Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

In the context of the trade broken down he said Ryan and 13 for 8 was probably unders for us, but Barrat for 32 was unders for the Saints. Think the net result looks ok for both clubs. If we exclude Barrat and 32 then I’d push for our 2R and not 13 as well.
I'm pretty sure he's mention that trade previously without Barrat.

Getting Barrat is delusional.

Been bottom of the ladder ,without a senior assistant, head of fitness/ rehab has just left.
Going to be bloody hard to attract players.
Surely Pikey is going to get this sorted out asap
After the 1st year a coach starts to build his own assistants . Its the norm

Been bottom of the ladder ,without a senior assistant, head of fitness/ rehab has just left.
Going to be bloody hard to attract players.
Surely Pikey is going to get this sorted out asap
Assistants might already be locked in but at teams playing in finals. Don’t think they would’ve cut this deep without coaches lined up or have a short list already.

Head of fitness has to be signed up asap but players would already have their off season fitness schedule. If the Bombers were linked to the Lions fitness guru maybe we also need to head hunt him. The Inness link to the Bombers has been rumoured for a while and being contracted he would’ve been updating the Eagles through the process, which means we should be a fair way down our path to bring someone in too. Did sound like we might be promoting within though.

St Kilda will be a very interesting watch next year. Lyon will have to deliver improvement after this buying spree. He won't have any more excuses left after this. If i had to bet one way or the other i would bet this will fail.

I think the Saints will be flying next year if RTB gets the Ryan trade right ..

What ever we get for Ryan has to help get a trade done this year.

Trading a contracted player for a future pick when we need to start improving now and getting players in the door to start developing them a year earlier.

A lot depends on what draft assistance (if any) the AFL decide to give us and to a lesser extent where the Hawthorn picks we hold eventually land - could be 11,29,47 before complexities or in the worst case scenario we get 18,36,54

That will determine how many list spots we open up for the talent we want to bring in/can entice from other clubs. Right now we’re a difficult sell for prospective trade targets and are probably limited to players wanting to to return to WA (like Starcevich) and/or looking for more opportunity which might result in us looking through the discard pile (like Blight and possibly a board favourite named Dev something)

At this point we only have 4 list spots, which will become 6 after the likely departures of Allen (giving us pick 2) and Ryan whose trade value remains to be seen. If Chesser takes up the Carlton offer that opens up another spot

Cripps, Cole, Newton and Chesser have all reportedly been offered new contracts but are yet to be confirmed as signed on. Livingstone and Champion (both Cat B rookies) are the only uncontracted players who’s status is unknown and their future might be dependent on the draft assistance package

I’m going to assume we are given, as a minimum, two extra Cat B spots plus the ability to prelist our NGA players - the extra Cat B spots are virtually worthless without the ability to prelist. This would allow us to add Koby Evans and Tylah Williams

My hope is we retain Chesser which means 6 spots to be filled via trade/draft with the following picks:

• Pick 1: Draft (Duursma)
• Pick 2: Draft (Sharp)
• Hawthorn R1(TBA): Draft
• WCE R2(19+): Draft
(I’d be inclined to combine these two picks to trade up into the top 10 if possible)
• Hawthorn R2(TBA): Trade for ???(Davies/Erasmus/Ah Chee or similar)
• Hawthorn R3(TBA): Trade (Starcevich)
• WCE R4 (73+): Banfield

Overall 3x top 10 picks thereabouts plus Banfield and two players traded in to fill the 6 spots

Ideally, we also get two additional rookie list spots to give us the ability to bring another couple of players in

All the above is a long winded way of saying we don’t necessarily need draft capital this year for Ryan and we may be better getting a future draft pick for him.

eaglevision loves a delusional trade hypothetical to clog up the thread. The new Obeanie special mega trade.

Think I’ve seen Neale, Warner, Boxshall, Wilson and now Barrat discussed at length now despite none being anywhere near a realistic possibility.
Dont forget FOS.

TBH I like the idea of giving a big offer to windhager. Would be a really good addition to the midfield room.

Have you seen him play ? I’ve seen nothing to justify his hype.
Have you seen US play??

Aleer would be great addition, far better than our current third tall options (Brock/Bazzo) and the Richmond scraps we are kicking the tyres on.

Not sure there’s been that much hype really but it’s a good sign that GWS want to keep him even when not getting many games due to their stacked backline.

Was a first round pick, taller than Ginbey (194 vs 191) and crazy athletic (holds the running vertical combine record of 107cm which is 5cm higher than Nic Nat). Has played/trained alongside one of the best defensive groups in the league (Taylor/Buckley/Idun).

Could form a dynamic combo with Reuben as 2nd/3rd talls or one as an interceptor. Edwards takes the big units and Hough/Starcevich the medium/smalls.

Not a bad option and more likely given he is from SA not VIC.

Really don’t understand the attitude of sitting around with our thumb in our arse waiting for a WA born HBF with midfield potential to say they want to ply for us.

The players being discussed aren’t top 10 players in the comp and off limits, they are players that will make an appreciable difference in our list build by trading good assets for good assets. We’d be mad not to go over every single list in the competition and at least have a phone call with players and their managers that would improve our list.

Really don’t understand the attitude of sitting around with our thumb in our arse waiting for a WA born HBF with midfield potential to say they want to ply for us.

The players being discussed aren’t top 10 players in the comp and off limits, they are players that will make an appreciable difference in our list build by trading good assets for good assets. We’d be mad not to go over every single list in the competition and at least have a phone call with players and their managers that would improve our list.
How do we know what the club's doing?

Could be talking to heaps of players, for all we know.

How do we know what the club's doing?

Could be talking to heaps of players, for all we know.

I wasn’t talking about the club.

I was talking about the attitude of oh he’s probably not going to come over so don’t bother asking that some seem to have.

Sam Flanders has shown he can do this playing pure mid, will be in his 7th season next year so a "senior" body and is the perfect age for us

Already been discussed alot but football wise he is the perfect fit imo
Flanders would be a great addition to our midfield. Hell he could even bring his mate Fiorini as a FA. Imagine having a couple of mids that can actually accumulate the footy 😱

A lot depends on what draft assistance (if any) the AFL decide to give us and to a lesser extent where the Hawthorn picks we hold eventually land - could be 11,29,47 before complexities or in the worst case scenario we get 18,36,54

That will determine how many list spots we open up for the talent we want to bring in/can entice from other clubs. Right now we’re a difficult sell for prospective trade targets and are probably limited to players wanting to to return to WA (like Starcevich) and/or looking for more opportunity which might result in us looking through the discard pile (like Blight and possibly a board favourite named Dev something)

At this point we only have 4 list spots, which will become 6 after the likely departures of Allen (giving us pick 2) and Ryan whose trade value remains to be seen. If Chesser takes up the Carlton offer that opens up another spot

Cripps, Cole, Newton and Chesser have all reportedly been offered new contracts but are yet to be confirmed as signed on. Livingstone and Champion (both Cat B rookies) are the only uncontracted players who’s status is unknown and their future might be dependent on the draft assistance package

I’m going to assume we are given, as a minimum, two extra Cat B spots plus the ability to prelist our NGA players - the extra Cat B spots are virtually worthless without the ability to prelist. This would allow us to add Koby Evans and Tylah Williams

My hope is we retain Chesser which means 6 spots to be filled via trade/draft with the following picks:

• Pick 1: Draft (Duursma)
• Pick 2: Draft (Sharp)
• Hawthorn R1(TBA): Draft
• WCE R2(19+): Draft
(I’d be inclined to combine these two picks to trade up into the top 10 if possible)
• Hawthorn R2(TBA): Trade for ???(Davies/Erasmus/Ah Chee or similar)
• Hawthorn R3(TBA): Trade (Starcevich)
• WCE R4 (73+): Banfield

Overall 3x top 10 picks thereabouts plus Banfield and two players traded in to fill the 6 spots

Ideally, we also get two additional rookie list spots to give us the ability to bring another couple of players in

All the above is a long winded way of saying we don’t necessarily need draft capital this year for Ryan and we may be better getting a future draft pick for him.
To let a player leave who is contacted when we need mature players for a future draft pick is going backwards. If we don’t get a player for Ryan and get a future pick we need to bring a player in of the same value in a position of need. Can’t keep getting younger.

Assistants might already be locked in but at teams playing in finals. Don’t think they would’ve cut this deep without coaches lined up or have a short list already.

Head of fitness has to be signed up asap but players would already have their off season fitness schedule. If the Bombers were linked to the Lions fitness guru maybe we also need to head hunt him. The Inness link to the Bombers has been rumoured for a while and being contracted he would’ve been updating the Eagles through the process, which means we should be a fair way down our path to bring someone in too. Did sound like we might be promoting within though.
Is Harleys uncle available?

I was talking about the attitude of oh he’s probably not going to come over so don’t bother asking that some seem to have.

There’s a difference between “he’s probably not going to come over” and “he’s almost certainly not going to come over”.

That’s where people are arguing with you.

I rate your ideas. Unfortunately it’s not as simple as a fair trade.
The reality is that we’re shit and just had a 1 win season. Attracting any player is hard enough. Let alone the move/travel aspect of interstate talent.
The club tends to conservative in terms of list management - 99% of your ideas just ain’t gonna happen

I’m as much as a trade pessimist of all of you but I tell ya what Jayden Hunt coming to WC without having any tangible link here means there’s a precedent. Hunt was a good senior pro for a good few seasons.

The club tends to conservative in terms of list management - 99% of your ideas just ain’t gonna happen

I suspect this is a gross underestimate.

There’s a difference between “he’s probably not going to come over” and “he’s almost certainly not going to come over”.

That’s where people are arguing with you.

Nothing we discuss on here will change whether a player comes over or not, but we should still be exploring how we make that happen. Worst case the player says no way. Ok, move on. Who’s next?

Someone who’s more than two fifths of half a smidgeon of a chance, preferably.

100%

3 West Australian half forwards just signed extensions with there respective interstate clubs, despite our likely advances.

Harley stayed.

Judd stayed.

Hurn, Duggan, etc etc

We are a club that retains interstate players.

We should be asking the question of anyone who we think will contribute to making us better, however unlikely. Throw some darts like the saints are doing.

Look, at the end of the day, fantasy trades are half the fun of being on BigFooty. No one here is under the illusion that every scenario is going to play out exactly as we post it, but that’s not the point.

Playing list manager forces you to think about list profiles, age demographics, cap space, draft picks, and what other clubs actually need... It’s not just complete pie in the sky, there’s usually some logic behind the madness.

Without fantasy trades, what are we left with at this time of year? Finals match threads, “sack the coach” threads, and general whinging. Trade talk gets people engaged, debating value, and firing off counter offers. It’s half serious, half banter, and keeps the board ticking over.

When the actual trades roll in, we've already workshopped a 100's of different scenarios. You know who’s potentially gettable, who’s overpriced, and what the alternatives might have been. Suddenly you’re more tuned in to what your club’s list managers are trying to pull off.

This is the biggest one... We’re footy nuffies. It’s fun to throw a dream player into a dozen different trade packages. No one’s losing sleep over it.

Have some fun and speculate, dream a little.

Don't be a feckn sad sack Kent