List Mgmt. 2025 List Management III 📃

That is not how it works in reality, take Sam Walsh as an example if he decides he wants to go to Geelong, of course we will be able to match but we wont because the free agent compo is going to be better outcome for us than any trade we might negotiate out of Geelong.

Butters salary could be an issue, but havent heard any Nasiah type numbers being thrown about but a fair amount to play out.

Reality is that Butters won’t be at Carlton.
Smith and Walker will be though … enjoy !!

Reality is that Butters won’t be at Carlton.
Smith and Walker will be though … enjoy !!
Yep, we are all looking for content this time of year. Butters surely will not be in our radar, regardless of how much connection he has with our staff or players.

We cannot go through a reset (financially) one year, only to sell the farm on a high profile player the next. Our list profile does somewhat lend itself to affording a marquee player in the foreseeable future, but surely we look at spreading the wealth for a depth of talent.

Providing he is healthy, Sam Walsh is in the same stratosphere as Butters. His retention should be our priority unless his health issues read again. Our future needs to be sorted this year, with playing and coaching personnel. I don’t want to hear any rhetoric around new players needing to find their feet and the team needing to gel. Our ladder position has less relevance than the manner of our play and the personnel stepping up. The “game plan” needs some considerable tweaking. We need to absolutely make a call on Vossy by the bye. (Not necessarily a move, but we need clarity)

We have, I believe, a great young group of players, dramatically undersold across the competition. I am hopeful we have added enough leadership to improve the “culture” and bridge the gap as the “kids” grow a new “vibe”. We have been carrying too many players content to pull a pay cheque as opposed to moving heaven and earth for success. We need less theory and cliches and more conviction, unity and leadership. I hope we don’t “rely” on the likes of Boak to lift the connection. It is more an inherent thing than a learned thing.

We will have some “holes” in 2026 as the kids grow (and HOF rehabs) and we will need to sort the wheat from the chaff in a couple of positions as well as building connection. We absolutely need to have the answers to a number of questions by season’s end. We need to know if we can continue to build organically or seek to cash in on some options around the Tassie addition.

He won’t be gettable as a FA and his contract will be monstrous.
Just a few of the reasons why he certainly is the wrong play for Carlton.
Just accept it and move on …
We probably have more salary space than port and dogs do at the moment by losing Curnow TDK and Silvagni and we will have McGovern, saad and Williams money off the books. There is zero reason why we couldn’t go for a huge contract on butters that port couldn’t match.

Edit: we obviously gained Reidy, Chesser and Ainsworth on reasonable contracts but probably have 700-900k contracts on Hayward and Florent.

We probably have more salary space than port and dogs do at the moment by losing Curnow TDK and Silvagni and we will have McGovern, saad and Williams money off the books. There is zero reason why we couldn’t go for a huge contract on butters that port couldn’t match.

Edit: we obviously gained Reidy, Chesser and Ainsworth on reasonable contracts but probably have 700-900k contracts on Hayward and Florent.

Yeah, we could throw the kitchen sink at Butters but it would just be bad for business on several fronts.
High time Carlton gets their act together and assembles the right pieces in the right places …

Yeah, we could throw the kitchen sink at Butters but it would just be bad for business on several fronts.
High time Carlton gets their act together and assembles the right pieces in the right places …
Yep. Also, if Walsh is fit and in-form in 26, we’ll have to accept that nothing less than 7 figures will keep him at the club with the offers his management will receive.

The midfield is fairly well spread in demographics.
Hardened veterans in Cripps and Hewett.
Walsh and Cerra approaching their prime.
Young colts in Lord, Smith and Camporeale.
And then there’s Walker on the way.
Crippa’s not quick, but either is/was Pendlebury into his 30’s.
These guys are champions and are the best at what they do.
Crippa due for a big season this year and Hewett is very consistent.
Walsh and Cerra can/must elevate the midfield to another level.
Walsh just needs to be hard fit and Cerra needs to deliver on his potential and early promise.
We all wait for the unveiling of Smith with his class and footy smarts a really needed point of difference.
Lord has good hands and lowers his eyes going forward which should fit nicely with our remodelled, more mobile attack.
Haven’t seen much of Camporeale but he seems to find a lot of the Sherrin with a no frills attitude and game style.
Would be great to see him develop in the mould of a Josh Dunkley type.
All reports indicate that Walker is the “hamburger with the lot”
We’ve sacrificed to gather the bounty he’ll demand in the draft but he’ll be ours for sure now and not for away !!
A midfield is probably always a work in progress but we do have a champion powerhouse in Cripps, an elite level Walsh and 2 gold standard youngsters in Smith and Walker.
Butters, as good as he is, for a number of well documented reasons, just isn’t the right piece at the right time for Carlton …

Only way I see us getting Butters is Walsh leaving
Its funny. I only think Walsh leaves if we have a bad year. Which would make us unappealing for Butters too, particularity minus Walsh. But if Walsh stays how can we expect him to accept a club friendly offer while we chase Butters with mega bucks?

Then you add the fact, Port would almost certainly match to get access to our multiple 1sts which we need for Cody. Too many factors misaligned for Butters to be realistic.

For Butters to be realistic I think we need Walsh signed early for unders and the AFL to go soft on proposed fs/academy bidding changes.

Its funny. I only think Walsh leaves if we have a bad year. Which would make us unappealing for Butters too, particularity minus Walsh. But if Walsh stays how can we expect him to accept a club friendly offer while we chase Butters with mega bucks?

Then you add the fact, Port would almost certainly match to get access to our multiple 1sts which we need for Cody. Too many factors misaligned for Butters to be realistic.

For Butters to be realistic I think we need Walsh signed early for unders and the AFL to go soft on proposed fs/academy bidding changes.
I’d be pretty surprised if Walsh stays if he hasn’t signed a contract beyond round 3 or 4. It really shouldn’t even come down to whether we’re good next year or not. He’s been in the media talking up the whole no-bullshit stance. I’d be happy for Walsh to be our next captain — he’ll still be here when our next window opens. We’ve got some good youth coming through and he has the platform to make the culture his. If not, we take the picks and move on. I really don’t want another season of “will he, won’t he” around his contract.

My 2cents worth…

Walsh will most likely decide depending on a checklist, one in which he believes where he sees us now or heading in the right direction…

A spread of multiple factors in which the club/team preformance/ coaches & development/gameplan/injuries/high preformance /player&list honest assessment of team success etc are all heading are at…

It’s not a single decision made on just money or a couple of things, it will be what he has already experienced across his time, and a judgement of how he honestly perceives of us, now and future…

It entirely depends if the club is heading in the direction for him in hanging around…

We show the right growth across the board, he’ll sign and will become our future captain, dont see him as a money man chasing ridiculous numbers, he’s as professional as it gets, he sets standards whom wants the altimate success…

I think we need to see how this season goes, jagga is a great inclusion, young but very promising and professional by the sounds of it, plus new recruits, new style, new mixing of positions and pinch hitting/rotations, well have a better idea at seasons end, festive seasonly optimistic and excited for next season as a lot of us are
With Jagga (and types like him who have potential to dominate from day one, they're aren't many) the main unknown now is when, 1. the opposition think they've worked him out and put time in to him to negate his dominance; and 2. how he responds/can respond. I reckon he will have many answers....

I think just adding butters with Cody is a pretty handy squad going forward.

Backline has Carroll, Cowan, Wilson, Charleson Dean and HOF coming through.

Midfield will have Walsh, Campos, Cerra, Cody, lord, hollands, Chesser. Jagga and butters.

Forwards will have Mckay, Kemp, Hayward, Ison, Moir, Motlop, HOK and young.

If anything we may need another elite small forward but what team doesn’t outside of Brisbane. With butters we could win it all in 2027.

I think just adding butters with Cody is a pretty handy squad going forward.

Backline has Carroll, Cowan, Wilson, Charleson Dean and HOF coming through.

Midfield will have Walsh, Campos, Cerra, Cody, lord, hollands, Chesser. Jagga and butters.

Forwards will have Mckay, Kemp, Hayward, Ison, Moir, Motlop, HOK and young.

If anything we may need another elite small forward but what team doesn’t outside of Brisbane. With butters we could win it all in 2027.

Yeah,
Let’s add Butters, Kosi Pickett, Harris Andrews and Luke Jackson as well as drafting Walker … why not …

Agree. My thinking is under Wright we won’t be chasing quick expensive fixes like a Butters when there are several areas to be addressed.

The cost to gain a Butters could be better used to look at improvements in a couple of areas imo.

I’m told from a player manager that Butters is signed, sealed delivered to Collingwood unfortunately.
Be interesting to see how they manage that. You'd think Port will match any offer, so will require a trade. Pies 2026, 2027, 2028 firsts? They've got a dearth of young players already, trading out of 3 drafts would be risky. Got very little to offer in terms of trade too.

Unless Port finish bottom 2 or 3, and perhaps might be happy not to match a bid. But I'd doubt it.

If Pies finish bottom 4 it changes the equation a bit, but I don't see that happening (I think they'll fall a bit, but not that much).

List Mgmt. 2025 List Management III 📃