Best game of football you've ever seen?

PowerfulPies2023

In terms of sheer quality, I'd probably have to choose the come back, 2001. Essendon produces a stunning 69 point deficit to beat North 27.9 to 25.9.

69 down in the 2nd quarter yet it was only 21 points the difference at half time. Amazing game.

2012 Grand Final was a beauty as was 2018 even though we lost. As was 2023. I think Hawks when they came back from 50 odd down vs Geelong in 2012 also a good one. Maybe cats kicked 9 goals to two in the opening term but Hawkins kicked the winner after the siren.

Many great games.

Up until a few years ago I always thought '58 was the greatest I'd seen, but then 2023 came along. That GF had everything. High marks, great goals kicked by both teams and a close finish.

I think 2023 is even better than '58 and of course 1990.

2002 final H&A game between Port and Lions.
I’m going with 2003 Brissie Vs Port at the GABBA. 9 lead changes in the last qtr from memory.

Port and Brissie had some insanely good matchups in those days that no one outside of QLD and SA ever watched. Think the 2003 game was dubbed the best game no one watched.

I’m going with 2003 Brissie Vs Port at the GABBA. 9 lead changes in the last qtr from memory.

Port and Brissie had some insanely good matchups in those days that no one outside of QLD and SA ever watched. Think the 2003 game was dubbed the best game no one watched.
Cracking game. 2 top sides at their peak going H2H.

Another very memorable game we played in at that time was against St Kilda at Docklands in ‘04. Part of St Kilda’s 10-in-a-row.

At the game, 1989 Grand Final.

Individual acts, passages of play, violence, skill, courage and will.

Little things, Pritchard took a speccy on the northern wing, mark of the year contender,lost among half a dozen brilliant marks that day.

Huge moments, Ablett slotting them again and again, Brereton standing up and marking after being felled.

Blokes on one leg, blokes deathly injured, dragging themselves into contests. Dipper left the ground in an ambulance, one lung full of blood.

Won't happen again. No more rort zones or open chequebooks. Its a shame in a way, the 80s did have some epic grand finals.

Essendon overrunning Hawthorn was a decent game, and the next year the Bombers demolished them.

The best footy skills is usually one sided, once a side has broken the opposition. 1988 gf was the best footy I saw.

Giants v Dogs 2016 Prelim is a modern classic. As is Pies v Eagles in the 2018 GF.

St Kilda v Geelong in 09 was probably the best home and away game I've seen. Two undefeated teams.

Drawn Grand Final was cinema.

Giants v Dogs 2016 Prelim is a modern classic. As is Pies v Eagles in the 2018 GF.

St Kilda v Geelong in 09 was probably the best home and away game I've seen. Two undefeated teams.

Drawn Grand Final was cinema.
Yep. Agree with all of these

i loved the 2011 gf
best 3 quarters ever.
too bad collingwood couldnt keep it going for one more quarter

Best 2nd half I've ever seen from 1 team is the Hawks v Pies game at the G mid 2012. 2 top 4 teams going hammer and Tong for 1 half than we blew the game apart with the most ridiculous footy in a 45 minute burst. Pies and Hawks fans would remember the game im referring to. Lewis kicking 6 on Shaw as a defensive forward. Both teams kicked over 100 points think we kicked 24 but 16 in the 2nd half something incredible.

It was a sell-out and the only ticket I could get was standing. First and only time I did that at Docklands.

An epic game. Saints had early ascendency but Cats clawed back. You came away from this game knowing these two undefeated sides would meet in finals and that either could win.

It was a sell-out and the only ticket I could get was standing. First and only time I did that at Docklands.

An epic game. Saints had early ascendency but Cats clawed back. You came away from this game knowing these two undefeated sides would meet in finals and that either could win.
You guys were missing two or three players. Thought you'd do it after that.

To be honest I don’t watch a lot of neutral footy THAT closely so most of the ones that spring to mind involve the Cats though we have been involved in a disproportionately high amount of memorable games in the last 20 years.

The comeback game mentioned by the OP obviously sticks out but the 2010 grand final I thought was epic, I don’t think I’ve lost it as much for a neutral player act as Goddard’s mark before.

The first VFL game my parents took us to was Round 11, 1985

Hawthorn v North Melbourne at the MCG was a DRAW 113-113

Epic batttle between Glendinning and Knights (Rossco took the honours with 4.3)

Saw some Phil Krakouer magic (4 goals), Terry Wallace had a blinder in the Centre

And we followed St Kilda and Essendon but didn't care - WHAT A GAME

Saints vs Cats 2009 home and away game up there
Still the best game I've ever watched.

I loved the 2012 Grand Final. Just momentum swing after momentum swing with huge moments throughout the game.

Also Round 23, 2022. Rarely does a game that's hyped up as much as that exceeds expectations.

The 2 best games I've seen-

1) Hawthorn v Geelong 1989-Yeats v Brereton, Ablett 9 goals, amazing comeback by the Cats in the last qtr. Hawthorn's greatest ever win in terms of courage.

2) WA v Victoria 1986 State of Origin-If there was ever a game to show our rugby league counterparts how good our version of State of Origin was, this game springs to mind. WA lead by 4 goals in the last qtr; 8 lead changes; Andrew Macnish's mark; Brian Peake's 7 goals for WA; Gary Buckenara's goal that sealed the match (and the Australian championships); Geoff Miles's smother on Brian Royal's shot for goal.