Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

I hope we're still asking questions of Sheldrick, Erasmus, Tsatas, both Warner's and Ed Allan.
Any of them would be great additions to our team and are all in the right age bracket.
Erasmus re-signed today with freo

When was the last time 5+ players moved from WC to other clubs in a two year period?

Late 90s surely
not sure, but would be a very long time ago.

I don't mind that we are being aggressive and trying to get more assets and trade value, as long as they are replaced with quality through the draft and trade we will be better placed as a team.
We must have a few on the hook to be this aggressive imo.

Tsatas is an interesting one, Cal Twomey raised him as open to a trade for more opportunity.

He played 5 games this year for the bombers, and is averaging 35 touches in the VFL, former pick 5, only 21 years old.

Give him well-paid contract (we have the $ to spare), and a red hot crack as a CBA mid and see what he can produce.

Happy with that, maximising our picks next year too should be a high priority
We would get a 2nd round if he left next year . He is a free agent next year and clubs will be willing to spend more if it means not giving up picks .

We also get ryan next year

When was the last time 5+ players moved from WC to other clubs in a two year period?

Late 90s surely

Reckon you're spot on here beets.

I don't particularly think it's "healthy" for a club persay, but in our case after a historically bad period I really don't mind it.

I'm over this team and this club at the moment. Fresh faces can only be a good thing IMO.

It made sense letting Barrass go, Ryan less so, especially if it's for that lame price. Chesser is just a G-string, he can **** off and be an injured spud elsewhere.

Tsatas is an interesting one, Cal Twomey raised him as open to a trade for more opportunity.

He played 5 games this year for the bombers, and is averaging 35 touches in the VFL, former pick 5, only 21 years old.

Give him well-paid contract (we have the $ to spare), and a red hot crack as a CBA mid and see what he can produce.
He’d want to have improved his disposal…a lot !!
Pick 5 and struggling to get a game in their shit side!..nah!

Tsatas is a terrible kick of the football . So bad in fact that with essendon having and unprecedented injury crisis they still hardly played him

Good way to do it though. That pick will end up being eaten up for points with the Annabel bid so it won't actually impact any other clubs. If Brisbane wanna be tough about say there will be a a bid at pick 1
Yep it’s time we stand up and use this sort of leverage. PSD threat too.
Brisbane are getting that many free hits with FA, NGA and Farher son if they want to be Kents about this and we call their bluff I doubt the footy industry is going to give a shit

I hope we're still asking questions of Sheldrick, Erasmus, Tsatas, both Warner's and Ed Allan.
Any of them would be great additions to our team and are all in the right age bracket.
Sheldrik erasmus and both Warner's have re-signed this season after we have shown interest . Ed Allen is contracted and at a contending side .

No one wants to come to us and for good reason .

We have 2 more drafts before tassie to get as much elite talent as possible .

We also have salary cap to bring in cheap experienced players to mentor these draftees.

W

Can't kick to save himself. Would fit right in😂

If the Lions get Draper, Oscar and possibly Ridley they are going to HAVE to shed cap space.

There’s also likely no spot for Oscar McInerney with Draper and Fort. Him and Neale for Hawks R3 works for both parties. Lions won’t stand in his way if him and his wife genuinely want to be in WA.

If the Lions get Draper, Oscar and possibly Ridley they are going to HAVE to shed cap space.

There’s also likely no spot for Oscar McInerney with Draper and Fort. Him and Neale for Hawks R3 works for both parties. Lions won’t stand in his way if him and his wife genuinely want to be in WA.
McInerney back is so cooked.

I’d love Neale on our list even if he does have purple stains on him. Absolute gun even at his age.

More than a few concerns about the Big O’s injuries, he barely got on the ground this year, but if it’s a choice between Barnett and a questionable Big O, I know which way I lean

Not sure if the club losing Campbell Chesser is worth a complete meltdown. At least he's not a delisted top 6 bust pick like a Denver Grainger-Barras. You win some you lose some, get fair compensation which is probably a 2nd rounder and then move on.

If the Lions get all 3 of those free agents i wonder if it will create enough of an uproar about how the free agency system isn't working like the AFL said it would and force them to make changes to it? It looks like this season will make an absolute mockery of free agency and the AFL's claims it was going to help with equalisation.