Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

Was wondering where Tunstill from the Lions is at so went and had a look on the Brisbane board and came across this on him & Dev.

Would be happy to have Tunstill.

So far have read rumours on all of

Starcevich
Ah Chee
Neale
DEV!
Tunstill

We're about as bad as Fitzroy, might as well just merge with Brissy too

The guys done, finished , washed up. He won’t be better next year than this year, not a hope in hell.

This is where our decision sits, I think. Not necessarily whether we get a draft pick of value but how drastic do we expect Ryan's drop off to be next year?

If he has a good year and leaves as an FA, even a band 3 compo nets us pick +/-19 (assuming we finish near the bottom). Or he signs on with us and happy days (3 years at $600k should be band 3?).

But if we know his injuries/body are only going to get worse or he lacks motivation, we might get nil for him next year, or worse, give him a 2 year contract and he barely cracks a game.

The guys done, finished , washed up. He won’t be better next year than this year, not a hope in hell.

This seems a very stupid statement.

Well below your usual level 📉

Ryan just kicked 22 goals for the team ranked 17th for inside 50's, 18th for clearances, 18th for contested possessions... Worst team of all time.

This is all the while he had an off year with his goal scoring accuracy as well. Could easily have had another half a dozen snags.

If you don't think he'll improve next year in a more competitive team, be that at West Coast or St Kilda, you've got rocks in your head and should probably delete your account if I'm honest.

Some very wishful and low percentage think happening atm.

- Chesser for Moir ain’t happening. OOC Chesser is not a player you tap a young player on the shoulder who just signed for you to move in a trade. Options as they are now.
-Elijah Hollands? Best 23 but has baggage and not sure it’s a path to go down with a young group.
-Motlop OOC and blues fans think he is keen to go home to WA, offer him enough to say yes.
-Acres? Best 23 but not sure the mature age players we bring in should be wingers. Can fill them with the young blokes.
-Take a token pick.
-Line up an OOC replacement at another club. McVee?

A contracted Ryan for future is just bad business and we don’t need picks for this years draft. Saints F2 could be anywhere. Get aggressive to get one out of the Saints or another club and make it a 3 way trade.

A trade period that at some stage during the year looked like possibly Warner, Cameron, Starcevich and Erasmus. To really only being linked with one player seems concerning.

Just hope they have somethings up their sleeve. Even if it’s buy low, just have to do it smart when this happened to the Hawks a couple of years ago. Missed the ‘bigger’ names in McKay, Ratog Plan B was Chol, Gunstan, Ginni and Mass and that seemed to work out well.

This next 2 years is huge to build to be 8 win team or young Vic players might still continue to leave for offers at the same contract which is a little bit of a red flag and even more so when that club is having an exodus of some of their best players and a player who is from
A Grand father/father/son connection
Stay away from Motlop. Lazy little chickenshit.

Not really, Neale has won a premiership so he would probably be content on coming to a club that’s down the bottom, Cripps would still want success so why would he come to a club that’s worse off, I could see Fremantle making a play for him, but definitely not us.
They could really use the rotting remains of a dual Brownlow Medallist to replace the rotting remains of their dual Brownlow Medallist that just retired ;)

watched Dev come on as a sub for Brissie late in the season.Very quickly got two shots on goal . One went astray. from close and the next he kicked into the man on the mark.
I thought thank God we didn…….

Starcevich
Ah Chee
Neale
DEV!
Tunstill

I thought we we merging with Richmond or at least picking up their cast off's 🤔
Coach, older players and now probably their delisted players

This is where our decision sits, I think. Not necessarily whether we get a draft pick of value but how drastic do we expect Ryan's drop off to be next year?

If he has a good year and leaves as an FA, even a band 3 compo nets us pick +/-19 (assuming we finish near the bottom). Or he signs on with us and happy days (3 years at $600k should be band 3?).

But if we know his injuries/body are only going to get worse or he lacks motivation, we might get nil for him next year, or worse, give him a 2 year contract and he barely cracks a game.
Yeah, like picking Hawthorn or Carlton future picks for Barrass. 1st round upgrade or hold him to his contract!

It really is a bit depressing post season

At this stage, we have 3 players nominating to leave that have already selected a club to go to and nothing coming back the other way

The squad is bordering on something akin to foundation club status, the last game of the season vs Sydney has some interesting stats

Average age 23-314 - 26-298
Games played 1546 - 3192
22 or under 14 - 2

Same comparison Vs Richmond

Average age 23-314 - 25-223
Games played 1546 - 2248
22 or under 14 - 9

At this stage, we have 3 players nominating to leave that have already selected a club to go to and nothing coming back the other way
It's not like any of them are huge losses.

Ryan is probably the biggest as we don't have a like for like replacement... could be more of an opportunity for Brockman to cement a spot maybe?

As far as I'm concerned if they're not invested in what we're doing and they're not going to be part of our next finals side... then off you pop. Chesser is the only one of them who realistically would be on the list long enough to see any finals action.

Starcevich
Ah Chee
Neale
DEV!
Tunstill

And call ourselves the Perth Bears!

I’d be happy to flip Chesser for Tunstill. Would also lessen the “pain” of whatever crap draft pick we end up with whether it’s an F2, F3 etc.
At worst Tunstill will make a great depth player.
He seems to excel in a wing role and HF with some midfield minutes.
Almost a replacement for Chesser and happily flip Chesser pick into Tunstill or train on player if delisted.
Beagles at worst.

For someone you constantly slag (among others), his numbers have stacked up reasonably well.

Have St Kilda recruited a new generation of list cloggers or some potential A graders?

It is hard to tell and yet if St Kilda had done nothing this off-season we would be accusing them of a lack of ambition.
So what is the upside for the four players who have already chosen St Kilda, with Sam Flanders another possible acquisition?

And how important is it to keep academy graduate Marcus Windhager?
It is possible to make a case that most or all of St Kilda’s four recruits so far can be an upgrade on the current player whose position they will take.

St Kilda doesn’t need them all to be top 10 AFL players.

With a young core that includes Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera, Mitch Owens, Darcy Wilson, Mattaes Phillipou, Tobie Travaglia, Alix Tauru, Hugh Boxshall and Windhager, most of them need to be key role players who improve the bottom ten every week.

TDK is another thing altogether given they are paying him $1.7m a year.

LIAM RYAN (WEST COAST)

Ryan turns 29 next month but there is every reason to believe he has three good seasons left in him.
He was rated the 199th best player in the comp this year and kicked 22 goals but also 22 behinds and had 12 total misses.

He also played in a side that generated just 46 inside 50s so if he can get some easy ball he should improve that tally.

He’s an upgrade on Lance Collard and potentially Dan Butler but also was in 121 centre bounces this season.

It was the seventh most at West Coast this year, so it gives him an added dimension.

When he was in the centre square the Eagles were in the positive for scoring.

His 23 score assists were also No. 1 at West Coast.

In his best goalkicking season he averaged 1.7 goals (2021) and his best pressuring season (2023) he averaged 3.7 tackles.

St Kilda would love him to combine those numbers in a bumper 2026.

A massive risk. You would only look at it on something like the Sam Mitchell deal.
We are only looking at 2 years max as our list matures. I went to an open training session after Mitch arrived. He was streets ahead of the others fo rball skills and movement. We need the examples.

Neale is no risk at all when he's going to cost a packet of twisties.

If he DOESN'T cost that, then we don't pursue it. Simple. We aren't giving up a first rounder FFS, it'll be a late throwaway pick.

The benefit of a 2x Brownlow medalist coming directly from a club with a winning culture will be absolutely huge. Even if he only played 10 games the bonus of him out there on some of our young players would be immeasurable.

Season on field then a couple seasons as coach. Perfect. Replica of Mitchell, only with less of a flog.

Neale is no risk at all when he's going to cost a packet of twisties.

If he DOESN'T cost that, then we don't pursue it. Simple. We aren't giving up a first rounder FFS, it'll be a late throwaway pick.

The benefit of a 2x Brownlow medalist coming directly from a club with a winning culture will be absolutely huge. Even if he only played 10 games the benefit of him out there on some of our young players would be immeasurable.

Season on field then a couple seasons as coach. Perfect. Replica of Mitchell, only with less of a flog.
It would be huge

we are last only won 1 game there is no risk for me...only upside