Opinion The 'Carlton related stuff that doesn't need it's own thread' thread Part 3

I'd be keen to understand what changes to resourcing (if any) in the mental health space are being made at our club. We have had a few players (that we know of) having mental health issues so I'd imagine the club would invest more time and money in this area. Perhaps we are well resourced, keen to understand though. Coupled with the sports psychology side of the game, I think our club appears (from the outside at least) to be lacking in this area.
Cheers and Well Done with all your work.
G2C
What a great question G2C, I will definitely ask that, cheers and thanks

Especially given not many teams trade high 1st round picks. Especially next year before Tassie takes over.

We are only this year running with new point index. Why do they want to change already without seeing how it goes.

Oh thats right. St Shitna the new powerhouse team of the AFL dont like it.

Especially given not many teams trade high 1st round picks. Especially next year before Tassie takes over.

We are only this year running with new point index. Why do they want to change already without seeing how it goes.

• Stains whining
  • Chris Scott whining
  • Freo whining
  • The Brisvegas dynasty
  • The upcoming GC machine
  • Don't want Tassie's access diluted
  • Carlton are set to finally benefit

They're the reasons for the madness...

• Stains whining
  • Chris Scott whining
  • Freo whining
  • The Brisvegas dynasty
  • The upcoming GC machine
  • Don't want Tassie's access diluted
  • Carlton are set to finally benefit

They're the reasons for the madness...
The last one is the only one that matters to AFL house. Can't have a basket case removing themselves from eternal shitness under any circumstance!

I know alot of people thought it fine the club didn't fight this through the media but that is exactly how this all came about via st kilda.

We have a very reactive AFL administration. Rightly or wrongly those type of tactics work on them. I think we've probably missed a trick by not being more aggressive early on with regards to opposing the changes.

It is my criticism of the club. We just dont seem to have that arrogance and confidence anymore.

And it will not come from the top as our president seems meek and mild.

Not sure where we go from here. But this club worries me a lot at the moment.

It is my criticism of the club. We just dont seem to have that arrogance and confidence anymore.

And it will not come from the top as our president seems meek and mild.

Not sure where we go from here. But this club worries me a lot at the moment.
Team that hasn't won anything in 30 years lost it's arrogance and confidence...

I'm shocked.

Yeh i know Walsh. But i would rather be Carlton than Brisbane, Geelong and anyone. Maybe except for Collingwood.

We are the two most iconic clubs in the league. Without us the league will be nothing.

Shoot me down all you want. I know we have been shit etc.

But look at how the media love to hate us and talk about us. And the footy supporting public love to see us down.

Nothing more exciting than a good Carlton with us up and about.

So yes i want the arrogance back and i think things will flow from there. Our identity will come back. The players will feel it and absorb it.

Our management has been meek and mild. And its flowing down to everyone.

Its a vibe thing you know.

Yeh i know Walsh. But i would rather be Carlton than Brisbane, Geelong and anyone. Maybe except for Collingwood.

We are the two most iconic clubs in the league. Without us the league will be nothing.

Shoot me down all you want. I know we have been shit etc.

But look at how the media love to hate us and talk about us. And the footy supporting public love to see us down.

Nothing more exciting than a good Carlton with us up and about.

So yes i want the arrogance back and i think things will flow from there. Our identity will come back. The players will feel it and absorb it.

Our management has been meek and mild. And its flowing down to everyone.

Its a vibe thing you know.
I agree that we need the arrogance back, but realistically we need to be successful before we can be. Otherwise we just look like bellends like St Lolda.

For those who follow the horses. A syndicate of past and current Carlton champions including [PLAYERCARD]Patrick Cripps[/PLAYERCARD], [PLAYERCARD]Jacob Weitering[/PLAYERCARD], [PLAYERCARD]Sam Docherty[/PLAYERCARD], Chris Judd and Marc Murphy own a small share as a syndicate in the horse Birdman going around in tomorrow's Caulfield Cup.

Just wanted to pause regular programming for a moment to shout out Terry (BlueAbroad) and so so many others (too many to list) for their efforts and commitment to our community this year.

Tez, along with many other fans across different media (yt, pods, even mods on here) are doing great, and often thankless work to keep us die-hards informed - giving us a place to go to not just vent, but also feel connected to the club and celebrate the wins. It’s shown that even in the brutal times, the base is loyal and ever-emerging.

I get the sense that the club has finally got the memo regarding the importance of engaging directly with fans, with authenticity and transparency. It’s up to them to help turn the temperature down on our incredibly passionate fanbase in hard times by talking with us. And it’ll also make the highs that much more enjoyable!
Organic fan-driven media is already being used by club officials as a path to speak straight to us, and I look forward to more of it in ‘26.

We’re the most powerful base when we’re up and about, and as engagement and attitude continues to evolve both on and off the field, I just wanted to show thanks to those who’ve created pathways to help unify us behind our great club.
Here’s to the next phase, big thanks again legends 👍🏼

Just wanted to pause regular programming for a moment to shout out Terry (BlueAbroad) and so so many others (too many to list) for their efforts and commitment to our community this year.

Tez, along with many other fans across different media (yt, pods, even mods on here) are doing great, and often thankless work to keep us die-hards informed - giving us a place to go to not just vent, but also feel connected to the club and celebrate the wins. It’s shown that even in the brutal times, the base is loyal and ever-emerging.

I get the sense that the club has finally got the memo regarding the importance of engaging directly with fans, with authenticity and transparency. It’s up to them to help turn the temperature down on our incredibly passionate fanbase in hard times by talking with us. And it’ll also make the highs that much more enjoyable!
Organic fan-driven media is already being used by club officials as a path to speak straight to us, and I look forward to more of it in ‘26.

We’re the most powerful base when we’re up and about, and as engagement and attitude continues to evolve both on and off the field, I just wanted to show thanks to those who’ve created pathways to help unify us behind our great club.
Here’s to the next phase, big thanks again legends 👍🏼

Thanks very much mate :hearts:

Praying this is a turning point for the club and the culture starts breeding success.

When are the boys due back for the start of preseason training?

I haven’t found accurate info for this year but I know Year 1-4 players are usually beginning of November and everyone else towards the end of November.

But it’s more a guild of what players can do. I’d imagine most on the list will be back when the Year 1-4 players are back.

Many of the the older players come back earlier than they are meant to…
So they should. The AFLPA has “negotiated” ridiculous down time. Even the grand finalists have had a month off already. Then they get another 2-3 weeks around Christmas. Even the tyros are on decent money compared to the average Joe, they don’t need two months annual leave as well. Great that most players take the time to stay in decent knick, but that is not guaranteed and too much idle time can create problems with some individuals.

Not many giving us any chance of finals which is to be expected but I think we’ll surprise next year as the season progresses.
Yup. I’m very optimistic on next season.
I think the way we’ve recruited allows us to change our game style which imo is needed. And(hopefully) a change in culture/standards will help a lot as well.
I think we’ll be the surprise packet next year.

So they should. The AFLPA has “negotiated” ridiculous down time. Even the grand finalists have had a month off already. Then they get another 2-3 weeks around Christmas. Even the tyros are on decent money compared to the average Joe, they don’t need two months annual leave as well. Great that most players take the time to stay in decent knick, but that is not guaranteed and too much idle time can create problems with some individuals.
I don’t mind the current setup, the amount of work & dedication everyone puts into the game across the entire preseason & playing season, would take a high toll of mental and physical strength on all players…
Unwinding to mentally and physically freshen up along with spending more time with family partners kids & friends, in a normal environment for 6 or so weeks in a year to chill or travel, would be very beneficial for all at across the competition…

I saw that Geelong has hired Cody Walker as a mentor for [PLAYERCARD]Bailey Smith[/PLAYERCARD] to teach him how to be a normal person.

On a side note, I saw Diesel at Red Energy Arena in Bendigo last night. Must have been there for the Bendigo Spirit WNBL game. I know he grew up in Bendigo and played for Golden Square, but I'm at the stadium at least 2-3 nights a week for kids domestic basketball and netball and haven't seen him there before.

i was chasing up that crazy stat about us having played sydney in melbourne 4 times out of the last 15 H&A games since 2013

its even crazier than that

West Cast - the split is 5 in victoria of the last 13 games
Freo - 5 of last 18

* have played sydney 13 out of the last 20 in NSW

Richmond - Port - 12 of the last 17 in SA