Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

I just don't think it's worth getting a mediocre outside midfielder to take time away from the young guys.
We've got experienced midfielders in Graham, Baker (if McQualter wants to use him there) and Yeo (hopefully). If it was someone like Steele to be the in and under guy, I'd be ok with it but I don't reckon we've got the list spots to waste on more list cloggers like Acres.
Neither Baker or Graham are midfielders.

As for yeo it may be worth using him off the HBF the next couple of years if we want him to get on the park

I hate to be the bearer of bad news I just don't think there are 2 midfielders of that potential in this years draft. (outside of Annable I think he can be that tier of player)

My personal opinion barring injury is the club only has 2 guaranteed next gen mids on the list in Harley and Hewett. Maric i'm 100% willing to say is a genuine wing for the club long term however I think McCarthy is best played back, so is Hough and Ginbey.

Hopefully Bo or Charlie Banfield can be the other wing but to me it still leaves us 4 very good prospects short of a future midfield.
Cheeser looks the most dynamic wing we have but struggles the find enough ball .
Davis is the one I think will be that endurance running beast who gets forward and kicks goals

I hate to be the bearer of bad news I just don't think there are 2 midfielders of that potential in this years draft. (outside of Annable I think he can be that tier of player)

My personal opinion barring injury is the club only has 2 guaranteed next gen mids on the list in Harley and Hewett. Maric i'm 100% willing to say is a genuine wing for the club long term however I think McCarthy is best played back, so is Hough and Ginbey.

Hopefully Bo or Charlie Banfield can be the other wing but to me it still leaves us 4 very good prospects short of a future midfield.
I must agree with your assessment of our midfield.

Sharp is the closest to an A quality inside mid in this draft and the rest are not.

Cumming is the best balanced mid and may be better than Hewett or the same.

This is why unless WC get a significant offer for pick 2 that ensures we get Cumming with a trade down to ESS for something including their 5 & 6 we should just take Sharp and Cumming at 1 & 2 and trade Hawks pick into next year or use it on an A grade mid like Flanders if we re in the race for him.

That becomes 3 A grade mids this year or 2 this year and 1 next year.
Players on the list like Hall, Allan, Gross, Davis we will bet maybe 1 of those as a quality mid, Allan most likely and the others are outside players, wing, HB,HF types.

Both Banfield sons look quality and we will get a decent player or 2 out of them.
Where do you see a player like Flanders fitting in if we are able t pull off a trade for him?

I would be hugely surprised if we haven't already pencilled in Sharp at #1 and looking to split 2 for an established player and pick downgrade.
Essendon is the one we need to trade with . Pick 1 (Duursma) has the most trade value and you can ask for extra .

1 + 20 for 5 + 6

Essendon can then use 20 26 27 to trade down to maybe Carlton pick 11

Exactly. It’s like asking “who will be this years Harley or N Daicos?”. There isn’t one. Those wanting us to hold pick 1 & 2 and take ‘elite talent’, it simply might not be there this year. Which sucks because it’s the first time we’ve had a real bounty of picks and they seem to be worth less than previous years. The other problem is that the depth doesn’t appear to be there either and we don’t have the list spots to make splitting worthwhile. Which is why we need to be open to improving our list via trade as well, even if that means including top picks.

Last week Ryan Daniels on that footy podcast he does with Xavier Ellis sounded pretty convinced that West Coast may use pick 2 to get into next years draft since this years draft isn't that great...well that sounds like a horrible f*cking idea with how this year and Hawthorn panned out.

This years draft may not be that 'great' but it's still picks 1 and 2. If it was the Hawks pick then fair enough.
If we split pick 1/2 down into a pick off Essendon/Carlton/Stk + their f1 or something, with later picks making up any difference I dont think thatd be the worst thing ever.
Still want 2 picks before the hawks pick ideally though.

If we ended up with Sharp, then 2 of Cumming/Farrow/NHH/Grlj or something for example to add talent to the midfield mix, then Ainsworth/Curtin/Barker with our 2nd rounder.
All while adding a decent f1 as well to hopefully snag BVR along with our expected natural top 3 pick, sounds reasonable imo.

If we split pick 1/2 down into a pick off Essendon/Carlton/Stk + their f1 or something, with later picks making up any difference I dont think thatd be the worst thing ever.
Still want 2 picks before the hawks pick ideally though.

If we ended up with Sharp, then 2 of Cumming/Farrow/NHH/Grlj or something for example to add talent to the midfield mix, then Ainsworth/Curtin/Barker with our 2nd rounder.
All while adding a decent f1 as well to hopefully snag BVR along with our expected natural top 3 pick, sounds reasonable imo.
That all sounds reasonable mate but I'm really keen to hear your thoughts on Mitch McGovern 😁

I would love to have a genuine contested beast in the midfield like Rowell or Green at GWS. If Sharp can be that player then get him in.

All this talk about "no elite talent" makes me even more keen to stick with picks 1 and 2.
A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush - take the two best players and keep rebuilding. Simple.

Split what for what exactly? Essendon picks yes, Gold Coast. Nah.

Here’s the thing

Hawthorn’s R1 and R2 was never put on the table for Barrass - from memory their initial offer was their R1 and F2 for Barrass and our F3 which we quite rightly rejected. They then went out and traded their R1 to Carlton which we had no control over and massively pissed off TB’s manager

No argument from me that trading Barrass for R1 and R2 would’ve been a better result than what eventuated but the reality is it was never available to us as an option.
We could have kept barasss for a year and clubs would have still chased him this off season

Hawks 1st this year will end up in the 20s which is a horrible return and having to wait a year for it is stupid

Trading out of this draft and into next year's sounds totally pointless and stupid IMO.

Shit draft yes, but if you're trading away pick 2 you're just kicking the rebuild can down the road. It means that's yet another 12 months before that pick actually becomes useful. Even longer if it's spent on a KPP.

For a club that bent over backwards last year to add mature bodies (Baker, Graham, Owies) so we don't get flogged (then finished last and went on to be the worst team of all time anyway) it seems silly to drag out this rebuild even further.

Even more so considering all of the promises we've no doubt made to Harley Reid and the clubs likely focus of just winning games.

Take the talent, start developing them and be patient. Top up with FA or DFA where you can but you've got to retain the high end picks.

Thx for blowing up our thread. Drop a Eagles are going to do another dumb trade with the blues in here 🤣

Relaxed Mad Men GIF

now I have 10 pages of whether we need Mitch McGovern or not to read……🤨
Meh, just put Stallon on ignore until you have caught up, probably only 5 pages then.

That almost sounds better than an extra pick this year. I'd prefer Essendon's or Carlton's F1 over Saints' F1 though.

Im Sorry where does Graham play then?
Mostly Wing /HFF has his entire career .
This season has played more on ball but he isn't very good at it .

Gets pantsed by opposition mids trying to defend and cant go toe to toe and win his own ball .

He has enough career stats to back this up . He only averaged 3.5 clearances this season where he played the most midfield in his career .

He came as advertised

Played forward all day, even rucked inside his forward 50… this Gippsland coach is pretty annoying haha.
Rhett is a fantastic coach and led the Vic Country team this year.
Gippsland has been the best team this year at Talent League and he's regularly been able to blood mid-season prospects, including one on our list that is likely to play 200+ games.

Something that hasn't reall been brought up is the Harley and Yasmin break up. If Harley did the dirty or similar and got caught out then that does potentially throw a spanner in the works for drafting Willem.

I'm not against the Willem, Sharp combo and I do think Willem has improved his game since the champs to be the most likely open pool pick 1, there's just some serious concerns.

First and foremost is a couple of years from now Vic teams will come with ridiculous offers and I don't want 2 young players taking up 4 mill of the clubs salary cap just to keep them.

The second is the potential Harley/Duursma issue (they seemed close but it's just something that plays on my mind)

Whilst I think Willem is the best of the 3 brothers and also the most versatile the family history is a slight worry.

I do however think with his size, versatility and athletic profile that unless a godfather offer comes through WCE will select him at pick 1.

IF we do a deal with the Blues for pick 2 it would have to include their F1.

10, 21, F1 for 2, F4 and Owies. The list of players I’d want from the Blues is very short and it’s still a shit deal with the pick blow outs.
Can the Blues afford to trade their future 1st?
Hopefully we'll know how this pans out before the trade period starts but IMO that would dash any chance they would have of getting Cody next year.

Can the Blues afford to trade their future 1st?
Hopefully we'll know how this pans out before the trade period starts but IMO that would dash any chance they would have of getting Cody next year.

The feasibility of the trade would only become apparent after the AFL (hopefully) announce the changes to the 2026 FS and academy bids.

Under current rules it will almost certainly be absorbed by a bid for Cody so they may see it as a very tradable asset.

If you need a pick within a certain range of a bid to match then they’d obviously hang onto it.

What a great competition.