List Mgmt. Back2Back Rorts Baby (aka 2026 draft thread)

• Thread starter Thread starter briztoon

So we are starting the 2026 draft thread in Nov 2025 ... then again the 2025 version is still going strong with comments veering into next year so why not!

We tanking this year for draft picks or relying on the annual Rortmas Festival to try and keep us contending for the top 8 top 10?

Looking at that list, some strange stuff.

19 in 2026: (excluding the 2 drafted)

Archie Smith
Ben Lillico (inj 2025)
Chris Evans
Harrison Bridge (inj 2025)
Isaac Waller
Jacob Edwards
Oscar Tanks
Raph Geesu (inj 2025)
Reece Thompson (inj 2025)
Ryan Fox

Also for the future draft watchers:

16 in 2026

Hutchings
Salvana

What could they possibly be hoping to achieve by having 20% of the squad as 19 year olds, when only 4 of them were injured?

I watched them train last week.

Boothey being trained up as a defender !

Is the Lions academy rich with forwards?

Also, I hope he's at about 205cm now.

Archie Smith. Don't tell malice.

Appears to be around 200-201. Noticeably shorter than Waller and Will White is also taller than him as well.

Might have capped out! Still a big boy and kicks it far better than the above 2 names, but less mobile.

What could they possibly be hoping to achieve by having 20% of the squad as 19 year olds, when only 4 of them were injured?
Does it really matter? If they've still got development in them...

If all we achieve out of it is to improve the standard of QAFL - well, that advantages us too, long-term.

yes, because it directly hinders the development of age eligible players.

If you have 19 year olds you like, play them in the VFL team.

The Lions blue print for AFL success is bang on in almost every department except their academy.

It worked for Kiddy. He was not quite there in his draft year, but with further development he came on to being the awesome player he is now (when he can actually play).

Isn't the age thing just a construct though? All I've ever heard for decades is the development of Qld kids is behind those in traditional states.

It worked for Kiddy. He was not quite there in his draft year, but with further development he came on to being the awesome player he is now (when he can actually play).

Kiddy played 18 games in Brisbane's NEAFL side (pre-cursor to VFL) in 2019 as a 19 year old and precisely zero academy games. Which is pretty much my point!

Isn't the age thing just a construct though? All I've ever heard for decades is the development of Qld kids is behind those in traditional states.

Not anymore though.

We are probably 4-5 years from having a standalone QLD u18s in the national championships I reckon.

We probably could have had a reasonably competitive side this year (but not in either of the next 2 years)

Allies will continue without QLD (much like the current female setup)

No Ben Morison in that squad is diabolical if you watched any local footy this year.
Very odd considering how long he's been dominating for Laurie's, and how heavily tied in with Laurie's the club is, with so many academy boys studying there, Harry Sharp being sent to do grade 12 there, and Josh Dunkley being their coach. Though I guess the academy similarly overlooked Tyan Prindable for a long time despite him playing well there.