Quick links

Harley Reid extends to 2028

List Changes - 2025
  • Oscar Allen advises intention to explore Free Agency
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Liam Ryan has requested a trade to St Kilda but is contracted for 2026
  • Campbell Chesser (uncontracted) has requested a trade to Carlton
  • List would be 37 (31 main, 4 rookie, 2 Cat B)

Players out of Contract 2025 (5)
  • Oscar Allen (19/3/99) - Signed a 3 year extension (2023-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2022 in May 2021
  • Campbell Chesser (27/4/03) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) on an existing contract due to expire 2023 in May 2022
  • Jamie Cripps (23/4/92) - Signed a 2 year extension (2024-25) in August 2023
  • (R-B) Coen Livingstone (25/5/05) - Signed a 1 year extension (2025) in September 2024
  • (R-B) Malakai Champion (17/5/06) - Automatic 1 year contract (2025) when added as a Cat B Rookie in November 2024

Provisional 2025 Draft order

Key Offseason Dates
Fri Oct 3 - Fri Oct 10: 2025 Free Agency Period
Mon Oct 6 - Wed Oct 15: 2025 AFL Trade Period
Wed Nov 19 - Thu Nov 20: 2025 AFL Draft

People knocking back Neale as is we are getting a younger better midfielder.
We are so bad at the moment we need some experience, leadership and someone who has a clue how to get the ball.
A couple of years as we develop our squad would be a great investment while we improve our list

How is Liam Ryan as a leader/locker room guy?

He's not really a leader in the broader sense I would suggest but has always been popular with the FN players and known as a cheeky chappy around the club.

He's never been a great trainer, has had his share of personal stuff to deal with (nothing major for years though).

Commitment and body language etc has never been a strong point but when he's on, he throws himself at as many contests as he can.

Hammys are not great and he does sometimes keep his powder dry somewhat when it comes to hitting full pace (he's said at times that he 'doesn't do full speed anymore' but he can still fly for MOTY at any given moment and is still a crafty bugger around the goals. His set shot kicking has been surprisingly poor this year - at close range too which has been frustrating but again, can still thread the needle on occasion.

More info than you asked for but that's a good summary for you! 🙂

People knocking back Neale as is we are getting a younger better midfielder.
We are so bad at the moment we need some experience, leadership and someone who has a clue how to get the ball.
A couple of years as we develop our squad would be a great investment while we improve our list

Nah man we are getting FOS.

800k x 2y is a fundamentally different offer to the $1m x 3y that was bandied about.
One is a $1.6m deal, the other is $3m deal for a 32 year old.

Let's also remember that every CBA Neale takes is one less for Reid, Hewett, pick 1, pick 2, Hall, McCarthy.

I'm a huge fan of 1+1 deal, or even 2 if it's required to get it done.

Harley, Hewitt and our #1 /2 pick would thrive having the likes of Neale and Yeo around to learn from.
Even if Neale plays 10-15 games he would be invaluable, for the next couple of years.
Also, he could potentially move to half back a-la Zorko or even half forward and prolong his career.
So it's a no-brainer for me. Let's splash some of our cash and bring him home.
With a promise for a coaching role in future.

My only concern is Freo moving in and spoiling our plans at the 11th hour somehow.

Also, one for the peanut gallery.

Neale injured his quad after round 21, and now calf in the QF.
That is two, separate soft tissue injuries in the space of just over a month.

I'm all for approaching Neale, but if you're expecting the same durability he has shown in the past 10 years - you will be sorely disappointed.

My only concern is Freo moving in and spoiling our plans at the 11th hour somehow.
Yeah if the mail is true and he does want to get back to WA I don't see why Freo would not be interested. Surely he slots right into the Fyfe sized hole on their list?

I'm all for approaching Neale, but if you're expecting the same durability he has shown in the past 10 years - you will be sorely disappointed.
Rushed back for finals.

Considering he played 21 games this year, happy to take a punt.

I don't think anyone would be expecting that and even then, if he does start to break down we can use Elliot Yeo for parts. 👍

Yeah if the mail is true and he does want to get back to WA I don't see why Freo would not be interested. Surely he slots right into the Fyfe sized hole on their list?

The only thing would be the cash - my guess is Brissie may agree to move him but it wouldn't be while picking up any of his money (and fairly so!).

Freo have a lot of bigger long term deals - I still think they would have room for at least another though - Walters and Fyfe would not have been on peanuts either way.

Will be an interesting one to watch.

How is Liam Ryan as a leader/locker room guy?

Oh and obviously the guy is an absolutely sensational media performer - hold onto your hat in that regard!

As a side though mate - you are pretty brave stepping into these parts while you've got that Gavin Mitchell user name - many of us are still not quite over him sinking us with that late goal in 1997 when Ash McIntosh got pinged for pulling the ball back in dead in front of the goal...or that might just be me 😉

Is it too early to start the Welcome Lachie Neale thread?

I know he isnt liked on the boards, but have we formally told he isnt welcome? I havent seen his comments for months now. I can only assume its because we're well on our way to a successful rebuild and he has lost interest.

He's compiling stats on running speeds for us so we can compare Lachie to Dev, Harley, a 1996 Honda Civic and an Emu.

I know he isnt liked on the boards, but have we formally told he isnt welcome? I havent seen his comments for months now. I can only assume its because we're well on our way to a successful rebuild and he has lost interest.
The guy drags any thread down into the bin. If he isn’t board banned he should be.

Jesus, has ANY credible source actually linked us to Neale? Or is this another BF rumour that people are trying to will into existence?
This is big footy strap yourself in. We are also going back to the 2006 glory days with Goodwin and Hollands on board.

Mitch McGovern to hold the back line together, Essendon will give us 40 first rounders and a partridge in a pear tree for pick one.

I’m sure I missed something.

Oh that’s right Bender thinks Neale is cooked and sh1t.

Police Turkey GIF by South Park

We are battling to pay our min salary cap, so could a guy like Neale come in as essentially a playing coach if we give up nothing of value in terms of the draft. Perhaps not a bad way to get around the soft cap while we are in a position to do so without risking losing players for cap space?

Development is key with where we are at, and having a hard body to protect the kids is also not a bad thing.