural rot to set in. Still, they have Petracca, Pickett and Rivers to take them forward. Maybe Oliver cleans up his act too.

Good get for the Suns if it happens and clearly, players are wanting to go there to cash in on a potential flag or in the very least, prolonged period of being finalists and winning more games than they lose:

Will be nice seeing players bail from the Pies too.

Omg he's never going to go to the Suns. He might even tour the facility to build the drama up and then go back to promptly sign a contract with Pies. Clubs keep falling for this crap from Elliott.

I think Melbourne will be alright if they hire the right coach. I never rated Goodwin that highly, and thought he was a fraud until 2021 when they were unstoppable. Perhaps that year was a bit of a pyrrhic victory, as it went to some of their heads and enabled the cultural rot to set in. Still, they have Petracca, Pickett and Rivers to take them forward. Maybe Oliver cleans up his act too.
YAY! I learnt something today, I had never heard/seen that word in all my 65 years until today, thank you JB and thank you google.

Omg he's never going to go to the Suns. He might even tour the facility to build the drama up and then go back to promptly sign a contract with Pies. Clubs keep falling for this crap from Elliott.

Credit to him for switching up to another club in GCS this time round tho.

It must be grim supporting St Kilda. You finally draft a guy that can be a marketable star and he wants to leave. It looks like he is gone.

Badly run club! If you want to keep players it might be a good idea to stop whinging about how hard it is for you to compete and how disadvantaged you are.

Might help attract and keep players if you stop whinging!

Also lol:

Over his final two years as a junior, Morris spoke to 17 of the 18 AFL clubs.

The only club he didn't speak to was St Kilda, which ironically have been the most vocal about the advantages Brisbane and other northern state clubs get with their academies.

Badly run club! If you want to keep players it might be a good idea to stop whinging about how hard it is for you to compete and how disadvantaged you are.

Might help attract and keep players if you stop whinging!

Also lol:

This is good stuff it truly is. I will absolutely not use this in bad faith arguments on the mainboard.

1754521296224.png

It is absolutely disingenuous to bag St Kilda for missing out on Logan, given that pretty much every team did.

I will 100% be doing it.

Would Logan be the same player at St Kilda he has become at the Lions?
Me thinks not.
Too many variables. What you'd ideally need is a pair of identical twin forwards, one to be drafted by St Kilda and the other to be drafted by a northern state club, and see how their respective careers panned out for comparison. But there's no chance of that happening of course

Me thinks not.

No. He’d be showing glimpses of what he is showing consistently for us. The lack of opportunity the Saints forward line gets together with subpar entries mean his talent wouldn’t shine as much as it has with us.

Although I’m sure NWM would be hitting him with a few nice kicks.

The footy media pundits mostly very confident the Magpies will bounce back tomorrow night with a win, I am in no way a fan of either side but I'd love the Hawks to beat the Magpies.

We basically laid out the blueprint for beating the pies - stop Nick Daicos. But don't stop him by the way of the tag, stop him by pressuring every touch he makes.

40% of their scoring comes from the guy. Stop him, take your chances and you probably win. Whether or not the Hawks have the personnel to do that is a different question.

Me thinks not.
He wouldn't be the same player at any club. He benefited by joining a fantastic team who not only gave him the opportunity to learn on the road, but he was also protected by better players around him. Joe, Eric and Charlie all had the attention of the defenders, so Logan was able to go out with the intention of contributing. Even if he dropped a mark, or made a mistake, he would have been covered by these players. He wouldn't have had this luxury at other clubs, especially with the amount of forward 50 entries we give as well. I'm not saying we're the reason for his success, as it's been said by his team mates that he is really serious about improving his game and he spends a lot of effort on it, but you can't underestimate the importance of joining a club that has the right environment and lets you go out there as a young player without the stress of being the "it" factor. I also think this is where it went wrong with Josh Schache. He joined us when we were poor, and there was no one to really learn off, and the pressure was always there. Logan doesn't have any of this, and he's about to go out, make mistakes, and just enjoy his football. And i think that's what contributed to his growth.

Apologies if already mentioned but the Pies recruiter Ned now with Tassie apparently, wanted to pick Logan but was overruled by perhaps Fly, can't quite remember for a player yet to appear in 1s. Bit of of a nightmare for them last round.

I know vossy is a legend here, but seeing him not only stay at Carlton, but also Ken Hinkley being linked to their coaching department is kinda funny

Lets him do his best work: looking wacky on camera.