Training 2026 Preseason

For what it's worth this training report comes via another person. Ive been told by my mate who works with a Dockers Board Member [PLAYERCARD]Mason Cox[/PLAYERCARD] really impressed in the last match sim before the break. Apparently he dominated the centre throw ups going mostly against Darcy. Cox could be a massive benefactor of the change in ruck rules. It could be an interesting battle to watch for the rest of the preseason, Cox versus Darcy I mean. I still see Sean heading our ruck Round 1 but Im just saying it will be interesting viewing watching the centre clearance ruck contests.

For what it's worth this training report comes via another person. Ive been told by my mate who works with a Dockers Board Member Mason Cox really impressed in the last match sim before the break. Apparently he dominated the centre throw ups going mostly against Darcy. Cox could be a massive benefactor of the change in ruck rules. It could be an interesting battle to watch for the rest of the preseason, Cox versus Darcy I mean. I still see Sean heading our ruck Round 1 but Im just saying it will be interesting viewing watching the centre clearance ruck contests.

Let's be honest here. Cox is more likely to win the centre ruck contest. Possibly Jackson over Darcy too as he's got such a good jump.

Will be interesting how this plays out

Also let’s see how rigorously the afl enforce the new rules, especially a few rounds in, could be a flash in the pan on the ruck stuff.
Only after Freo have had a bezillion frees against for reasons inexplicable to most footy watchers.

Also let’s see how rigorously the afl enforce the new rules, especially a few rounds in, could be a flash in the pan on the ruck stuff.
It will be something like 1 week in and then they will implement new rules and only players who are sub 190cm with the name Nick Daicos can nominate for ruck. So every stoppage either Nick Daicos wins the ball or the opposition give away a free for obstructing the ruck.

Half the competition will be queuing around block at Births, Deaths, and Marriages Monday after round 1.

Few lads were out on the track this morning.

Cox looking mean with his shaved scone. Working hard with some solo drills and running. Looked in good nick and covered the ground nicely.

Dudley, Bolton, Walker, Simpson, Draper & Freddie all putting in some running and looking good. Dudley came over and had a chat to my boys for a few mins between the work and they were chuffed. Seems like a genuinely nice fella.

Was a low key session with not much to report other than the guys seemed up and about and ready to kick off 2026. Think they start properly back on Thursday.

Mayne was out and about talking with the boys too. Great to see the legend.

Cox looking mean with his shaved scone. Working hard with some solo drills and running. Looked in good nick and covered the ground nicely.

Dudley, Bolton, Walker, Simpson, Draper & Freddie all putting in some running and looking good. Dudley came over and had a chat to my boys for a few mins between the work and they were chuffed. Seems like a genuinely nice fella.

Was a low key session with not much to report other than the guys seemed up and about and ready to kick off 2026. Think they start properly back on Thursday.

Thanks for that, the club has really dropped the ball in keeping supporters informed so far.

Animated GIF

Thanks for that, the club has really dropped the ball in keeping supporters informed so far.
Maybe has been an unofficial outing for some players. Player organised. Realistically, they are still on holidays I think.

Correct, but let's not miss an opportunity to criticize the club.
Exactly why I responded.
Not hard to work out. Been happening pre season since Brayshaw has been at the club.
I don't think the club are allowed to have anything to do with these private training sessions.

I've been told by a trustworthy source that Big Voss had to be told to take a break because he's smashing the private training sessions so hard and so consistently... You love to hear it

Correct, but let's not miss an opportunity to criticize the club
If you are referring to me,I was talking about the lack of information on the club website about when training begins again, that may not have been clear, but is a reasonable expectation for those of us who attend training and give reports here, or would you prefer I didn’t?

I've been told by a trustworthy source that Big Voss had to be told to take a break because he's smashing the private training sessions so hard and so consistently... You love to hear it
He has the Taberner training attitude with way, way, way more talent. His speed off the mark has improved an absolute ton since coming to the club and he bench presses the most at the club by a fair way. Two results of how hard he's worked. Looked fantastic in training before the break. Him, Reid and Wagner would be leading the training the house down competition so far this preseason.

If you are referring to me,I was talking about the lack of information on the club website about when training begins again, that may not have been clear, but is a reasonable expectation for those of us who attend training and give reports here, or would you prefer I didn’t?
Fair call. I agree. To back up what your're saying most of the regular training watchers I spoke to said they had emailed the club on the matter and didn't even receive a reply. If anyone checks the Fremantle FC website they did have the training times listed for the last week of training updated on December 12 so hopefully that will continue for the rest of the preseason. I'll post here if I find out new info.

I'm expecting the teams that dominate the ruck to quickly have the umpires change to look at the midfielder matchups for holding frees, so there will be more holding/blocking frees paid to clearance mids in teams where their ruck is so dominant that the umpires don't care to watch that contest.

Fair enough, but I read your post as an attack on the club for not telling supporters of a training session that is not club run. Can't be run by the club under rules.
And, the office staff as well as coaching staff would all still be on holidays.

Reckon we've got about one knee-on-knee injury before the rule gets rolled back. (Hopefully not one of our precious knees.)
Is there a rule that prohibits or regulates what protection a ruckman can wear on his lower extremities?

I wonder if we start to see more padding/protection as the year progresses. It's only a matter of time before a knee bruises another knee and they're out for three weeks.