Certified Legendary Thread 2 x Premiership Coach Chris Scott contracted to 2026 (aka the Chris Scott volumes

Nah the afl have stacked the deck with GC the achievement will be tainted.

I've said for a while I think if Dimma gets a flag or more with GC then he has to be in talks as one of the GOAT coaches.

It's fair to say the comment about the stacked deck etc, but 3 senior coaches before him were unable to even qualify the team for a final, so if it's just a 'stacked deck' helping him, it kinda begs the question why the previous coaches didn't. Even ones who had arguably the GOAT midfielder in their team too.

FWIW I'm very happy that the club and Chris keep extending. I hope that his hunger and drive don't waver, not that anything suggests it will. I just hope we don't arrive at a time where it's suddenly realised he has stuck around longer than he should have.

I would also hope, that if there's any suggestion that it'll be 2029 and done for CS, that a decent succession is created, as I believe it would be warranted rather than looking for a fresh person after such a long stint.

I've said for a while I think if Dimma gets a flag or more with GC then he has to be in talks as one of the GOAT coaches.

It's fair to say the comment about the stacked deck etc, but 3 senior coaches before him were unable to even qualify the team for a final, so if it's just a 'stacked deck' helping him, it kinda begs the question why the previous coaches didn't. Even ones who had arguably the GOAT midfielder in their team too.

FWIW I'm very happy that the club and Chris keep extending. I hope that his hunger and drive don't waver, not that anything suggests it will. I just hope we don't arrive at a time where it's suddenly realised he has stuck around longer than he should have.

I would also hope, that if there's any suggestion that it'll be 2029 and done for CS, that a decent succession is created, as I believe it would be warranted rather than looking for a fresh person after such a long stint.
I think during their first decade they had a lot of teething issues and extremely unstable list turnover, but things have settled a lot more now and there are probably half a dozen coaches who could coach that team to a flag with its 16 I think first round draft picks.

You will still need to be a good coach, but probably just a Fagan level coach is all that’s required. Just not an incompetent one

Those coaches had the team before the gc was pumping out academy picks by the truckload and given Anderson as an assistance pick. For me anything hardwick would win there isnt worth the same as flags learnt the hard way.

On Scott I do think 2029 might be it as hes often said he wont be a career coach. You can bet there will be a succession plan (it probably would have been king had he not got the melb job). But the club will identify someone whether its Kelly or trying to bring Enright back or someone external and im sure there will be an orderly handover.

Those coaches had the team before the gc was pumping out academy picks by the truckload and given Anderson as an assistance pick. For me anything hardwick would win there isnt worth the same as flags learnt the hard way.

On Scott I do think 2029 might be it as hes often said he wont be a career coach. You can bet there will be a succession plan (it probably would have been king had he not got the melb job). But the club will identify someone whether its Kelly or trying to bring Enright back or someone external and im sure there will be an orderly handover.
I do wonder if he will or won’t. A lot of water still to go under the bridge in 3 years.

He will be essentially impossible to replace

Scotty is like a "Craftsman", always at the pointy edge of innovation. It takes a certain kind of obsessive to do it successfully for so many years. Jiro Dreams of Sushi (2011) and the legendary Jony Ive (he of ex-Apple fame) come to mind. Unlike those two, Scotty is handicapped by our Draft finish.

I think the constant reinvigoration every year, where they take stock of our current players/coaches unique talents and make bold calls on where the top-seeds will improve is Scotty's main value-add. There's going to be a whole lot of Baby Scotts (ex-coaches and ex-players) who will alter the AFL coaching landscape for years to come.

So just to harp on the Dimma thing, I think it's kinda the same to say that if he wins a flag it'll be diluted in the same way those who choose to say that [PLAYERCARD]Chris Scott[/PLAYERCARD] lucked on to the 11 flag.

My take on [PLAYERCARD]Chris Scott[/PLAYERCARD] re as a Geelong coach , and premierships are the name of the game

The 2011 Flag ( after being absolutely destroyed/humiliated in the 2010 PF , and then losing Ablett jnr as a player ) Scott deserves tremendous credit , this total nonsense he inherited and was gifted that flag is just utter bulldust , as [PLAYERCARD]Brad Ottens[/PLAYERCARD] said Scotty has been like a breathe of fresh air - and Steve J said they wouldnt have won that flag under Mark T , because his mind wasnt right

But from that point on i think Geel have seriously underchieved , for all the games won and finals made in the past 14 years, just the one flag , and the curious thing about that is Scott was stubborn and persisted with that failed chip it around slow motion game plan up until the 80 point smashing by Melb in the 21 PF

Then 3 new assistant coaches join the club plus S Hocking as CEO and suddenly in 22 that slow motion failed football is tossed aside and Geel start playing proper football , now who orchestrated that massive change , your guess is good as mine - the supporters have never been informed

Scott has been backed by sensational recruiting Dangerfield , Cameron and a stack of rookie picks that have turned to gold . Scott has done some bizarre things , his handling of [PLAYERCARD]Jed Bews[/PLAYERCARD] this year was a disgrace , Jed played quite well in each game he played and then some posters would say poor old Jed he is not even an emergency this week . Of course he didnt pick a ruckman in one final , and vintage C Scott was his handling of Jarvis , picked him for his 1st game in that disaster loss against Rich at the G/Coast , and [PLAYERCARD]Jack Grimes[/PLAYERCARD] who was at the peak of his career and must be a pretty good bloke , he came up to Jarvis just before the game and shook his hand and wished him the best but said gee they have picked you for a big game for your 1st gane , and i thought Jarvis did a few nice things, but Scott dropped him in and that was the last we saw of him , yet he persisted with Dallhaus who was finished as a footballer - up until the elimination final when he finally dropped him- when he had his neck on the block

Ive got Goggin Our Best - that was re playing ability , but Joel and Patrick have both gone past him because they are better players

But i reckon Goggin has been Geelongs best coach , Geel were garbage all through the 70s , then in Goggins 1st year in 1980 Geel lost their opening 2 games , then won 17 of the next 20 to be minor premiers , and he had no key forwards , he had no CHF or FF , he had ordinary players like Peter Johnson and Glen Middlemiss amongst others in those positions . If he had been gifted the top notch players that Scott has like Cameron and Dangerfield then ive got no doubt that Geel under Goggin the last 14 years would have won 3-4 flags not one lousy flag

And to back my view up , its not people on a forum typing on a keyboard , but instead a champion ruckman in Gary Dempsey who won 6-7 B/Fs and a Brownlow . And in his video tribute ( and it would be good if VDubs could attach that on this thread ) to Kelvin Templeton when KT was elevated to the AFL Hall of fame , he said quote " Kelvin was probably lucky because Billy Goggin was a great coach and he most likely gave him some room " And Dempsey played under both Ron Barassi and Bob Rose , so he would know a great coach and he called Goggin a great coach

For all the games Geel have won in the past 14 years Scott has seriously underachieved with just the 1 Premiership flag

My take on Chris Scott re as a Geelong coach , and premierships are the name of the game

The 2011 Flag ( after being absolutely destroyed/humiliated in the 2010 PF , and then losing Ablett jnr as a player ) Scott deserves tremendous credit , this total nonsense he inherited and was gifted that flag is just utter bulldust , as Brad Ottens said Scotty has been like a breathe of fresh air - and Steve J said they wouldnt have won that flag under Mark T , because his mind wasnt right

But from that point on i think Geel have seriously underchieved , for all the games won and finals made in the past 14 years, just the one flag , and the curious thing about that is Scott was stubborn and persisted with that failed chip it around slow motion game plan up until the 80 point smashing by Melb in the 21 PF

Then 3 new assistant coaches join the club plus S Hocking as CEO and suddenly in 22 that slow motion failed football is tossed aside and Geel start playing proper football , now who orchestrated that massive change , your guess is good as mine - the supporters have never been informed

Scott has been backed by sensational recruiting Dangerfield , Cameron and a stack of rookie picks that have turned to gold . Scott has done some bizarre things , his handling of Jed Bews this year was a disgrace , Jed played quite well in each game he played and then some posters would say poor old Jed he is not even an emergency this week . Of course he didnt pick a ruckman in one final , and vintage C Scott was his handling of Jarvis , picked him for his 1st game in that disaster loss against Rich at the G/Coast , and Jack Grimes who was at the peak of his career and must be a pretty good bloke , he came up to Jarvis just before the game and shook his hand and wished him the best but said gee they have picked you for a big game for your 1st gane , and i thought Jarvis did a few nice things, but Scott dropped him in and that was the last we saw of him , yet he persisted with Dallhaus who was finished as a footballer - up until the elimination final when he finally dropped him- when he had his neck on the block

Ive got Goggin Our Best - that was re playing ability , but Joel and Patrick have both gone past him because they are better players

But i reckon Goggin has been Geelongs best coach , Geel were garbage all through the 70s , then in Goggins 1st year in 1980 Geel lost their opening 2 games , then won 17 of the next 20 to be minor premiers , and he had no key forwards , he had no CHF or FF , he had ordinary players like Peter Johnson and Glen Middlemiss amongst others in those positions . If he had been gifted the top notch players that Scott has like Cameron and Dangerfield then ive got no doubt that Geel under Goggin the last 14 years would have won 3-4 flags not one lousy flag

And to back my view up , its not people on a forum typing on a keyboard , but instead a champion ruckman in Gary Dempsey who won 6-7 B/Fs and a Brownlow . And in his video tribute ( and it would be good if VDubs could attach that on this thread ) to Kelvin Templeton when KT was elevated to the AFL Hall of fame , he said quote " Kelvin was probably lucky because Billy Goggin was a great coach and he most likely gave him some room " And Dempsey played under both Ron Barassi and Bob Rose , so he would know a great coach and he called Goggin a great coach

For all the games Geel have won in the past 14 years Scott has seriously underachieved with just the 1 Premiership flag
Well put. Great coach but grand final and prelim failures have damaged his legacy

Every year we have 17 (soon to be 18) coaches who are being slowly "legacy-damaged" by not winning that year's GF.

EOY 2023, Fagan had been thumped in a Prelim (2022) and lost a GF (2023; albeit narrowly).

Some here are setting the bar at winning the GF 10/10 every decade and marking down Scotty harshly on it. Like Lana said we need objective measures on how to assess a Coach and/or Team. Win/Loss is one. Number of Premierships is definitely one. Average ladder finish etc. should also matter.

In an ever changing Comp (Draft, Academy, Priority picks etc.), to win Premierships, we need to be consistently making the Prelims. We are doing that. There is the vagaries of luck. I would argue if the @#$# Hawks didn't take out Stewie, maybe some of you would have postponed targeting Scotty until next year!

Every year we have 17 (soon to be 18) coaches who are being slowly "legacy-damaged" by not winning that year's GF.

EOY 2023, Fagan had been thumped in a Prelim (2022) and lost a GF (2023; albeit narrowly).

Some here are setting the bar at winning the GF 10/10 every decade and marking down Scotty harshly on it. Like Lana said we need objective measures on how to assess a Coach and/or Team. Win/Loss is one. Number of Premierships is definitely one. Average ladder finish etc. should also matter.

In an ever changing Comp (Draft, Academy, Priority picks etc.), to win Premierships, we need to be consistently making the Prelims. We are doing that. There is the vagaries of luck. I would argue if the @#$# Hawks didn't take out Stewie, maybe some of you would have postponed targeting Scotty until next year!

Less a measure and more definition. Two coaches with the same high level record can be completely different levels of coaches. The typical pathway for a coach is that they inherrit a club that is in some kind of strife. A club after some perceived under performance removes a former coach and installs a new one seeking improvement, whether deserved or not as the club improves the coach gains the credit, even if the improvement was caused by somethig outside of the coaches direct action, for example the list demographics of the club change such that there was a large amount of natural improvement or the club recruits a star player who leads a resurgence.

Scott Gullan's book Greatness refers to an seven point appraisal system developed the AFL Coaches Association to help assess what makes a good coach. This was used as a part of the process to high Chris Scott

Leadership and cultural development: 25 percent
Personal qualities; 20 percent
Management: 17 pecent
Technical skills: 13 percent
Coach History: 10 percent
Communication: 10 percent
Commercial Focus: 5 percent

I wish the book expanded more on this, I was unable to find anything online. Some of it is quite vague, and most catergories cover not just match day, but year round activities.

The key part to me was that culture and relationship managemnt was considered 3-4 times more important than technical skills or prior record. Given how hidden that part from supporters, means we can only rely on consistent public narratives, and judge their validity based off how long they persist, how many sources provide them. It is probably why clubs hold on the coaches with poor records, until they "lose the players".

I also want to work out what exactly falls under the coaches purview, the following list is not exhaustive

Match Day
  • Player Selection
  • High level gameplan (principles, team rules and guidelines)
  • Lower level structure (Positioning, Set plays)
  • Pre-Game day preparation (tempory adjustments to standard gameplan and structure based off opponents, player availability/fitness, short term trends, recent team/player performance)
  • In game adaptions ( during breaks and during the quarter, how much is this driven by the line coaches, on field leaders)
  • Motivation (Getting up for big games, avoiding complacency when playing a weaker opposition or when the team is in front by a larger margin, fighting back when down, avoiding bye related shenanigans, playing well when leaders are missing from injury etc)
Squad Development (how much of this falls under the Football manager, the line coaches and development coaches)

• Team skills (tactical knowledge, team structures)
  • individual skills (technical, phyiscal development, mental)
  • Team chemistry (complimentry skills, familiarly through shared experience)
  • Resource utilisation (avoid developing mutually exclusive players, who can't share a football field)
  • Empowering and developing on-field leaders
  • Providing instruction to the list management team on the types of players/skills to recruit. See Hardwick pushing GC to pick up rebounding HBF that run in straight lines. They brought in two at high cost in a single offseason)
Relationship
  • Keeping open lines of communication (both in the football department and outside), fostering a high trust environment, avoiding siloing
  • Keeping player trust, even when individual negative outcomes are inevitable
  • Avoiding and clearing up disputes
  • Empowering and developing off field leaders
Media
  • Press conference and other media appereances
  • Protecting players from controversy or outside pressure
  • Avoiding passing the buck internally when the coach is under pressure

Less a measure and more definition. Two coaches with the same high level record can be completely different levels of coaches. The typical pathway for a coach is that they inherrit a club that is in some kind of strife. A club after some ..
A Christmas Gift! As usual, a thorough exposition on the topic. A lot of the external discussion about Coaches only looks at the output without looking at the entire context.

We are very fortunate here to have so much expertise (including yours). You all elevate the level of discussion.

Some Captains of Industry are credited with building a 100 year company. Something that long outlives them. I believe Scott (with Mark Thompson's contribution) has created that high-performance winning culture.

I'm sure folks here have Scott Gullan's & K-Rock's ear. If you want and can guide, under their purview, a simple survey (e.g. Google Forms) with such questions can be sent to all Coaches. A thread here can crowd-source questions. Even if the Coaches only reveal 5%, it'll be a lot better than the regular "stabbing in the dark" that happens here!

BF: Is Scott Gullan on here?

Edit: The only flaw was about GC paying a "high cost". No such thing. They are wallowing in AFL largesse. Soon they'll be trading top-10 picks for Dates.

My take on Chris Scott re as a Geelong coach , and premierships are the name of the game

The 2011 Flag ( after being absolutely destroyed/humiliated in the 2010 PF , and then losing Ablett jnr as a player ) Scott deserves tremendous credit , this total nonsense he inherited and was gifted that flag is just utter bulldust , as Brad Ottens said Scotty has been like a breathe of fresh air - and Steve J said they wouldnt have won that flag under Mark T , because his mind wasnt right

Scott has been backed by sensational recruiting Dangerfield , Cameron and a stack of rookie picks that have turned to gold . Scott has done some bizarre things , his handling of Jed Bews this year was a disgrace , Jed played quite well in each game he played and then some posters would say poor old Jed he is not even an emergency this week . Of course he didnt pick a ruckman in one final , and vintage C Scott was his handling of Jarvis , picked him for his 1st game in that disaster loss against Rich at the G/Coast , and Jack Grimes who was at the peak of his career and must be a pretty good bloke , he came up to Jarvis just before the game and shook his hand and wished him the best but said gee they have picked you for a big game for your 1st gane , and i thought Jarvis did a few nice things, but Scott dropped him in and that was the last we saw of him , yet he persisted with Dallhaus who was finished as a footballer - up until the elimination final when he finally dropped him- when he had his neck on the block

Its not bulldust. Thompson has half a hand on the 2011 flag.

Well put. Great coach but grand final and prelim failures have damaged his legacy
LOL damaged his legacy??
Legacy?? as in his long lasting impact?? On the Club?? On its members, players & supporters??
Yeah nah.
The Best man at the helm of the GFC.
PERIOD!
In all facets from being the figurehead of the club, the team, the coach. The best ambassador of the Geelong Footy Club and Geelong the City we have ever had.
Making the GFC the most watched team in the AFL. Loved & Loathed.
Well, for my 53 years of going to Kardinia Park he is.
From Billy Goggin... to T-Shirt Tommy Hafey to Grieshen to Devine to Mighty Blighty to The Deadshyte Ayres to Bomber.
He has them all beat... and beat by miles.
His legacy is that he is & has been the best man we've ever had and that is it in a nutshell and in reality TBH.
Love him or hate him he has done more than anyone else we have had at the helm.
Did he have the best team or teams?? That's debatable forever and a day.
As for your other point.
You may call them failures. But some say the better teams were just better... as in the Hawthorn and the Tiger dynasties and u know. Rightly so. My Hawk/Tiger, even believe it or not my Saint/Magpie mates all think they had our measure as they were a far superior side/outfits.
I must say a few words for 2 of my favourites.
Poor old Blighty. Without the team from West Oz he'd be considered the GOAT in many peoples eyes.
Special mention to Billy Goggin, as he lifted us from the cellar as the 70's was just an awful time to be a Cat fan.
Anyways.
Opinions are like A55 holes, as we all have them.... and they all are different.
Cheers!

Opinions are like A55 holes, as we all have them.... and they all are different.
Cheers!
Nothing more Aussie than a generous topping of swear words!

While a certain FLOTUS was forced to deny saying "Blood-y" Chreestmas, "Blood-y" is usually how anything decent is addressed here.

Note: Wasn't sure if it was a banned word.

So just to harp on the Dimma thing, I think it's kinda the same to say that if he wins a flag it'll be diluted in the same way those who choose to say that Chris Scott lucked on to the 11 flag.

Where was Scott gifted half his side by afl concession picks and the afl not changing the bidding rules?

For well over a decade now, our club has been wilfully resisting the inexorable forces of league-led 'gravity' that the AFL longs to see drag us into the lower echelons of the ladder. Basically every other club has succumbed to this and become an absolute irrelevance for years at a time. Yet our continued contending is supposedly a compelling reason to smash the club (and particularly the coach) for not winning the whole shebang every other year, despite the fact that our list build every season is clearly hamstrung by a bunch of factors that other teams can often just conveniently sidestep.

I'd expect this kind of entirely spurious analysis from embittered fans of rival clubs. But it's pretty startling when it's coming from our own fans as well.

Of course it's possible that we're at least one flag light over the Scott era, given the situations in which we've found ourselves late in multiple Septembers. But that conveniently overlooks the fact that we had no right to even be there on a bunch of those occasions as well.

#youcanthaveitbothways
#butsomestilltry

A Christmas Gift! As usual, a thorough exposition on the topic. A lot of the external discussion about Coaches only looks at the output without looking at the entire context.

We are very fortunate here to have so much expertise (including yours). You all elevate the level of discussion.

Some Captains of Industry are credited with building a 100 year company. Something that long outlives them. I believe Scott (with Mark Thompson's contribution) has created that high-performance winning culture.

I'm sure folks here have Scott Gullan's & K-Rock's ear. If you want and can guide, under their purview, a simple survey (e.g. Google Forms) with such questions can be sent to all Coaches. A thread here can crowd-source questions. Even if the Coaches only reveal 5%, it'll be a lot better than the regular "stabbing in the dark" that happens here!

BF: Is Scott Gullan on here?

Edit: The only flaw was about GC paying a "high cost". No such thing. They are wallowing in AFL largesse. Soon they'll be trading top-10 picks for Dates.

Culture is such a hard thing to grasp. I remember when other clubs fell into the cult of Leading Teams after our renaissance in 07. They seem to have fallen out of favour after the 2016 Adelaide camp fiasco run by Collective Minds. I wonder if the name of these consultancies follow a trend to almost launder the reputation or authority of the ones that came before them.

Maybe the secret ingredient was Neil Balme, or maybe it was our team's demographic reaching the peak age.
Maybe it was Hawkins and Danger at a massive discount that kept the fire of the group going when other groups petered out. We're running out of firewood. Every game our oldies hold on help, by the time they're out the door they're not really themselves anymore. Their loss is not longer a shock, it becomes an opportunity.

I'm of the opinion that raw talent and winning creates culture. It can become somewhat self sustaining. General competition trends have somewhat indirectly been in our favour, in the way that it kneecaped the chasing pack.
The AFL has started to repair the inbalance, there used to be so much free territory. At this stage it is just Holmes brothers and free agency. One of which remains to be seen and the other we don't get the first go.

For well over a decade now, our club has been wilfully resisting the inexorable forces of league-led 'gravity' that the AFL longs to see drag us into the lower echelons of the ladder. Basically every other club has succumbed to this and become an absolute irrelevance for years at a time. Yet our continued contending is supposedly a compelling reason to smash the club (and particularly the coach) for not winning the whole shebang every other year, despite the fact that our list build every season is clearly hamstrung by a bunch of factors that other teams can often just conveniently sidestep.

I'd expect this kind of entirely spurious analysis from embittered fans of rival clubs. But it's pretty startling when it's coming from our own fans as well.

Of course it's possible that we're at least one flag light over the Scott era, given the situations in which we've found ourselves late in multiple Septembers. But that conveniently overlooks the fact that we had no right to even be there on a bunch of those occasions as well.

#youcanthaveitbothways
#butsomestilltry
It’s honestly a matter of perception and your outlook on life.

Glass half full= we are incredibly well coached and the fact we consistently go Geronimo September is testament to an incredibly well run club.

Glass half empty= we are the best team with such a talented list handed to Scott on a yearly basis and he keeps blowing it ( insert silly reason here such as poor gameday coach or no plan B) etc etc.

he already is a career coach, longest serving at GFC in my almost 70 year lifetime

It’s honestly a matter of perception and your outlook on life.

Glass half full= we are incredibly well coached and the fact we consistently go Geronimo September is testament to an incredibly well run club.

Glass half empty= we are the best team with such a talented list handed to Scott on a yearly basis and he keeps blowing it ( insert silly reason here such as poor gameday coach or no plan B) etc etc.
Nothing to fo with fullness of glass, but I agree with assertion 1- we are very well coached and have been guilty of overachieving. Our list has not been #1 for quite a while, but having Selwood, Danger, JC, Stewart, and BOTH Smiths has been a nice balance to the overall quality of our list, which is good, but not great.

he already is a career coach, longest serving at GFC in my almost 70 year lifetime

Nothing is more hilarious than long term coaches saying they aren't "career coaches". What else are they then? I think Malthouse used to trot out the same line as well.

They're absolutely career coaches until they reach the point - generally around 15-20 years in - when they're not up to it anymore. Sheedy was finished a long time before Essendon finally chopped him, and I reckon Clarkson is pretty close now.