AFL Player 7: Indefatigable Zach Merrett - Stepping down as captain for 2026

I want a deal to get done.

But if it doesn’t happen, I’d be happy knowing it will be harder for the hawks to win a flag without Zach.

Naive to call out Hawks and suggest Zach would be jacked off. They have a strategy and Zach will be very well aware of it and being kept across updates via Petroro.

To this point, Dons have played it exceptionally. Only the next 48 hours counts of course, but credit to Welsh and in particular Voz who is taking the lead on this one.

Naive to call out Hawks and suggest Zach would be jacked off. They have a strategy and Zach will be very well aware of it and being kept across updates via Petroro.

To this point, Dons have played it exceptionally. Only the next 48 hours counts of course, but credit to Welsh and in particular Voz who is taking the lead on this one.
Britney Spears What GIF

For me this is a complete NO. We don't want to become the club that gets their best cherry picked to prop up flags for other sides. It will set a dangerous precedent.

Slightly different but Daniher won a flag elsewhere, If Zach goes and does similar whats to stop any others jumping ship before we complete the build?

There's a certain culture and standard we need to set. We don't move on our best player and captain unless he is waning physically and on the way out. I think he can play another 3-4 yeas in the middle than you can shift him to a half back role and use his kicking.

I'd be backing him playing another 6 years of very very good footy.

If we can't build a list and create a side that we can challenge with Merrett, then we can't build without and no amount of draft picks will change that fact.

I want to see what they come up with. The only way the board bends on this is if the Hawks pony up big time. Even Morris has changed his position from it will get done to Essendon will expect an exceptional deal.
I think Morris continues to get fed info from Hawthorne and the line from them has moved from "we'll just lowball them" to "we're getting together the sort of exceptional deal they'll accept"

As I've said earlier, I reckon Petroro has made it clear to them he'll be pretty pissed if Hawthorne don't make good on their promise

When he isn’t traded (because he won’t be) I would be up for Welsh, Vozzo and then Scott calling out Mitchell and Hawthorn as dastardly
Dastardly? They should be called out as arrogant campaigners.
Seriously, the media should be all over this shit having wined and dined 2 blokes and then let them hang!!
I can only imagine if it were us...

Merrett’s desires for wanting out seem to base almost solely around us sucking and will continue to suck for a while and he wants to win and win now.

Which is why I’m surprised we haven’t heard anything about a 2nd suitor.

Sure, hawthorn are in a good situation the next few years. But so are Geelong. So are Gold Coast. Has Merrett told them no? Are they just not interested?

Compare to the Curnow situation (I know, different reasons for leaving) but it is a little surprising it has been such a Hawthorne-centric discussion.
I thought I read a couple of weeks ago that there was interest from the Crows?

I really think the strategy from Hawthorn/Merrett was to create such a shitstorm that we would just accept unders for him to get him out the door. We are standing firm, and hopefully will continue to do so, and it feels like they had no backup plan of what to do if this happened and now are left scrambling. I know that no matter what this was always going to go down to the final day for the drama, but the fact there hasn't even been a trade request is pretty telling. Like others said, if I were Merrett I'd be pretty pissed at Hawthorn too
For me it's not just standing firm that's swung the situation in our favour, it's the discipline that's gone with it.

In the past there would be leaks from the board and the football department and the players, and the admin, all to different journos with a mishmash of different slants.

Except for that AFLW thing (which sounds like it was an unsanctioned leak to a journalist) there hasn't really been any missteps, the messaging has been clear and consistent. It's put the Horkes in an awkward spot where they know they need to stump up a really good deal; they don't know exactly what but they do know they don't get many shots at it, and they also know one of the biggest player agencies in the sport will be really mad at them for ****ing over a very significant client if they get it wrong.

When he isn’t traded (because he won’t be) I would be up for Welsh, Vozzo and then Scott calling out Mitchell and Hawthorn as dastardly

Refresh our Hawks rivalry
...in the harshest possible terms, because how dare they set up our most valuable player in this way and then deny him the dignity of facilitating the trade. It speaks for a complete lack integrity, and every player on their list should be wary of any promises Sam has to make to any of them. And their piss poo jumper is shit.

I'd be including a warning to every other player in the league to be careful if Hawthorne approach them for a trade too.

Every player would be watching and cautious going forward I'd think. They could very well play Butters into our hands with this business.
They may be in a situation where they'll need to force a player out under suffrance. In other words, their culture may be damned if they do secure a trade and damned if they don't. It's just excellent, really.

Petroro's best advice might be for Zach to request a trade anyway and force the situation.

Every player would be watching and cautious going forward I'd think. They could very well play Butters into our hands with this business.
They may be in a situation where they'll need to force a player out under suffrance. In other words, their culture may be damned if they do secure a trade and damned if they don't. It's just excellent, really.

Petroro's best advice might be for Zach to request a trade anyway and force the situation.
IMO they're probably not getting Butters and Merrett unless they give up a player. The media reporting is all pointing to 9 and Horthourne's F1 being the basis for the trade, and now they're scratching around for an additional first round pick.

That would leave them with F2 and their 2027 picks (which will potentially be pushed into the 30s after Tassie picks and bidding) if Port match a bid which probably doesn't get it done.

IMO they're probably not getting Butters and Merrett unless they give up a player. The media reporting is all pointing to 9 and Horthourne's F1 being the basis for the trade, and now they're scratching around for an additional first round pick.

That would leave them with F2 and their 2027 picks (which will potentially be pushed into the 30s after Tassie picks and bidding) if Port match a bid which probably doesn't get it done.
Agree. They'll need someone to opt out at some point.
I'd wager Cholly in favour of Dear or something, but that won't secure much. Maybe they could push Massimo if Merrett gets in - not as much need for him.

Hawks have not come up with an offer yet. Has been no conversation between Hawthorn and Essendon so far. Only thing that has happened is the Hawks have told Pretoro to inform us they are working on a deal. They do not want to offer up anyone half decent from their list and they do not want to give up their F1 as they want to chase Butters next year.

Personally if it was me in Merretts situation I would be getting a little pissed off. If they are selling me on how much they want me and I am the one of the missing pieces I would be expecting them to have made some sort of half decent offer by now.

Ironic as their f1 + pick 8 won’t be enough either

Time wasters