Training 2026 Pre-Season Training - reports, pics etc

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Acres is a marking target who runs all day and can hustle and bustle in congestion.

If he can kick at 70% (he has done this before), he is undoubtedly best 23.

My concern is whether his back injuries have taken any chance of being a consistent ball user away from him
I agree with the first part. The bigger issue for Blakey is his ball use going inside 50. He tends to just bomb it high, which you can sometimes get away with when you’ve got two elite key forwards. This year our forward line is going to be much more dynamic and smaller, so he simply needs to lower his eyes and use the ball better. If he does that, he becomes a genuine weapon (with all the attributes you've mentioned). If not, he risks getting overlooked, from what I've heard his back is fine and shouldn't impact ball use.

There is plenty of vision and reporting that Kemp is pretty much doing all of the work. I see it as more likely than not that he is fit and able to take his spot round 1(0).

Cottrell is the one who hasn’t “come up”. That injury is chronic.

I am actually most concerned about the condition of our “vets” The blokes facing their footy “mortality” this year or in the foreseeable future either by age or infirmity.

Saad, Newman, Haynes, Acres, Williams and McGovern primarily. Not wanting to see anyone have to be “nursed” through pre season or games. We need 23 players on game day fit and unencumbered, we far too often played under done or compromised players. Look at the run Geelong got from Martin after a solid preparation. We cannot accommodate multiple “crocks”, but need the scope to optimise those we have as opposed to playing them hurt because we don’t trust the replacements.
I'm interested in the veterans as well, there are a few who looked done last year and that can be multiple things. You get to a point with footy, you hit a certain age where when you are in a weak side you just back off. It's fair. You don't want to be out there when you are around 30 playing in a weak side, it's hard to push yourself and convince yourself there is benefit in putting your body on the line. It's different when you are young, you just go hard whenever.

I think that group will realise that the list depth and quality has rapidly improved and spots are open. A few older players have probably realised that their careers are in jeopardy as well. If they can't get another contract at Carlton then that's it.

I have seen McGovern in some images and he looks as trim and fit as ever. Acres looks fit and had a good time trial. Haynes was new to the club and he put in heavily last year and should have been close to our best and fairest. Looked really rejuvenated to the point he was playing well on a wing. Williams had is most consistent injury free season in a very long time and he looks pretty trim and fit and Newman missed through injury but is having a full preseason. Saad is down in everyone's books but he too looks in great shape. He didn't play his usual role last season due to injury. He couldn't play that wide loose receiving half back rebounding game. He was more or less back pocket with opposition sides making sure he didn't have impact as we had no one else in the team in defence who was a threat. The team could not put pressure on in the middle so there was no real benefit in attempting to get Saad into this role. An improved team and some quality coming back into our backline will release Saad.

I think the combination of youth, trade ins and veterans lifting their game will be the big key to us playing finals as we should this season. I don't see anywhere near the amount of problems in our side to what I have seen the last few season. I am pretty excited to see what we can do this season.

I can see why Curnow left and I can see why some of our older players dropped off. I don't hold that against them. I can see them lifting this coming season and really being made to earn it by some of our youth.

There is plenty of vision and reporting that Kemp is pretty much doing all of the work. I see it as more likely than not that he is fit and able to take his spot round 1(0).

Cottrell is the one who hasn’t “come up”. That injury is chronic.

I am actually most concerned about the condition of our “vets” The blokes facing their footy “mortality” this year or in the foreseeable future either by age or infirmity.

Saad, Newman, Haynes, Acres, Williams and McGovern primarily. Not wanting to see anyone have to be “nursed” through pre season or games. We need 23 players on game day fit and unencumbered, we far too often played under done or compromised players. Look at the run Geelong got from Martin after a solid preparation. We cannot accommodate multiple “crocks”, but need the scope to optimise those we have as opposed to playing them hurt because we don’t trust the replacements.
Is probably a thought to consider if we 'rest' some of these guys through the early rounds when the heat and speed is always at break neck pace and then introduce them after about round 5 when the game moves to a more defensive style and slows down.

I think the issue here is that people tend to fixate on moments and ignore the bigger picture. He had 8 clangers and went at 41% kicking efficiency in the Swans game. Do the goal line touches make up for that? My query on Acres is not whether he is up to standard or not (you don't play 187 games if you're not), it's whether we need his substandard kicking when our core group already struggles with that. Broadly speaking, I would prefer our role players to cover the weaknesses of those star players, rather than adding to their strengths.
Well against the Swans he also kicked two key goals in a relatively low-scoring game, including the sealer (also from beast-like gut-running). So he was bobbing up at opposite ends of the ground at key times to win a final for us (while injured), that's enough to earn my lifelong respect in an era of complete shit.

I'll be heading down to Open Training tomorrow to capture some vision on my video camera, as I did last time via my Bluebaggers Edge YouTube channel (https://www.youtube.com/@BluebaggersEdge)

If anyone has any requests for vision of certain players, feel free to let me know. Will be uploading the full vision and a training report breakdown on my channel tomorrow afternoon.

Any track watchers that can comment on how Chesser has been looking? Sorry to hear about Motlop, hope his recovery goes well and you guys have a better run with injury this year.
I heard he’s training the house down. Some are drawing parallels with C Judd. The club is trying desperately to keep a lid on it.

Still think we won that trade but still wouldn't do it. Prime Judd bursting out of packs and accelerating off with the ball is the best thing I’ve ever seen on a footy field.

Nah we were really after Dennis Armfield and that gave us the edge.

I'll be heading down to Open Training tomorrow to capture some vision on my video camera, as I did last time via my Bluebaggers Edge YouTube channel.

If anyone has any requests for vision of certain players, feel free to let me know. Will be uploading the full vision and a training report breakdown on my channel tomorrow afternoon.
A good spread would be bloody marvellous mate.

If I was to make requests it would be around the more unknown quantities who may become integral. Reidy, Chesser, Byrne and the young half backs and wingers. I am interested in roles for Lord and Moir (midfield time) as well as the Hollands boys. The progress of Kemp and O’Keeffe as well as the progress of Dean and maybe Ison.

Not so interested in the “known quantities” other than a health perspective.

Let’s face it, I/we want every skerrick of info we can get.

Well against the Swans he also kicked two key goals in a relatively low-scoring game, including the sealer (also from beast-like gut-running). So he was bobbing up at opposite ends of the ground at key times to win a final for us (while injured), that's enough to earn my lifelong respect in an era of complete shit.
You're thinking of the Demons game, he only kicked one against the Swans. Regardless, I think his detractors and supporters are mostly talking past each other when the finals get brought up. Most posters are guilty of either minimising his feats or romanticising them. I'm definitely guilty of the former.

At the end of the day, I don't think he brings a net benefit to this team. He has good AFL attributes, but our team can't kick for shit, and Vossy is selecting too many 'inside' types on a weekly basis. I think Blake draws a lot of ire because his playstyle embodies Carlton's playstyle as whole - he's almost the perfect 'Vossyball' player. His kicking is long and wayward, he takes the first option, but he puts his head over the ball, takes big marks, and busts his gut.

Personally, I just want to see us win games using different methods, and not be entirely reliant on clearance domination or contested ball. We can't complain about our terrible ball use and not be willing to make some harsh calls on role players who are at the root of the problem. We have to learn to live with Walsh's wayward kicking, we don't have to live with Acres' kicking.

A good spread would be bloody marvellous mate.

If I was to make requests it would be around the more unknown quantities who may become integral. Reidy, Chesser, Byrne and the young half backs and wingers. I am interested in roles for Lord and Moir (midfield time) as well as the Hollands boys. The progress of Kemp and O’Keeffe as well as the progress of Dean and maybe Ison.

Not so interested in the “known quantities” other than a health perspective.

Let’s face it, I/we want every skerrick of info we can get.

No worries mate, will try my best there!

The final Open Training for 2025 I filmed I concentrated on a few of the new players (but especially Walsh as he stood out massively), but also setup and ball movement. Gives a good insight into whether the coaches as well as the players are performing across the pre-season.

I dont think there was much hate, however an acknowledgement that his skill level by foot last year was not AFL standard and it was hurting us and unless it improved dramatically we need to move past him. If he gets his body back and this allows him to hit targets inside 50 then I welcome him back with open arms, but if that part of his game remains regardless of how much he runs I dont think there should be a spot for him in the side.

He got dropped to the VFL mid-season so it wasn't like there was some whipping boy campaign against Acres. He really struggled through last year for whatever reason and supporters can acknowledge that. If he can get his kicking up a bit he'll be in the best 23 for sure. He's a great overhead mark for his size and runs all day. But we can't keep picking guys who only have enough confidence in their kicking to poke a short pass or bomb it - and regularly miss targets even doing that.

I understand players need a pre season but these injuries are mounting up year to year.

Been a frustration of mine for years. We seem to go harder than every other club and reach round one with 10 injuries including 2 season enders. Can you remember the last time Geelong had a season ending injury in preseason?

JSOS did his knee in mid-Jan also I'm pretty sure.

We have a harder preseason than everyone else then fade out in the second half of every... single... game.

Been a frustration of mine for years. We seem to go harder than every other club and reach round one with 10 injuries including 2 season enders. Can you remember the last time Geelong had a season ending injury in preseason?

JSOS did his knee in mid-Jan also I'm pretty sure.

We have a harder preseason than everyone else then fade out in the second half of every... single... game.
Geelong have the luxury of experience and confidence knowing that they have a long season in front of them and the value of being at peak fitness for round 1 is minimal, there is a reason the best teams like Brisbane, Geelong etc lose games early in the year as they ease themselves into the season but ensure they are at peak fitness come September. Unfortunately we need to make sure we bank early wins in the year to give us any chance, especially when we get loaded up with marquee games in the first 5 rounds, even more so when we have an out of contract coach..

At the end of the day, I don't think he brings a net benefit to this team. He has good AFL attributes, but our team can't kick for shit, and Vossy is selecting too many 'inside' types on a weekly basis. I think Blake draws a lot of ire because his playstyle embodies Carlton's playstyle as whole - he's almost the perfect 'Vossyball' player. His kicking is long and wayward, he takes the first option, but he puts his head over the ball, takes big marks, and busts his gut.
IMHO, Acres has been asked to do too much and many of his poor disposals are 1) Under pressure: our game plan and team fundamentals do not give him multiple outlet options, or support. 2) Under fatigue: he is expected to be at the last line on both ends of the ground and runs to a stop. Hopefully the extra interchange, plus more talent means we rotate better/more on the wing. 3) Wear & Tear: He is half a step slower these days.

I’ve seen some pointless purposeless shit in my time coming to training hit the running drill they just did was just about the worst. Slow 50m with a break. X about 10. After they have trained for 90 mins. Not the end of the session. Stupid as shit.

Not at all impressed with the drills so far today. Bunch of fluffy shit.

I’ve seen some pointless purposeless shit in my time coming to training hit the running drill they just did was just about the worst. Slow 50m with a break. X about 10. After they have trained for 90 mins. Not the end of the session. Stupid as shit.

Haven't seen any focus on kicking or skills thus far.

I imagine that the exercise scientists will have a reason.

Boys were doing brutal sessions a couple of years back and we ended up with a horror injury run