No Oppo Supporters General AFL discussion and other club’s news - Part 10

I am not suggesting any wrongdoing by Jack Silvagni or comparison to his criminal kin. However - I do find it oddly timed that he signed for the club his dad is list manager at while being paid drastic overs (fairly consensus opinion in the footy public before the case became news) while the family is employing a SC to defend their other son. If I was a Saints member I would be fairly dubious.
The saints would have been very aware of these charges right back in Feb 2024 - there’s no way SOS would not have advised his employer.

To then think that the Silvagni’s have somehood hoodwinked? Coerced? the saints into signing Jack for “overs” to fund lawyers is slightly amusing.

The saints would have been very aware of these charges right back in Feb 2024 - there’s no way SOS would not have advised his employer.

To then think that the Silvagni’s have somehood hoodwinked? Coerced? the saints into signing Jack for “overs” to fund lawyers is slightly amusing.

I’m obviously taking the proverbial a bit - however there is absolutely zero chance any club pays $850k a year for a C grade player if that player’s father isn’t the list manager.

850 is C grade money these days. The Saints possibly see Jack as a better player than you do too. The pies also offered him significant coin. The idea that his Dad somehow influenced the clubs spending is ridiculous.

850k is definitely not average. Battle got around 900k the year before and that triggered the top compensation pick.

It’s just typical irresponsible St Kilda throwing ridiculous money around to create the illusion of being a club players want to go to.

850k is definitely not average. Battle got around 900k the year before and that triggered the top compensation pick.

It’s just typical irresponsible St Kilda throwing ridiculous money around to create the illusion of being a club players want to go to.
And we got an AA CHB! Top Dollar Top Bloke. Top That St Kidda.

Given Tom Silvagni's self-inflicted travails, this seems appropriate (or inappropriate, if you prefer). St. Kilda have reported that his brother Jack is suffering from 'groin problems'.

Gerrard is the most hysterical commentor in the AFL media landscape.

A few responses:

1. The fans voted on and overwhelmingly voted AGAINST a wildcard round. He should not be surprised that there is a negative response.
2. The shift to the final 8 was a good one - it improved the finals series. This move does not. It adds more nonsense finals because now 7th and 8th have a harder run and their slim chance of winning is now lower.
3. His article highlights that at every point the AFL has tried to change the finals that the fans have hated the idea of change. Yet they continue to ignore the fans. Again, this should not result in any surprise when the negative reaction comes.

Attendance and viewer numbers are up - but it doesn't mean the game is better for it. It just means it's better for the advertisers. e.g. People tune in for every second of trade period and smash the refresh key constantly for 3 weeks but it's a piece of shit product that everyone utlimately hates despite being glued to it.
It's because us fans and supporters are speaking a completely different language than the AFL. While fans and supporters argue about what's good for the game and what we want to see happen, the AFL speaks the language of MONEY, so they fail miserably to understand what we are talking about.

A few days ago I was walking down the street and saw this guy outside the pub having a beer and a smoke. I asked him if I could take a photo of his hoodie; thought it might get s few chuckles here.

Attachments

• IMG_6480.jpg
    IMG_6480.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 63
A few days ago I was walking down the street and saw this guy outside the pub having a beer and a smoke. I asked him if I could take a photo of his hoodie; thought it might get s few chuckles here.
Absolute ripper

I'm sure if he's got all the other skills that we can adjust our game plan to accommodate his perceived lack of zip.

As Sam has already said, what we did last year didn't work so we have to do something different this year.
Was having this discussion with a mate - if you could pick a past hawk to come into our midfield now to complete it who would it be? It would be Crawf for mine. I reckon everything he had is what we need now in our mix.

I would take Platten before Crawford. Both champions however Platten was one of the best midfielders I have ever seen.

Gonna go for a bit of a left field selection but I'd go Roughy.

I think if he was drafted today they'd play him as a mid rotating forward.

Started something different this week, watch a footy game but not the entire match in a night (my usual) but aim for 1 quarter a night - logic being that I'm tired from work + the weather thus not in the mood to watch something for near 3 hours in 1 hit. The game in question ? The 2008 grand final!! 1st quarter Tuesday, 2nd quarter Wednesday. 3rd quarter Thursday......... and funnily enough I was that pumped I also watched the 4th quarter so abandoned my original plan lol.

I would take Platten before Crawford. Both champions however Platten was one of the best midfielders I have ever seen.
Yep the rat before crawf. I dont want to quote a lot of ppl but I will answer some of the questions that were posed.

The issue for me will be when he doesn't have the ball. He might struggle defensively as he is not a great runner and he doesn't look very quick.

So to overcome that he would need to be sensational on offence and he has the potential to be so. His vision and execution in traffic is in the upper echelon at training. If he is running or kicking it inside 50 it will be a score. He has everything else his skills by hand and foot are so bloody good even under pressure.

Just heard that Battle and Hardwick are going to be playing for Victoria in the State of Origin game, and Barrass is playing for WA.

Is anyone else concerned that we have 3 of our most important players being risked in this, especially as they are all defenders? Hopefully it's not a serious game and just a bit of a run around and kick, like the NBA all star games are.

Just heard that Battle and Hardwick are going to be playing for Victoria in the State of Origin game, and Barrass is playing for WA.

Is anyone else concerned that we have 3 of our most important players being risked in this, especially as they are all defenders? Hopefully it's not a serious game and just a bit of a run around and kick, like the NBA all star games are.
State of origin should be an under-15 comp. Way too many stakes to risk players on a meaningless game/tournament.

It’s dumbfounding that someone would care more about Victoria (or the state you’re supporting) beating another state over risking a star player to injury costing them a shot at the flag.

Premierships or GTFO is my view.

It’s dumbfounding that someone would care more about Victoria (or the state you’re supporting) beating another state over risking a star player to injury costing them a shot at the flag.

Premierships or GTFO is my view.
agree. let the NRL idiots have state of origin. lord knows they need something to entertain them during their regular season