Training Pre-Season 2026 chat

• Thread starter Thread starter cats_09

Not sure he even gets to double figures TBH. Lucky to play 5 IMO.
For one. I think Martin plays more and with that full year under his belt will take another step.
I must add Jack Martin offers us much more on the park than that OH offers.
No. 2 Polkinghorne will over take OH. Lovely set of mitts. Bit of grunt in him. Gonna be a ripper.
No. 3 Jacob Molier will play more games than most out there might think. I see him as our wild card in 2026.
A Big tall tuff bugger that can run as he is quick for a big man and can take a grab & kick a bag.
No. 4 Mitch Edwards will also be front and centre when round 1 begins. Added over a stone in muscle.
Gonna get some games.
When u add these 4 to the mix in that forward line.
OH is in a world of worry.
He better reinvent himself over the summer.
If not i can't see 10 games in 2026 for the lad.
So you have no time for a medium forward who is capable of, and has scored, 40 goals a season for 2 consecutive seasons.
These palyers don't grow on trees. He had an off year 25; I hope that was the outlier

Howdy all, hope I don’t ruffle any fur by posting here, but I was Just in Dingle, Ireland for New Years Eve and the town was covered in colours for their local Gaelic team. I stopped into a pub by the port, and whilst I had a great pint and some fish and chips from the fish box out back, I spied a signed Geelong Guernsey - must you haunt me no matter how far I travel I thought. But now I know why, your man, Mark O’Connor will line up for them in the senior club final. Dingle is a helluva town, so I wish them, and him all the best. May he go well.

44 here today. 45 forecast for tomorrow. Bring on footy season.
Co-incidentally, 44 is also the forecast for Dingle today, albeit in Farenheit - no wonder MOC stayed home.

I reckon this is the second preseason Big George has come back noticeably trimmer.

He doesn't lack dedication

Unfortunately I dont think you can make him into a speed athlete but hes doing everything possible to improve his endurance at least by stripping the weight.

And IIRC, Oisin Mullin was said to be the "Nick Daicos" of Gaelic football, and while he's improving at AFL, he's nowhere near Nick Daicos in ability. The lesson here is: Never believe the hype. Gaelic Football is very different from our game, and it takes time for these guys to learn AFL and adapt to an oval-shaped football.
I can't recall that comparison, but I'll take your word for it. I do recall him being regarded as the best Gaelic player in Ireland when recruited. He's making positive progress as I see it and may yet prove to be a very valuable player and one who can influence a game.

Not the best, but the best young player. His potential there was huge.

I reckon this is the second preseason Big George has come back noticeably trimmer.

He doesn't lack dedication
A part of me wants to see George succeed in Geelong colours. While I enjoy the current game more, the old notion about football being about footballers (rather than all athletes) still lingers..

Not sure he even gets to double figures TBH. Lucky to play 5 IMO.
For one. I think Martin plays more and with that full year under his belt will take another step.
I must add Jack Martin offers us much more on the park than that OH offers.
No. 2 Polkinghorne will over take OH. Lovely set of mitts. Bit of grunt in him. Gonna be a ripper.
No. 3 Jacob Molier will play more games than most out there might think. I see him as our wild card in 2026.
A Big tall tuff bugger that can run as he is quick for a big man and can take a grab & kick a bag.
No. 4 Mitch Edwards will also be front and centre when round 1 begins. Added over a stone in muscle.
Gonna get some games.
When u add these 4 to the mix in that forward line.
OH is in a world of worry.
He better reinvent himself over the summer.
If not i can't see 10 games in 2026 for the lad.
Agree
OH is a guy with talent but seems to be a lost soul in our current setup which values versatility. Perceived lack of tenacity and ‘one and done’ efforts probably don’t endear him to the coaches.
I would like to see more of Polkinghorne who could be a bit of a smokie for us and came with some big wraps from locals. ( although we’ve seen a few of those types amount to zilch through the years )

Sorry if addressed earlier, but is J Cameron going to miss start of season after the broken arm or is he good to go

Hes been picked for state of origin so he must be fine.

Just read an article on Troy " Catman " West - son of the great Geel Full Back Roy West of course

Had a bit of missfortune re those bushfires , and pretty depressed like many are ,pretty distressing scenes lost all his Geel memorabilia , and there is no power basically no nothing their , but he has kept his house , so he just has to look at it from that angle i suppose

Just read an article on Troy " Catman " West - son of the great Geel Full Back Roy West of course

Had a bit of missfortune re those bushfires , and pretty depressed like many are ,pretty distressing scenes lost all his Geel memorabilia , and there is no power basically no nothing their , but he has kept his house , so he just has to look at it from that angle i suppose
Yes, he lost his gym and the "cat cave", but have heard through a mutual friend that he is ok. Have friends in Harcourt and it is pretty bad there.

Some very good mids have had distinguished careers over time, without having a lot of leg speed. Greg Willliams was one and recently Tom Mitchell another. (Both even won Brownlows).
They ( and others who had solid careers without "prizes") compensated for lack of straight line speed, with "reading of the game" abilities. I see this as working out where to be next, before all others, coupled with VERY fast and clean use of the ball if they won it. And of course good enough endurance.
George Stevens has survived a list squeeze , I am happy with that. If his time trials (2k) are improved he has another crack at breaking in to a building, youngish midfield.
He will be a compelling watch this year.

Some very good mids have had distinguished careers over time, without having a lot of leg speed. Greg Willliams was one and recently Tom Mitchell another. (Both even won Brownlows).
They ( and others who had solid careers without "prizes") compensated for lack of straight line speed, with "reading of the game" abilities. I see this as working out where to be next, before all others, coupled with VERY fast and clean use of the ball if they won it. And of course good enough endurance.
George Stevens has survived a list squeeze , I am happy with that. If his time trials (2k) are improved he has another crack at breaking in to a building, youngish midfield.
He will be a compelling watch this year.
Not comparable to diesel. Lik Stevens, Williams was fantastic in his first match. Unlike Stevens, he then went onto repeat that in subsequent matches. Every player has a magic pass in their first match, where the opposition haven't done any homework. Stevens will need to improve in a lot more than just his pace, which will be at best, passable.