Oppo Camp Non-Eagles Discussion 2025 Part 2

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

Imagine Mitchell coming over to you at 3Q time and pushing you out of the forward huddle and into the backline - where you’ve never played before - talking to you with one hand on your shoulder like a patronising butthole.

I’d feel for Watson if he wasn’t such a flog…
It would be funny if Watson asked for a trade , to come and play with Harley ..

Nick Watson is bog average. I have no idea where the hype comes from. Imagine paying pick 5 for an average small forward?
Has a nickname.

Performs like most pretty good forward pockets of yesteryear, ie bob up with a freak goal once a fortnight, add another regulation one if you like, and call it a day. Adds zero outside of that. Doesn’t link up, doesn’t find the footy at a decent clip, can’t mark, can’t play anywhere else.

Take away the Wizard branding and he’d be known as a pretty fun player who ducks a fair bit. Now we have to cop “best small forward in the comp” for a bloke who kicked four goals in three finals this year and, with the game on the line, got shifted to the backline cause he had four touches (three turnovers).

The goal was ****ing sick. Needs to do something like that more than once a month to get anywhere near the top 10, let alone first place.

I know he won't but he should. Put it this way I'd be OK if our player got a couple of weeks for that

Yeah nah it was a footballing action. Chol is a good bloke and he's remorseful.

Oh wait Hawks lost. Probably a couple of weeks then.

Cats are such a professional machine. Will we ever achieve such eliteness on and off the field ?
Only when our travel burden is a "45min drive to the big smoke" every second week so that our players bodies don't break down the moment they turn 30.

Has a nickname.

Performs like most pretty good forward pockets of yesteryear, ie bob up with a freak goal once a fortnight, add another regulation one if you like, and call it a day. Adds zero outside of that. Doesn’t link up, doesn’t find the footy at a decent clip, can’t mark, can’t play anywhere else.

Take away the Wizard branding and he’d be known as a pretty fun player who ducks a fair bit. Now we have to cop “best small forward in the comp” for a bloke who kicked four goals in three finals this year and, with the game on the line, got shifted to the backline cause he had four touches (three turnovers).

The goal was ****ing sick. Needs to do something like that more than once a month to get anywhere near the top 10, let alone first place.
Annoying little shit but he's a 2nd year player. He'll get better.

Now excuse me whilst I go scrub the ick off myself.

Annoying little shit but he's a 2nd year player. He'll get better.

Now excuse me whilst I go scrub the ick off myself.
For sure he will, and when he does what does he become given he’s already the best small forward in footy? Once in a lifetime? Generational?

The AFL race to crown these kids and then get the pitchforks out when they have a dip in form. In Watson’s case he’s never shown anything worth the throne they’ve given him. He’s shown glimpses and moments every couple of weeks but he’s also prone to entire halves if not games of no influence, and he has no other strings to his bow yet. BUT heck HE’S SPECIAL AND ISNT HE MAGIC.

For most of these kids I feel bad, because they’re on a hiding to nothing. For Watson it’s just piss funny cause you’ve never seen a grubbier little cheat in your life (Dylan Moore aside) so going to relish in his one disposal and relegated to the backline in a prelim moments because I spend so much of the year having to hear about the one cool goal he kicked six months ago.

Hawks on the other hand, looked like they are still short a genuine A grade midfielder because they didn’t have an answer to the midfield presence Geelong had when they stepped up.

Merrett helps that but I honestly think Petracca is 100% better suited to their list.
hopefully neither deal gets done

The season feels like when you are on a massive road trip and are excited at the start now its getting boring and you just want to be done but the last couple hours are DRAGGING!! 🚗
I was sick of it by the time we'd backed out of the driveway.

This finals series to me really underwrites why there should be no pre finals bye. Teams like Geelong and Collingwood were beat up ending the season and with aged lists it's just frustrating.

The bulldogs (with extreme umpiring assistance on their way to a flag) also knocked us out of the finals due to the pre finals bye by getting 6 of their top 10 players back from injury in 2016.

For younger teams with less experience they lose momentum. For older experienced sides they get a chance to refresh and it's really not all that fair. The whole process of having lists and managing your list properly is so that you're primed and ready for finals.

I absolutely despise the Hawks but does anyone think that without the pre finals bye week Geelong or Collingwood would have been so fresh going into Qualifying finals, then another 2 week break to be super fresh again for prelims. Now if they were young sides it would ruin their momentum but with so much experience and older players it just gives them a huge boost.

Look I want an all-non Vic Grand Final (and Prelim finals...) as much as the next normal non-Vic kent, but Hawthorn vs Geelong and Collingwood vs Brisbane is as good as it gets outside of that. Intense rivalries, cracking games, likeable players (I know, I know, but there are a few) plus a whole bunch you just want to punch in the face.

Last night's game was a cracker. Hawthorn shooting out to an early lead, Bender losing his mind at posters losing their minds, Danger putting in one of the greatest individual performances of all time, a heaving MCG, Mitchell showing his tactical brilliance by throwing Watson in defence, the devastation of missing a Grand Final with concussion, the game had it all, and I am hyped for today's game too. 2023's Grand Final was a classic and we get a replay today.