Preview 2025 Goodbye (To 2026) New; Preseason Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter TeeKray

I can't see any of Melbourne, Essendon, North Melbourne, Richmond, or West Coast rising above us next year.
I can also see Carlton, Sydney, Freo, and maybe Collingwood dropping next year.

The question is if we will rise enough to leap above St Kilda, Bulldogs, or even Hawks.

Gut says we'll be around 10th to 12th. If we get a good run with injuries and some unexpected player development, we may potentially scrape into the 8.

I'd be ok with either scenario at this stage.

The polarity of views on our side is interesting. I have said my piece ... We are nowhere near as bad as some are thinking. We will pretty much be the same side that went into 2025 as top-4 favourites. We will go into 2026 with, good players returning from injury, organic improvement across our younger players, better depth, and a 100% improvement in coaching.

If we are not playing finals, it will be a fail. People are welcome to lower their expectations if it makes them feel better, but I wont. I expect them to improve! I expect them to play finals! And, I want them to know that this is what we expect of them!

Bugger this ... "Aaw, we are not good enuf" ... "Aaw, the competition is hard"

I can't see any of Melbourne, Essendon, North Melbourne, Richmond, or West Coast rising above us next year.
I can also see Carlton, Sydney, Freo, and maybe Collingwood dropping next year.

The question is if we will rise enough to leap above St Kilda, Bulldogs, or even Hawks.

Gut says we'll be around 10th to 12th. If we get a good run with injuries and some unexpected player development, we may potentially scrape into the 8.

I'd be ok with either scenario at this stage.
We should be fighting in the GWS/Bulldogs/Freo/Sydney/Hawks/Crows/Coll/GCS bracket I reckon. Saints I don't see getting better - TDK is a good player that doesn't win games and their midfield somehow got worse. Agree that Coll will drop back a bit, and Crows might drop back a bit.

Reckon Bris & Geelong are the two to beat, throw a blanket over the next 9, and then a bottom 7 who are no threat.

We will go into 2026 with, good players returning from injury, organic improvement across our younger players, better depth, and a 100% improvement in coaching.

Almost all of the clubs we're competing with in that mid-tier will have the bolded as well.

Our improvement doesn't occur in a vacuum.

One thinks the club will have some counsellors on stand-by for the players on the first day of preseason when they realise the, “Try Hardery for Longery” slogan has been turfed, & the gambling syndicate sessions have been replaced with repeat 400 metre sprints.

240v is basically bizarro world Janus at this point.
In a thread full of people thinking we're a top 4 contender despite the obvious evidence to the contrary, he's probably more in line with reality than many.

Theres many teams clearly beyond us. Geelong, Brisbane, Adelaide, GC. It'd be surprising if we could match it with Hawks, Collingwood, Freo, the Dogs and Swans.

We're going to need everything to go right to avoid the clear decline we're on with a weakening list and nothing coming in. Stay fit and healthy, get a really great draw that builds our confidence early, and then maybe we could challenge the middle of the 8. Most likely though, after several years of injury plagued players theres little to suggest everyone will magically be fit and playing their best, so we're likely to be battling to get to the bottom part of the 8 at best.

Ken wasn't great, but one thing he was, was a decent H&A coach. Theres no reason to think him leaving will improve H&A results. We want his leaving to improve our flexibility and ability to play at a higher level in big games. Something which has been absent for many years. A less rigid style, with more freedom and variation could win some big games and also lose many, but thats ok. The Lions have gone back to back off a 5th and 3rd placed finish.

In a thread full of people thinking we're a top 4 contender despite the obvious evidence to the contrary, he's probably more in line with reality than many.

Theres many teams clearly beyond us. Geelong, Brisbane, Adelaide, GC. It'd be surprising if we could match it with Hawks, Collingwood, Freo, the Dogs and Swans.

We're going to need everything to go right to avoid the clear decline we're on with a weakening list and nothing coming in. Stay fit and healthy, get a really great draw that builds our confidence early, and then maybe we could challenge the middle of the 8. Most likely though, after several years of injury plagued players theres little to suggest everyone will magically be fit and playing their best, so we're likely to be battling to get to the bottom part of the 8 at best.

Ken wasn't great, but one thing he was, was a decent H&A coach. Theres no reason to think him leaving will improve H&A results. We want his leaving to improve our flexibility and ability to play at a higher level in big games. Something which has been absent for many years. A less rigid style, with more freedom and variation could win some big games and also lose many, but thats ok. The Lions have gone back to back off a 5th and 3rd placed finish.
Actually, evidence says that this list finished the H&A season 3rd in 2023 and 2nd 2024.

It also says that last year we had a horrible draw, were decimated by injury, and had a coach with one foot half way out the door.

It's not outrageous at all to suggest we bounce back hard with a stroke of luck and an easier draw.

I'm not even sure that our list is worse either.

Despite Lukosius firming to be the replacement whipping boy
Lukosius > Cooked Dixon
Whitlock> Finlayson
Hopefully Brodie = Cooked Boak 2025 edition
Durdin > Mac and Cheese

There is no logical successor to Burton so maybe that is our list net loss.

It's not full of people that think that way at all.

There's an Expectations thread that shows that most people don't think we're top 4 worthy.

Screenshot_20251027_204659_DuckDuckGo.jpg

It's not full of people that think that way at all.

There's an Expectations thread that shows that most people don't think we're top 4 worthy.

View attachment 2465844
He was commenting amongst a bunch of posts talking about lots of unbridled positivity and top 4 talk. I dont see how was his thinking aligned to a bizzaro Janus, given that and your shown picture which shows he aligns with most?

I think GC, Brisbane and Freo will be the 3 teams to beat. And Geelong you can never write off so they probably still round out the 4.

I see Giants around the same mark in 5th.

And I reckon Adelaide, Collingwood and hawks are the biggest chances to slide out of the 8 with Sydney, Dogs, Port and Saints the biggest chances to rise into the 8.

He was commenting amongst a bunch of posts talking about lots of unbridled positivity and top 4 talk. I dont see how was his thinking aligned to a bizzaro Janus, given that and your shown picture which shows he aligns with most?

It's not just here, any time anyone has anything positive to say, he appears to throw a wet blanket over the discussion. It's tiresome.

There are so many shit teams making the top 8 isn't that hard, winning the flag without gun smalls isn't happening next year unfortunately but if healthy with an easier draw we will destroy a lot of teams

I think GC, Brisbane and Freo will be the 3 teams to beat. And Geelong you can never write off so they probably still round out the 4.

And I reckon Adelaide, Collingwood and hawks are the biggest chances to slide out of the 8 with Sydney, Dogs, Port and Saints the biggest chances to rise into the 8.

I’m tipping the Saints to make a PF, the Pies & Crows to drop off, & the Lions to make it three in a row.

For us, it’s more about developing a tougher mindset, creating a more flexible game plan & getting the fitness levels right.

I’ll just be relieved to see Carr bring some much needed accountability back into the everyday culture of the club.

The recency bias is through the roof.

I don’t mind Chad but the fact even an assistant coach from this year is talking as if port making the 8 would be an enormous feat, just goes to show the belief levels reached dangerously low levels this year.

There seems to be this narrative that we are rebuilding and on the slide but we don’t need to be believing that shit internally.

Making the 8 should be the bare minimum.
Yeah it's loser mentality like this that needs to go. Glad he's gone

Actually, evidence says that this list finished the H&A season 3rd in 2023 and 2nd 2024.

It also says that last year we had a horrible draw, were decimated by injury, and had a coach with one foot half way out the door.

It's not outrageous at all to suggest we bounce back hard with a stroke of luck and an easier draw.

The core of list has also moved closer to its prime since 2024.

It's not just here, any time anyone has anything positive to say, he appears to throw a wet blanket over the discussion. It's tiresome.
If you actually read what I say and not just pick out the bits you don’t like there’s a lot of positive bits.
I believe we will improve from next year onwards and if we draft and trade well there’s no reason we can’t be challenging for a flag.
I also said I’m expecting exciting times in the future.
The difference between me and people like you is you’re all in on the only reason we have struggled is because of Hinkley and now he’s gone everything is going to be roses.
Hinkley was a massive problem but the list as it stands isn’t good enough to take us to the next level.
I actually believe Carr knows that and that’s why we have cut a lot of dead wood and it will continue much more over the coming years.
I believe by the time we actually make a grand final it will be with a list that has very few of our present players.

Next year I’ve said is a learning process for everyone and Carr deserves time to change things around.
That’s why my expectations are low for next year.
The only wet blanket is the one over your head when you read posts.

And went 1-4 in the finals, with our only win coming from a herculean performance where the opposition missed their shot to win. Our 2nd and 3rd have been shown to be really clearly untrue representations of where we were.

Over the last 3 years we're losing to Geelong by an average of 20 points a quarter. Collingwood have been smacking us, Brisbane too. We have serious issues that have been papered over by daddy's H&A flukes. Last year was reality hitting. Didn't fluke some close ones, get a couple injuries and bam, down on the doorstep of bottom 4. We're a mile off the top group who have improved their lists while we've gone backwards, and whilst we can compete with the mid table pack the signs of a downward slide are there for all to see. We'll need an amazing draw and amazing injury run to hold it together and have a run at the 8.

I believe by the time we actually make a grand final it will be with a list that has very few of our present players.
I personally dont know where our path to a flag comes from. I agree it might take nailing the next couple drafts and 3-4 years building after that to be in a position to challenge again. Unless we score a massive FA selection. For that reason alone, in my mind if we lost Butters for 3x 1st rounders and could absolutely smash the next 2 drafts with FS, NGA and other 1st rounders, it might be a good result for us.

I think the time has come for Geelong to have a drop off, and although talented Freo have a coaching problem, Ditto the bulldogs and Crows. Collingwood are dads army. We are better than Sydney and St kilda too.
I think we have a great opportunity to leap frog a few sides I think we finish 4th or 5th.

For the first time in a long time we have a lot of hope that we have the capacity to not cruise and be accountable handbags and with Carr at the helm, start a process of getting back to the old Port Adelaide way. This is most exciting and I hope my cockles to be continually warmed throughout the preseason by real footy talk by the coaches and players. If Carr looks to be getting us back to the old ways, the propaganda arm of the club won't be needed. They can just report what we are doing. Novel, I know.

In and around the A grade - Butters, Rozee, Horne-Francis, Georgiades, Bergman, Ratugolea, Aliir
Butters Top 3 in the comp, Rozee awesome of the half back line, the Hornet needs to ascend, Georgiades sniffing AA and Coleman, Bergman needs to prove himself in the midfield still, Ratugolea played a handful of games last year at AA level dunno if he can keep it up, Aliir steady off the half back line should be better with help.

Static B Grade - these players are going to be about the same - Byrne-Jones, Wines, Farrell, Zerk-Thatcher, Sweet, Richards, Drew

B Graders who could ascend to A grade and been in the system for 4 years or so - Lachie Jones, Burgoyne, Visentini, Lukosius, Sinn.

New Players - Wehr, Brodie, Durdin

2nd Year Types with talent who should improve - Moraes, Berry, Whitlock, Cochrane, Logan Evans, Ramm

Lesser Younger Types looking to break in - Liddy, Mackinley, Lai, Walsh, Moss

Players with problems - Powell-Pepper, Marshall, Mead, Lord, Soldo, Anastasopoulos, Lorenz

Possible Incoming Players through the draft - Cochrane, Pilot, Salopek, Rodan + brothers
Possible Incoming Players through trades - Nasiah, Bailey

The most important change is the coaching. We should see a huge turnaround with the hopelessness of Hinkley being thrown away with [PLAYERCARD]Josh Carr[/PLAYERCARD] and his Creed like mentality taking over the playing group.

So massive possibilities for huge improvements in many areas.
Should be a massive and exciting preseason.
The biggest since 2013.
Go the Power!!!

If you actually read what I say and not just pick out the bits you don’t like there’s a lot of positive bits.
I believe we will improve from next year onwards and if we draft and trade well there’s no reason we can’t be challenging for a flag.
I also said I’m expecting exciting times in the future.
The difference between me and people like you is you’re all in on the only reason we have struggled is because of Hinkley and now he’s gone everything is going to be roses.
Hinkley was a massive problem but the list as it stands isn’t good enough to take us to the next level.
I actually believe Carr knows that and that’s why we have cut a lot of dead wood and it will continue much more over the coming years.

Next year I’ve said is a learning process for everyone and Carr deserves time to change things around.
That’s why my expectations are low for next year.
The only wet blanket is the one over your head when you read posts.
I'm going to try and be careful the way I write this because I don't want to put words in your mouth because I hate it when others do it to me.

So what you do say is that you think Carr knows the list isn't good enough hence cutting the dead wood and you are saying he will continue to cut deadwood and then you say there will be very few current players left the next time we make a grand final.
So despite you saying that Hinkley was a massive problem, you then pretty much say we will have to recycle almost the entire list before we are successful. So reading that in my head that says 7-10 years.
I read this as saying that you think its the list, not Hinkley.
The list is not perfect I agree, but I think our strategy has been 0/10 terrible, because now should have been our time not 3 years ago when we were striving to get a flag for Kenny....and the other guys too I guess.
We should have been in the draft getting a couple more first round picks who would now be 20-22yo. We would be primed for a flag.
I still see a very good core group of 15 players. What we need is a few role players that do a job and some foot soldiers that come into the side when there are injuries, without there being too big a drop off in quality. This is what Carr is addressing as well as he can with his limited means.
The rest of improvement will be organic. Better coaching, better plans, better fitness and recovery. Players becoming more mature. This is a general statement not directed at you but people who think we are dropping off think that because they believe that the Hinkley coaching group will prove to be better than Carr. So with the same players of course we get less wins because Kenny got us over the line.
This will prove to be the greatest falsehood ever.

I'm going to try and be careful the way I write this because I don't want to put words in your mouth because I hate it when others do it to me.

So what you do say is that you think Carr knows the list isn't good enough hence cutting the dead wood and you are saying he will continue to cut deadwood and then you say there will be very few current players left the next time we make a grand final.
So despite you saying that Hinkley was a massive problem, you then pretty much say we will have to recycle almost the entire list before we are successful. So reading that in my head that says 7-10 years.
I read this as saying that you think its the list, not Hinkley.
The list is not perfect I agree, but I think our strategy has been 0/10 terrible, because now should have been our time not 3 years ago when we were striving to get a flag for Kenny....and the other guys too I guess.
We should have been in the draft getting a couple more first round picks who would now be 20-22yo. We would be primed for a flag.
I still see a very good core group of 15 players. What we need is a few role players that do a job and some foot soldiers that come into the side when there are injuries, without there being too big a drop off in quality. This is what Carr is addressing as well as he can with his limited means.
The rest of improvement will be organic. Better coaching, better plans, better fitness and recovery. Players becoming more mature. This is a general statement not directed at you but people who think we are dropping off think that because they believe that the Hinkley coaching group will prove to be better than Carr. So with the same players of course we get less wins because Kenny got us over the line.
This will prove to be the greatest falsehood ever.
Carr has got rid of as many has he could this year with some of Ken’s favorites also being dumped.
I expect Mead and Soldo gone next year and most likely Lord if he doesn’t improve. There will be also the usual fringe cuts and with Wines and Aliir just about gone the list will look nothing like what we had in 2025 in the near future.
Call it what you want but it will change dramatically and for me that’s good news.
I’ve always said Ken should have got the arse after the dogs final as that was the last straw for me.
At that time I actually believed we could have won the flag but was terribly let down not only by Ken but the piss weak performance of the players.
The players that night got booed off the ground and deservedly so with Rozee leaving the ground in tears.
That night was the turning point for me that this list didn’t have what it takes. We like all sides have a certain amount of talent but drop away sharply once you look past the handful of our top talent.
We need to narrow that gap and if the club drafts and trade well it can be done faster than you think.
Hawthorn 3-4 years ago couldn’t beat an egg but have quickly risen because they drafted and traded well using the good picks they had.

It’s been said a thousand times over by many on this forum we are mentally weak.
Contrary to popular belief I don’t believe mental weakness can be fixed by a change of coach or anything else for that matter.
In many years of following footy I’ve never seen a mentality weak player turn into a hard nut, you are what you are.
The only way is to weed them out and I believe this is what Carr will do.

In wrapping it up I’d say I’m not positive about anything that’s happened up to and including the 2025 season apart from the end of Hinkley.
I am positive there is a future if we nail the trade and draft in the coming years.
If we don’t then with Tassie coming in it’s going to be tough.
This is my read of our future, I have no problems with anyone thinking differently to myself.
If we all thought the same way it would be a pretty boring forum.